We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coffee Atelier
Nearby Hotels
Seven Terraces(George Town)
US$181
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Muntri Grove Hotel(George Town)
US$89
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
US$161
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
US$121
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
180
49
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
49
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroommosquito netunusual hotelcoffee museumdownstairs suiteperson suiteshort corridorlovely plantsgreat breakfast selectionprivate courtyardcharacterful hotelclothes washeddressing rooman art galleryrenovated housefirst floorantique furniture
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Having to browse though all the accommodation options i have around Georgetown can be a very daunting task although Penang is no stranger place to me. I guess my intuition makes my click on the book button when Coffee Atelier pops up and i got to say i have never regret in making the choice despite a few shortcomings. The good thing about this place is it has got all the heritage charm and taste of living in a typical wooden shophouse for those who have never experience it before (I grew up in such environment so i knew what i was expecting in there). Next thing is they have all the best staff to look after your needs (friendly and helpful) and the breakfast is good. Love the fruits bowl. Location is superb with walking distance to all the place of interest in Georgetown. The only cons that came up is the popping sound from the fridge once in a while and the spotty wifi connection during my stay but that were just some minor issues to deal with. Overall it is still a very pleasant stay and i'm sure most foreign travelers will like the place.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingArcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thanks again for staying with us and for your detailed review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will check the popping sound of the fridge. Regarding WiFi we can not do too much - there is only one provider (TM) and they didn't upgrade the cables yet. We hope to see you again and best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We browse carefully before picking which hotel that we gonna stay..... Choose this hotel to feel & blend with surrounding oldies of Penang. The hotel got the look with nice location and very suitable to browse the heritage of Penang within walking distance.
The room beautifully setup with peranakan furniture , minimum building changes , cheerful painting and in room well placed lighting ..... such a nice room ambiance with modern touch up facilities that gonna make every guest love to stay in the room & green backyard. And the Most important things (that comparable to 4 stars hotels) are : Premium cleanliness (clean room, clean bedding, clean amenities) , Cool air con plus Great breakfast selection (the croissant , fruits and coffee are 2 Thumbs Up) ..... thanks for warm & very helpful hotel staff . Recommended place to have both heritage atmosphere with a nice Coffee shop too. Again... look forward to spend more time here ....

Room Tip: Choose upstairs if you can not tolerate to hear other guest foot steps
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AChen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thanks again for staying with us and for your review. Glad you enjoyed George Town and our little place Coffee Atelier. See you soon again - and best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

This is really a lovely place with great atmosphere. Helpfull host and great staff made our stay very nice, especially with two small kids. The location is great too, all the highlights and restaurants are on walking distance. It's not a modern hotel with many rooms and facilities, but this was just what we wanted.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lourens J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thanks again for staying with us and for your review. Glad you enjoyed our little place Coffee Atelier and that you had a good time in Penang. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

This smallish hotel has a very good location on the edge of historical Georgetown, very close to Little India. Very quiet, comfortable beds with mosquito nets, small sitting area. No swimming pool but if that doesn't trouble you would recommend this hotel without hesitation. Very nice breakfast from the small restaurant. Liked this hotel a lot and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ground floor, Room 51 has a small courtyard garden with outside bathroom and sitting area. Highly recommended
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWAFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thanks again for staying with us and for taking time to write this review. Glad you had a good time in George Town and that you liked our little place Coffee Atelier. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely boutique hotel with plenty of charm and character. Wonderfully renovated house from the early 1900's, the rooms and dining area are very beautiful and a lot of attention has been paid to detail. We had a downstairs suite that was divided into 2 chambers, with a lovely outdoor space at the back. Ruby, the manager, was great in every respect, and the breakfast (especially the cappuccino!) is excellent. The location is also very good, within 2 steps from everything yet the rooms felt quiet and peaceful. Would love to stay here again and fully recommend it!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Eva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thanks again for staying with us and for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed our little place Coffee Atelier and that you had a good time. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews