We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Klagan Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$276
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sixty3(Kota Kinabalu)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grandis(Kota Kinabalu)
US$141
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$120
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
54
97
72
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
97
72
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain downtownfood wastekaraoke loungec unitquiet locationa small swimming poolstandard rooms areno windowmodern hotelnon smokinglaksachinese new yearbooked this hotelbuffet breakfastnoodlesdeluxe roomshopping centre
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2017

My wedding ceremony here goes smoothly with a nice staff helping through entire process. My wedding on 4th december 2017.really love the place. Tq mr hj wira for assist us in the event anr mr raj. Very friendly person . Top 5 star hotel

Room Tip: Get a suite and you will be in heaven on earth
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We stayed here as a last minute decision. It was affordably priced due to its lower occupancy. While the hotel is located in KK city, but it is on top of a small hill and isolated from other shops, malls, business centers, markets, etc.

The rooms are very basic. Some of us had problems with the beds as they were lumpy or 'collapsed' (concave; no longer flat) but others had comfortable sleep. Basic amenities and toiletries were provided.

The air-conditioners worked and the bathrooms were in working order. However, we missed the bidets which are usually installed in the bathroom for Malaysian hotels. That would have helped very much with in-room sanitation and hygiene.

Housekeeping standards were atrocious on the first day. After we came back from a day's outing, we found the bathroom unwashed. A wet & soiled towel left on the shower floor was still left there and not replaced. The shower cubicle was still wet. Toiletries were not topped up. The used glasses and mugs were left unwashed. The only thing done was to top up the coffee/tea and to make the beds.

Breakfast was decent. We had some fruits & salads. Eggs were cooked to order. Very basic local fare e.g. noodles, rice, porridge, etc. were available. There was a variety of breads to choose from. Nothing outstanding or delicious but it was enough to start the day.

Apart from the housekeeping staff on the first day, all other hotel crew members were great. From the Front Office to the Restaurant, we were met with warm smiles and friendly greetings.

This place is acceptable as we felt safe and secure. Whilst it wasn't so conveniently located, but as it is still located in the city, we could easily book transportation to move around.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicLawML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Other hotels in KK was fully booked and the office booked us into this hotel. Maybe our office travel agent was having a bad day.
The hotel is OLD. The rooms were average and I was given a room with a small slit of a window with no view. It's a non smoking hotel and the hotel staff claimed that they wanted to be some sort of a "blue ribbon non smoking die all smokers you're not welcome here" kinda example.
The room furniture was OLD, the bathroom was cramped and wasn't squeaky clean (there was hair at the drain plug). Security wasn't tight as I saw night ladies (or was it ladyboys) walking freely up to the lift to the guest rooms.
Breakfast was equally disappointing. There were not many selections at all and doesn't taste so good.
Worst part was that the location which was on a slight hill with nothing nearby. You will need a transport to go anywhere and walking will mean crossing a very busy road with no pedestrian access.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jahd O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

At only 7 miles from the airport, the hotel is convenient for a airport layover. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the restaurant breakfast buffet very comprehensive. Important to mention as well are the numerous awards the property has received for its efforts to be "green."

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldsvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

I spent 4 nights on my way out of Borneo. The basement rooms without window v oppressive so I had to upgrade at an extra 15 pounds per night but worth it for the light.

Food in the restaurant pretty good, staff friendly and the pool fine and gym pretty ok too.

This is a good mid budget option but for me as a woman alone the location made me reliant on taxis / uber not so much because of the distance into town but because of a v busy road to cross and no way of doing it without just taking a chance and legging it !

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank rosiemrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews