We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$151
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$333
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$129
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$384
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Klagan Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$61
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sixty3(Kota Kinabalu)
US$71
US$65
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Jesselton Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$68
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$56
US$45
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grandis(Kota Kinabalu)
US$106
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,024)
Filter reviews
4,024 results
Traveller rating
2,270
1,144
380
131
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,270
1,144
380
131
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskinabalu wingsunset barkinabalu clubcafe tatucoco joeschi spastar marinawater slidesborneo loungehorizon clubsister hotelpitch and puttkids clubinfinity poola mountain view roomclub roomlife guards
Filter
Updating list...
2,284 - 2,289 of 4,024 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Group of over 10 people 24-32 yrs old. All single. We stayed in the Kinabalu Wing Sea View rooms. Excellent time. We stayed 3 nights. Nice a relaxing after 5 months at sea. Make sure you hit happy hours times (2 for 1). A must see is the Sunset Bar! The pool was refreshing and the poolside service wasn't the fastest but our glasses were never empty long enough to worry about. We got the jug of margaritas for 75RM and it filled 6 glasses so you saved a little bit by doing this vs individual orders. Use the Taxi meter from the hotel into town it is only 13RM versus what they tell you at the hotel 20RM. Didnt go with kids but I could see that if you did they would have plenty to do. The lifeguards did keep the kids out of the adult pool so that there was that separation if that is what you are looking for. If you had to chose between Rasa Ria or Tangsung.. RR is secluded, far from town but a bigger beach and property. There pool was being worked on right now. Would recommend Tanjung completly over the RR. We did take advantage of the bus to the Rasa Ria (10RM round trip 1.5 hrs) went to the Orangutan sanctuary (65RM). Great experience. They came out of the wild. Must see. Times were 10am or 2pm. Friends went island hoping for 4 islands with snorkeling for only 60RM. They higly recommended it. Only complaint we had was the hotel bars closed at 1am. We wanted to stay out later before settling for room service beers (6 tigers 156RM) Went to the Chinese and Italian restaurants, both delicious. The complimentary breakfast was amazing easily $20-30 USD worth of food included in room price. Helped on budget. Great hours as well. 6-10 am. Staff was excellent and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for free upgrade, We enjoyed the sea view
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navmoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Yes this place is very nice, but i was a little disappointed. The drain in our room smelt bad and we had to constantly air the room and make sure all the drains were closed before we went out. I know this is a problem with how they do plumbing in Asia but was kinda annoying. We only stayed 3 days and I think i would have complained if we had stayed longer. Pointless to have the aromatherapy bed turndown, when the room clearly had an odd smell.
The pool was crowded and there was no-where to relax and float, there were families throwing balls and playing in every corner. it's a beautiful pool but perhaps too small for the amount of rooms/people they have.
Other may feel the water slide and kids club were great value however my kids didn't use them. It looked like a cheap water park, not a tropical resort. I have been in other nice resorts where the pool slide was worked into a resort environment with landscaping etc.
It was nice, and in a great location - close to the airport. The boat taxis to take you to the island are no longer within walking distance.
Breakfast was awesome, such a selection and the food reasonably priced and top rate.
i was disappointed as i have stayed at similar priced places around Asia and thought they they were nicer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Orchidgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

After having treked the Sandakan Death March route and climbing Mt Kinabalu it was a pleasure being pampered in such a fabulous resort. On arriving the staff gave us a drink and wash towel to freshen us up while they checked us in. The rooms were great looking out over their gardens and also very quite. A view out to the sea would have been better but did not worry us at the time. The bars were fantastic especially the one on the point with cocktails, great chillout/ beach music and unbeleivable sunsets. The food (especially the seafood) was fantastic (including breakfast, brilliant, many choices) and the resort waiters from the various bars were very accomodating. For us we did need to venture far from the resort as you could also get a massage etc. Also the resort always had activities going like waterslide competitions or staff playing Sabah intruments just quitly in the background. The floral arrangements around the complex were also fantastic nad always being updated.
Again a great place and will be returning there

Room Tip: ask for a seaview room
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzTrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

went on a site inspection in jan 12 loved every moment of it...

rooms spacious wt a sit out and room facing the sea absolutely peaceful.

location good and close proximity to airport,loved the indian food too which was quite
shocking as it had the authentic inmdian flavour....loved the lobby bar as they had a live band playin every evg and very good singers who even played songs we requested...

the spa to die for...

In all a very friendly atmosphere would love to go back as was on a very short trip...

will go bk soon

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We had a week stay here, the week before christmas. Great hotel, all facilities pools etc were fantastic, and for most of the week we spent it in the pool and on the watersides. Both our boys loved the water action. It's in a great location, right near aiport and not far from town. Because we had the kids we were happy to stay mostly around the hotel, so didn't take opportunity to explore the other nearby islands - we will save it for next time.

We did go to the sister Shangri La to see the orangutang's, which we all really enjoyed. The hotel arranged a shuttle for this, as it's quite a drive ( about an hour or so away)

Our only criticism of the hotel was that some food service lacked urgency, which when you do have kids, 5 or 10 minutes is the difference between happy families and a complete meltdown at the end of an action packed day. Having said that, the staff were all lovely, friendly team and all loved the kids, so Shangri La goes to the top of our list for family friendly destinations, which is very big tick for us. 

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank travelMcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews