We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at this hotel for its restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This hotel, and several other high-star properties nearby, are stuck in an incomplete and uninviting urban development area an impossibly tiring and tedious walk from the city's downtown centre and waterfront. If the hotel intends to become a prime convention hotel, this will not inconvenience delegates. Ordinary visitors need to use the hotel's hourly but erratic shuttle bus services to various downtown drop-off points; the alternative is relatively expensive local taxis. During this area's re-development phase, arrival at the entrance to the hotel requires vehicles being driven circuitously round the back of the hotel, over speed bumps and through a decline, all of which gives the hotel an off-putting initial image of bad planning.
However, until the area is fully developed, the advantage for bargain-seekers is the favourable room rates offered via internet agents and at the front desk.
Most rewardingly, the hotel's modern-casual coffee shop offers vast top-rate breakfast buffets (included in room rates) and its dinner menu featured some Middle East-influenced dishes with gourmet pretensions and appearances that were inexpensive culinary pleasures. Study the menu's photographs to whet an appetite for fine hotel fare.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGeneralManager, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate your positive appreciation towards our main outlet Golden Dew Bistro and its quality of food and varieties. In regards to your feedback on our location, we certainly understand that the surroundings of our hotel are important on the enhancement of one’s visit here.

We are pleased to inform you that the hotel is located at the upcoming township of Kota Kinabalu where big shopping avenues are building up and are targeted to be completely developed by next year. It is also located about 5 minutes’ drive/ 10 -15 minutes’ walk from the shopping and commercial district.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu with more shoplots and other shopping avenues opened at the hotel’s surrounding areas :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 350 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

Well the hotel is new, and it is pretty pricey and could be same level as Promenade hotel and Le Meridien, but the location is bad. There's nothing to go around with. Yes it is not that far from water front, you have to walk about 10 minutes to get there but you have to cross some huge 4 lane trafic to get there.
I do not think I would recommend this hotel, unless you are merely going to spend all your time relaxing in the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fr0ggi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGeneralManager, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

We certainly understand that the surroundings of our hotel is important on the enhancement of one’s visit here in the hotel. To make your trip a better one should you visit us again in Kota Kinabalu, you may hop on to our newly added feature the complimentary shuttle bus to the central shopping, entertainment and leisure areas such as; Centre Point, Wisma Merdeka, Suria Sabah and Jesselton Point (Waterfront) operating daily from 9:00am - 5:00pm (except 12:00nn).

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I travel to KK every month and my friend told me a Ming garden just open in Dec, so I decided to make my frist visit there. The style "looks" morden but the facilities in the room is bad. First, I expect a new hotel should have WIFI service in the room but they have cable internet only. In the bathroom, the shower tape is broken (check the photos) and I have to keep push the bottom to make sure the water come out !

As the hotel siting next to the high way and no walking path for you to walk out to the town. The hotel provide shuttle bus to the town in every 2 hrs only ! And you must book in advance, as it is 12 seaters bus.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pachkuwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGeneralManager, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

We sincerely apologise that such defect have occurred in your room. We have communicated these issues to the respective departments for their further action. We shall work on our maintenance program with full commitment to ensure our guests are happy with the facilities in the hotel. As connectivity becomes a necessity in our current high-tech lifestyle, we have installed both options for Cable & Wi-Fi (selected rooms) in the hotel. Unfortunately your assigned room is installed with cable connection only. To enhance your stay, you may request for rooms with Wifi Connection in future.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Our room was really nice, spacious, clean and modern. Buffet breakfast (included in our stay) was delicious and full of options. Friendly staff who were very helpful (although watch out for overpriced cabs from the hotel). The one issue was that its location was an awkward distance in that it was too hot to walk to the city centre but a very short cab ride to certain spots. There is a shuttle service available but it only goes every 2 hours which can be unhelpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback Josh,

In regards to your feedback on our location, we certainly understand that the surroundings of our hotel are important on the enhancement of your visit here.

To make your trip a better one should you visit us again in Kota Kinabalu, you may hop on to our newly upgraded feature the complimentary shuttle bus to the central shopping, entertainment and leisure areas such as; Centre Point, Wisma Merdeka, Suria Sabah and Jesselton Point (Waterfront) operating daily from 9:00am - 5:00pm (except 12:00nn). Maybe you can leave early in the morning at 9am and come back by the evening? Hope that helps in you moving around.

We are pleased to inform you that the hotel is located at the upcoming township of Kota Kinabalu - KK Times Square and Harbour City. We hope by the time you're back to spend the nights with us all these shopping avenues and prime business facilities are available for you.

We hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu with more shoplots and other shopping avenues opened at the hotel’s surrounding areas :)

Happy travels and see you around :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is a brand new hotel with so many staff, most of them don't have enough to do. Everyone insists on striking up a conversation with you even if you are just walking across the lobby. The hotel is well located about half way between the airport and downtown KK. There is an elaborate road system to get to the hotel and all vehicles have to do a complete tour of the building to get to the front door. They have a shuttle bus into town, which is useful but it does not come back at night. We stayed in 2 different rooms - one faced the front and was very noisy at night with no double glazing. The other faced the back and was much quieter, however the tiles were already coming off the wall in the bathroom.
The hotel seemed very popular with Chinese and Malaysian guests but they were not at all geared up to western tastes. The buffet in the restaurant was hopeless as everything seemed to be cold - even the fried eggs! On our last day we had breakfast in our room at 5.30 as we had to go to the airport and the waiter wheeled in a elaborate trolley with a full cooked breakfast - all stone cold.
There is a nice pool on the 4th floor but you have to be careful as the tiled floor is lethally slippery when wet. Wifi is only available in the lobby and restaurant not in the rooms.
We counted 7 people in reception and another 6 in the lobby but it still took an age to get your bill.

Room Tip: Noisy at the front but the view is better.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback Tom,

In regards to your feedback on our location, we certainly understand that the surroundings of our hotel are important on the enhancement of your visit here. We are pleased to inform you that the hotel is located at the upcoming township of Kota Kinabalu - KK Times Square and Harbour City. We hope by the time you're back to spend the nights with us all these shopping avenues and prime business facilities are available to your heart's content.

Have forwarded the issue on your breakfast and billing issue and we will take action on it accordingly.

We hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu with more shoplots and other shopping avenues opened at the hotel’s surrounding areas :)

Happy travels and see you around :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.7 km away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
239 reviews
1.0 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
1.2 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,471 reviews
0.6 km away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#17 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
615 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Address: Lorong Mangga | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $85 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing