We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but...”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

... was a bit surprised when the hotel adamantly requested for both me and my partner's id before being permitted to check in (the first time this happen to us after years of checking in into various other hotels) but i guess it's their policy. The room was very good albeit a bit dark & breakfast was satisfactory. There's also free parking should you bring a vehicle (just stamp the ticket at the reception counter) but the way to & fro the parking area might be a bit steep and narrow

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank amoichoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights for business purposes

Location - 4.5/5 - good location. Close to many shopping centers and the sea. Only reason why it’s not 5/5 it’s because you probably need to walk around 10-15 min to reach them. There are closer hotels to the mall.

Facilities/ amenities- 3/5 - Swimming pool is small but it offers a good view of the sea. Gym is large and spacious. There is a splash pool for the kids, size of maybe 4 bath tubs put together.

Room - 4/5 - what I like about the room is that the window is huge and the bed is right in front of it. Room is also clean. The view I got was the sea view which was also good.

Service - 4/5 - everyone is nice and helpful. However, it seems that the left over outside my room along the corridor was there overnight.

Breakfast - 3/5 - better off having it around the hotel.

Sky spa- 0/5 - no comments. I won’t return.

Conclusion- it’s probably a very good hotel 10 years ago. It very well kept and you can tell that it is very old.

It there is one thing that can be improved it the parking coupon system. You have to go to the lobby to get a chop, after that head to the second floor to exchange it for another ticket. If you park your floor on the third floor, then you have to go down and up and up.


Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed 3 days in Horizon hotel. I assumed that since this is a 4 star hotel, I would be able to change currency. But no... Was informed by the front desk they don't exchange currency. It was 9 pm & my wife & I needed the money for taxi & dinner. Spoke to the duty manager Jashvir & offered to deposit 100 USD with him as deposit for 100 Malaysian Ringgit.... Didn't oblige & was rather rude. Currency exchange stores were closed by then. Inspite of our plight he made no attempt to help us. Never faced such shabby treatment. Would have given negative ranking for this hotel.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank bngfoodgalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Hotel is located nearby to the Philippines Market and it's just around the corner to the delicious restaurant named Little Italy.
The room is spacious and comfy.
Varieties of breakfast menu & the staff are at a great help. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

The hotel is located in the center of KK, many restaurants and several shopping malls nearby and accessible to all the key points around KK.

No beach so in case you want to swim or lie on the beach, you need to take taxi if hotel pool is not enough. Or a boat to the islands nearby – worthwile!

The room was OK: deluxe room with a huge terrace facing the ocean.
The bed was comfortable. The toilet and shower OK, the sink and the bath tub located in the room behind the bed (so not in the bathroom). The bath tub was not clean, and after our 1st bath, it was not cleaned the next day either.
Wifi was good.

The breakfast is OK, would have wanted more European food but I understand that there are not so many western tourists at the hotel.

The staff is friendly and helpful, especially at the breakfast restaurant!
However, some of the staff could improve attention to the details: e.g. 1) it would have been great to have a welcome fruit basket in the room when we arrive and not at 10 p.m. after two phone calls to the duty manager, 2) we should have received -20% discount from laundry as we were staying over 1 week but we did not if we did not ask it over and over again, 3) cleaners forgot to add toilet paper several times.

The house next to the hotel was under renovation. Would have been good to know that in advance as the construction work was made on daily basis. Some of the construction material (e.g. a rusted nail, some styrofoam and plastic) fell down to our terrace!

Strange thing at the hotel spa is that after the treatments, the massager asks for the tip! And that happened after every of our three treatments. Request for the tipping was really strange as normally they did not wait for any tip in the restaurants or taxis in KK!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tinsku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
757 reviews
0.5 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,265 reviews
0.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
551 reviews
0.9 km away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
365 reviews
0.6 km away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $89 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing