We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, very well located.”
Review of Cititel Penang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cititel Penang
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good hotel, very well located.”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is a good business and leisure hotel. The check in is smooth, the rooms excellent, I have stayed here several times and always got marvellous views of the sea. The room is smallish, but what the hell, I used it only to sleep. The fixtures were standard for a hotel of its type. Thier breakfast was a lavish spread and the service is good, the staff always smiling and ready to help.
You can walk out to many of the sights of Penang and even eat out in any of the marvellous eateries all around the hotel.
Only one small crib: I had dinner in the main restaurant. it was not great. The buffet was not available for some reason and the a al carte menu seemed unsatisfactory to me.
But overall , I would recommend it, especially for business trips.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akdcts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CPG, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear Guest

Warmest greetings from Cititel Penang!

I am indeed very pleased to know that you have had a wonderful stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and to compliment our services and facilities during your stay - it is always very heartening to know that we have met or exceeded our guests’ expectations.

Japanese-themed Buffet Dinners are served from Fridays to Sundays only at the Main Street Cafe and I am very sorry to hear that our ala carte menu items were not to your favour; perhaps if we had known of your preference of a particular dish, our Kitchen Team would have been more than happy to prepare it for you. Please do not hesitate to share that with us on your next visit.

All of us certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang again and thank you once again for your kind words. May I wish you a good week ahead.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    567
    234
    45
    25
See reviews for
201
243
92
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

was given a large corner room, which was very comfortable and
clean. Free bus stoppped just across the road and was great for seeing Georgetown and visiting shopping malls.
Breakfast was fine, and free use of computers was great. they were located in a corner of the restaurant.
there is also a selection of smaller shops nearby, also restaurants and ? nightclub
If you need new spectacles, visit Patrick Ong at The Pragin Mall for excellent service.

Wasnt very well when i arrived in Penang and i was able to rest here and felt quite comfortable in my room. I also had a great view of the town and sea from my room
flat screen tv was also good, and the Malaysian people are obsessed with football, so there are loads of UK premiership games shown.
Was quite impressed with the hotel, especially after reading some of the reviews here. .....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzeb46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CPG, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Guest

Warmest greetings from Cititel Penang!

It is indeed a delight to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I trust that you are in the best of health now.

My team members and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit and our sincere thanks once again for sharing your experience with us.

With kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Very convenient located in George Town. Close to food stalls and the main tourist street. It is a ordinally business type hotel, with standard room facilities, good breakfast and helpful staff. No surprise at all. However, if you want to feel the authentic style of George Town, better looking for the small boutique hotels scattered in every corners of the old streets.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwau98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CPG, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Guest

Warmest Greetings from Cititel Penang! It is a delight to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us recently.

Thank you very much for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

About a 20 min. drive from the Penang Airport. Look for the air-conditioned taxis since they are all the same price. 3 restaurants in the hotel, free computers downstairs by the breakfast areas. Wi-fi available for $. Room was large, clean and well appointed. Great breakfast spread, a bit pricey. Walk out of the hotel into the older section and you will be able to find breakfast at one of the local places. The local (free) shuttle stops a block away across the street, but there is only one shuttle bus so if you miss the connection, the wait is 15-20 mins. All the sights are within walking distance from the hotel. Taxis stand about a block away. Penang Red Garden Food court is a MUST for dinner. Walk out of the hotel, turn left, walk down 1 or 2 blocks. There's a large parking lot in front, but you'll be able to see the sign. Have one person sit at a table while the others looks at the different food booths. You order and tell them your table number. When your dish is ready, someone will bring it to your table, you pay at this point. Order whatever strikes your fancy. We ate here 3 or 4 times. Don't miss the Chinese Temple, about 5 or 6 blocks from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rocklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CPG, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Guest

Warmest Greetings from Cititel Penang! It is indeed very heartening to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Cititel Penang.

We truly appreciate your kind comments about our hotel facilities and yes, many of our guests are pleasantly surprised at how convenient it is to move around from here for shopping, dining and even sight-seeing, be it by foot, by trishaw, by car or by public transport.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang soon and thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with us.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed at the Executive suite on the highest Pinnacle floor. Suite size and layout is ok / It has a split living room area with self toilet & separate bedroom concept with a large bathroom. Overall accommodation is clean & spacious. View in my corner room was fantastic....both the seaview & the old city town view. Only minus point is that I can hear noises and music from the street below at night until 3-4am.... sound proofing for my suite should be improved.

I had booked another deluxe room on level 12 for my mom & sis which is small, and has very basic & old furniture. This is truly very different from the suite. Understand on the pricing factor, but the cleanliness and overall feel differs too much!

Room Tip: Go for the suites at the Pinnacle Floor... rather spend more than to get the old & small rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeykeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CPG, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Guest

Warmest Greetings from Penang and thank you for your kind feedback on your most recent stay at our hotel.

Whilst I am delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay in our Executive Suite, I deeply apologise for the noise until the early hours of the morning – we will definitely look into better sound-proofing for the Suites.

The room which your Mother and Sister stayed in is actually our Standard category, of which the rooms are presently undergoing refurbishment as I write. I am sure our newly refurbished rooms will be more to your and your family’s liking when we complete the renovation works by mid-2012.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Penang again soon.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 km away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.3 km away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
668 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.0 km away
Cititel Express Penang
Cititel Express Penang
#29 of 84 in George Town
242 reviews
1.0 km away
The Wembley – A St Giles Hotel, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Property: Cititel Penang
Address: 66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price range (per night): $76 - $124
Hotel Class:4 star — Cititel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport, 5 minutes drive to Penang Ferry terminal, 5-10 minutes walk to nearby tourist attractions such as street arts and UNESCO heritage trails, 15-minutes walk to Chowrasta market and Mydin Hypermarket, 20-minutes walk to Komtar/Prangin Mall/1st Avenue Mall, 20-minutes walk to Esplanade/Beach Street and the Red Garden Hawker Centre is located just opposite the hotel. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown
Cititel Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing