We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
192
52
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
52
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews unusual hotel outdoor bathroom original condition mosquito net backpackers bar downstairs suite lovely plants great breakfast selection private courtyard characterful hotel dressing room master bedroom modern amenities antique furniture unique stay first floor bread basket
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Excellent location and great staff. We stayed here for 2 nights in an upstairs 2 bedroom apartment for 2 adults and our daughter and loved it. Very original and had a great atmosphere. The staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The stay included breakfast in the cafe and this was also very good.
If you are staying in Georgetown this place is a must.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elianne100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Many thanks again for staying with us and for taking time to write your review. Glad you enjoyed George Town and our little place Coffee Atelier. Please visit us again. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

loved the hotel, it was just as advertised. the staff werexceptional. however the presence of the so called tipsy tiger establishment (the name says it all) was a blot, which was at times and rather late quite noisy. personally we think it should be shut down or at least people should pay for their drinks.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank cassis484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thanks again for staying with us and for sharing your review with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Although Tipsy Tiger is a bit of a nuisance - we can not do too much about it...The noise in no problem at all for the ground floor suites (the bedroom is facing the back of our building). The first floor suites are also very quiet as we did some insulation work. Thanks again and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Having to browse though all the accommodation options i have around Georgetown can be a very daunting task although Penang is no stranger place to me. I guess my intuition makes my click on the book button when Coffee Atelier pops up and i got to say i have never regret in making the choice despite a few shortcomings. The good thing about this place is it has got all the heritage charm and taste of living in a typical wooden shophouse for those who have never experience it before (I grew up in such environment so i knew what i was expecting in there). Next thing is they have all the best staff to look after your needs (friendly and helpful) and the breakfast is good. Love the fruits bowl. Location is superb with walking distance to all the place of interest in Georgetown. The only cons that came up is the popping sound from the fridge once in a while and the spotty wifi connection during my stay but that were just some minor issues to deal with. Overall it is still a very pleasant stay and i'm sure most foreign travelers will like the place.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingArcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thanks again for staying with us and for your detailed review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will check the popping sound of the fridge. Regarding WiFi we can not do too much - there is only one provider (TM) and they didn't upgrade the cables yet. We hope to see you again and best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We browse carefully before picking which hotel that we gonna stay..... Choose this hotel to feel & blend with surrounding oldies of Penang. The hotel got the look with nice location and very suitable to browse the heritage of Penang within walking distance.
The room beautifully setup with peranakan furniture , minimum building changes , cheerful painting and in room well placed lighting ..... such a nice room ambiance with modern touch up facilities that gonna make every guest love to stay in the room & green backyard. And the Most important things (that comparable to 4 stars hotels) are : Premium cleanliness (clean room, clean bedding, clean amenities) , Cool air con plus Great breakfast selection (the croissant , fruits and coffee are 2 Thumbs Up) ..... thanks for warm & very helpful hotel staff . Recommended place to have both heritage atmosphere with a nice Coffee shop too. Again... look forward to spend more time here ....

Room Tip: Choose upstairs if you can not tolerate to hear other guest foot steps
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AChen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thanks again for staying with us and for your review. Glad you enjoyed George Town and our little place Coffee Atelier. See you soon again - and best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

This is really a lovely place with great atmosphere. Helpfull host and great staff made our stay very nice, especially with two small kids. The location is great too, all the highlights and restaurants are on walking distance. It's not a modern hotel with many rooms and facilities, but this was just what we wanted.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lourens J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thanks again for staying with us and for your review. Glad you enjoyed our little place Coffee Atelier and that you had a good time in Penang. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews