We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service In The Kinabalu Club Lounge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Great Hotel but make sure you pay the extra for the Kinabalu Club Lounge,the service in here is fantastic,Fidallha,Heri,Ling-LIng & Zarina really made us thoroughly welcome and deserve credit for their warm welcoming sunny smiles & great service.(make sure you tease Heri about being a casanova)
The rest of the hotel is good but lacks the warm service of the K club,drink prices are fairly steep by western standards and this is why the free drink & canapes for two hours in K club is so good.
The sunsets are awesome and make sure you either stay for a few nights or visit the Shangri La Rasa Ria to see the young orangutangs,they are fantastic to see at this sanctuary,no bars or cages ,just orangutangs free in the jungle

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmoncymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,582 - 2,586 of 3,860 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2010

I stayed here a few years ago and I really rave about this resort to the point I have talked some close friends into coming with us this October which I booked a few months ago.

However I heard from a friend that is in the travel industry that it is scheduled for renovations from Sept to Feb. Mainly the pool will not be in operation. I was so upset I was not notified when I booked it over the phone. Why do most people that stay in resorts do most often laze around and use the pool on most days!!

I then had to ring up from Sydney to find out what is actually happening there and they confirmed the pool will be out of action and we could use their sister resorts pool which is 30mins away. If we wanted to stay at Rasa Ria we would but we don't. There is also no announcement or update on the Shangri-La website about the refurbishment if the resort.

Customers have a right to know!! Here is me introducing close friends to this resort i've been raving about and this happens and also to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Luckily I have found out and I had to change my flight details as we are now going to Golden Sands in Penang another Shangri-La chain. However it has cost me 495 to have the destination change from Kota Kinabalu to Penang and for Emirates to reissue the tickets. Now I know your probably asking why not stay in KK and stay another resort. I couldn't find anything suitable that was on par with Tanjung Aru since I've been raving about it to my friends that are coming and we didn't like Rasa Ria when we visited the resort to see the Orangutans. Hopefully Golden Sands makes up for it.

SO DO NOT STAY AT TANJUNG ARU If you want to use the pool like most people that want to stay there to relax, laze around and sun bake after FEB.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gabeadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Took my 80 year old mother for 10 days of perfection. The hotel was everything five star but maintained a holiday and relaxed atmosphere. The room was fantastic and well worth upgrade to the ocean view. Every single staff member were friendly and helpful and it was lovely that they were able to take the time to have a conversation with holidaying people. We ate at three of the four restaurants which were lovely especially enjoying the chinese one. What was a suprise was that the prices were reasonable. Getting a cab for the 15min to get to Kota Kinabalu was easy with the professional staff at the front steps. Will definitely be looking at a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary1962perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Just returned from Malaysia, having spent 10 nights in this excellent hotel.
As you'd expect from Shangri-la the hotel is high class with smart rooms & very attentive & friendly staff. The location is picturesque looking out at the offshore islands & only a 10 minute taxi ride from Kota Kinabalu & the airport.
We were upgraded to a Tanjung Seaview Room which looks larger than the Kinabalu rooms but I can't believe any of the rooms will be bad. Although if you have a Kinabalu mountain view room you can only see the big mountain in the early morning (& at dusk on our last day).
Hints:
Happy hour at the sunset bar 5-8 I think & 8-11 in the main bar (2 drinks for 1)
For trips, Victoria at the Sabah Tours desk arranged a brilliant personal tour to Kinabalu park & Hot Springs for RM700 (£150) for 3, sounds a lot but our driver & guide were excellent even escorting us around the botanic gardens & pointing out the plants
If you're going to the islands walk along to the marina & see the 'Beach Bums' people who will sell you a RM45 (£10) ferry ticket which will allow you to island hop.
Good features about the hotel:
The pools (although they could do with some more beds)
Breakfast - Everything is available but it is expensive if not in your package
The staff - Friendly, cheerful & just the right level of attentiveness
The 'free' pitch & put
You can buy sandwiches etc. in the hotel shop at a decent price
The view of the sunsets at the sunset bar & the torch lighting
The Blue Note Bar is plush (but only seems to be open Fridays & Saturdays)
Not such good features:
A small beach & there are jellyfish (my wife & sister in law both suffered small stings)
Food & drink, especially alcoholic drinks are expensive
Lack of entertainment, if you stay in the hotel of an evening you only have the resident group of singers (not the worse we've heard but not really our thing!)
There are snakes (I saw a dangerous 1 at the sunset bar - The Rasa Ria has them too)

Talking of the Shangri-la Rasa Ria we did visit 1 day. Don't just go for the Orang Utans (even though they are fanastic) spend the whole day there as Shangri-la provide you with towels & to sign expenses against your room. It's RM25 (£5.50) return in the coach.
If you are trying to decide which hotel to stay,
Tanjung Aru - Good for trips, for the city, for the airport - basically if are having a busy hol
Rasa Ria - Much prettier (actually it's absolutely stunning!), lovely beach & sea, The Orang Utans are great but it's pretty remote - best if you are looking for seclusion.
I reckon you would spend more on food as you won't go out so much so Tanjung Aru is better for cost as even trips are dearer from the Rasa Ria

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SUPERNELLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

nice beach. nice facilities.nice staff
but rediculous taxi charge from hotel to airport

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Booleanboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
2.3 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
4.3 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,229 reviews
5 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,440 reviews
25 km away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
4.2 km away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $288 - $693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing