We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, comfortable and friendly heritage stay”
Review of Coffee Atelier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coffee Atelier
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2017

My first time in Penang and what a pleasure it was to stay at Coffee Atelier. After a super friendly welcome I was shown around and given helpful information on what to see and do in Georgetown. The location is excellent; within walking distance of temples and museums and places to eat.
The apartment is tastefully set out with beautiful heritage furniture, oriental rugs on polished hardwood floors and interesting original artworks adorning the walls. ( check out the onsite gallery ) All modern conveniences are provided; air conditioning, good wifi, bar fridge, tea and coffee making supplies and TV and DVD player, and of course quality bedding and linen. The outdoor bathroom with homemade soaps and rain head shower is an exotic experience.
Breakfasts are delicious, especially the fresh fruit salad and squeezed orange juice and bread basket.
The cafe is a great place to have an espresso or cafe latte ( it is coffee atelier!) or later to relax with a cold beer and plate of prawn and papaya salad.
Needless to say, I felt completely at home and it was a totally relaxing and comfortable stay.
If you appreciate authentic, sensitively restored heritage buildings then you must stay at Coffee Atelier.
Thank you to Stefan and staff ( Ruby, Paul, JR and Marisol) for your friendly, caring and thoughtful hospitality.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Many thanks again for staying with us and for taking time to write such a nice review. Glad you enjoyed George Town and our little place Coffee Atelier. We hope to be able to welcoming you soon again - all the best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Excellent location and great staff. We stayed here for 2 nights in an upstairs 2 bedroom apartment for 2 adults and our daughter and loved it. Very original and had a great atmosphere. The staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The stay included breakfast in the cafe and this was also very good.
If you are staying in Georgetown this place is a must.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elianne100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Many thanks again for staying with us and for taking time to write your review. Glad you enjoyed George Town and our little place Coffee Atelier. Please visit us again. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

loved the hotel, it was just as advertised. the staff werexceptional. however the presence of the so called tipsy tiger establishment (the name says it all) was a blot, which was at times and rather late quite noisy. personally we think it should be shut down or at least people should pay for their drinks.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank cassis484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thanks again for staying with us and for sharing your review with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Although Tipsy Tiger is a bit of a nuisance - we can not do too much about it...The noise in no problem at all for the ground floor suites (the bedroom is facing the back of our building). The first floor suites are also very quiet as we did some insulation work. Thanks again and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Having to browse though all the accommodation options i have around Georgetown can be a very daunting task although Penang is no stranger place to me. I guess my intuition makes my click on the book button when Coffee Atelier pops up and i got to say i have never regret in making the choice despite a few shortcomings. The good thing about this place is it has got all the heritage charm and taste of living in a typical wooden shophouse for those who have never experience it before (I grew up in such environment so i knew what i was expecting in there). Next thing is they have all the best staff to look after your needs (friendly and helpful) and the breakfast is good. Love the fruits bowl. Location is superb with walking distance to all the place of interest in Georgetown. The only cons that came up is the popping sound from the fridge once in a while and the spotty wifi connection during my stay but that were just some minor issues to deal with. Overall it is still a very pleasant stay and i'm sure most foreign travelers will like the place.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingArcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thanks again for staying with us and for your detailed review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will check the popping sound of the fridge. Regarding WiFi we can not do too much - there is only one provider (TM) and they didn't upgrade the cables yet. We hope to see you again and best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We browse carefully before picking which hotel that we gonna stay..... Choose this hotel to feel & blend with surrounding oldies of Penang. The hotel got the look with nice location and very suitable to browse the heritage of Penang within walking distance.
The room beautifully setup with peranakan furniture , minimum building changes , cheerful painting and in room well placed lighting ..... such a nice room ambiance with modern touch up facilities that gonna make every guest love to stay in the room & green backyard. And the Most important things (that comparable to 4 stars hotels) are : Premium cleanliness (clean room, clean bedding, clean amenities) , Cool air con plus Great breakfast selection (the croissant , fruits and coffee are 2 Thumbs Up) ..... thanks for warm & very helpful hotel staff . Recommended place to have both heritage atmosphere with a nice Coffee shop too. Again... look forward to spend more time here ....

Room Tip: Choose upstairs if you can not tolerate to hear other guest foot steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AChen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thanks again for staying with us and for your review. Glad you enjoyed George Town and our little place Coffee Atelier. See you soon again - and best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 km away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.7 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 87 in George Town
695 reviews
0 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 87 in George Town
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#14 of 87 in George Town
518 reviews
0.5 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#9 of 87 in George Town
3,815 reviews
0.4 km away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 87 in George Town
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coffee Atelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffee Atelier

Address: 47 - 55 Lorong Stewart, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $107 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coffee Atelier 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COFFEE ATELIER is located right in the core zone of George Town, Penang, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.It comprises a collection of five beautifully restored early 20th century shophouses. Today it houses an eclectic mix of a restaurant, an art gallery, a coffee museum and suites which are fully appointed with all modern amenities for short or long term stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Coffee Atelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coffee Atelier Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing