We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green lush near the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed for six nights! The first five were in the basement, which were priceworthy, modern and clean, but had no window (or actually it did, just no view).

At first I thought it was offputting, but I found that the room kept cool, we slept really well and were close to the pool so actually wasnt a big deal.

Later on we booked a window-room, which was reasonably priced. It had a couple of extra features that the basementroom didn't have (safetybox, a view, prettier furniture and bigger bathroom), also really nice!

All rooms were spacious, and the restaurant was OK. We prefered to eat dinner out for more variaty, but had breakfast there every morning; the omelet quicky became our favorite.

The best thing thoug is the area behind the pool! The garden is a big plus, as it is wonderfully lush and smelles delicious!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JacquelineTripAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2017

My wedding ceremony here goes smoothly with a nice staff helping through entire process. My wedding on 4th december 2017.really love the place. Tq mr hj wira for assist us in the event anr mr raj. Very friendly person . Top 5 star hotel

Room Tip: Get a suite and you will be in heaven on earth
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We stayed here as a last minute decision. It was affordably priced due to its lower occupancy. While the hotel is located in KK city, but it is on top of a small hill and isolated from other shops, malls, business centers, markets, etc.

The rooms are very basic. Some of us had problems with the beds as they were lumpy or 'collapsed' (concave; no longer flat) but others had comfortable sleep. Basic amenities and toiletries were provided.

The air-conditioners worked and the bathrooms were in working order. However, we missed the bidets which are usually installed in the bathroom for Malaysian hotels. That would have helped very much with in-room sanitation and hygiene.

Housekeeping standards were atrocious on the first day. After we came back from a day's outing, we found the bathroom unwashed. A wet & soiled towel left on the shower floor was still left there and not replaced. The shower cubicle was still wet. Toiletries were not topped up. The used glasses and mugs were left unwashed. The only thing done was to top up the coffee/tea and to make the beds.

Breakfast was decent. We had some fruits & salads. Eggs were cooked to order. Very basic local fare e.g. noodles, rice, porridge, etc. were available. There was a variety of breads to choose from. Nothing outstanding or delicious but it was enough to start the day.

Apart from the housekeeping staff on the first day, all other hotel crew members were great. From the Front Office to the Restaurant, we were met with warm smiles and friendly greetings.

This place is acceptable as we felt safe and secure. Whilst it wasn't so conveniently located, but as it is still located in the city, we could easily book transportation to move around.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicLawML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Other hotels in KK was fully booked and the office booked us into this hotel. Maybe our office travel agent was having a bad day.
The hotel is OLD. The rooms were average and I was given a room with a small slit of a window with no view. It's a non smoking hotel and the hotel staff claimed that they wanted to be some sort of a "blue ribbon non smoking die all smokers you're not welcome here" kinda example.
The room furniture was OLD, the bathroom was cramped and wasn't squeaky clean (there was hair at the drain plug). Security wasn't tight as I saw night ladies (or was it ladyboys) walking freely up to the lift to the guest rooms.
Breakfast was equally disappointing. There were not many selections at all and doesn't taste so good.
Worst part was that the location which was on a slight hill with nothing nearby. You will need a transport to go anywhere and walking will mean crossing a very busy road with no pedestrian access.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jahd O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

At only 7 miles from the airport, the hotel is convenient for a airport layover. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the restaurant breakfast buffet very comprehensive. Important to mention as well are the numerous awards the property has received for its efforts to be "green."

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldsvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 km away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#20 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
545 reviews
0.6 km away
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Sabah Oriental Hotel
#47 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
309 reviews
0.9 km away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#64 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
370 reviews
0.9 km away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
495 reviews
0.6 km away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#22 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Address: No 1 Jalan Tangki, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Palace Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: S$58 - S$91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing