We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$76
View deal
Booking.com
US$84
View deal
Agoda.com
US$41
View deal
PricelineUS$90
Hotels.comUS$76
Trip.comUS$80
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,751)
Filter reviews
3,752 results
Traveller rating
1,692
1,287
442
177
154
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,692
1,287
442
177
154
Show reviews that mention
All reviews magellan club al fresco cafe boleh five sails sea view swimming pool club room manukan island the south china sea buffet breakfast great facilities beautiful sunset kk concierge kota borneo operator
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 3,752 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2022 via mobile

Booked Magellan Club room for 3 nights. Comes with dedicated Magellan Lounge, easy check in and check out. The room is spacious, clean. Bathroom is clean. View of the marina from the room is beautiful. Had 2 options for breakfast buffet either at the hotel restaurant or the Magellan Lounge. We preferred to have breakfast at Magellan Lounge as there’s less crowd. Delicious dishes. There’s also evening cocktails every evening. Everything is delicious.

The sea water is so clear, you can see fishes clearly at the marina. They have 2 big pools, one at Magellan Sutera, the other one at Sutera Marina. They also have kids pool with water slides.

All the attending staff at the Magellan Lounge is very friendly, helpful and provided warm hospitality.

I would suggest to get the club room for the extra perks. It’s totally worth it. Get the Family getaway package and you’ll get discount for island trip.

Overall, it’s a very pleasant stay. We would definitely stay at Magellan Sutera on our next trip to Kota Kinabalu in the future

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Drdiyanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sutera Harbour, General Manager at The Pacific Sutera Hotel - Sutera Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2022

Dear Diyanah,

Thank you for choosing Sutera Harbour Resort as the preferred accommodation for your recent stay at Kota Kinabalu, Sabah and sharing the pleasant experience through a detailed review.

I am delighted to know that you specifically enjoyed the service in various touch points, such as the ambiance and culinary offerings available. Thank you for your stamp of approval and recognition.

The team & I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to our property and creating many more wonderful memories.

Best wishes,

Gerry D'Cruz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2022 via mobile

The Magellan Sutera - Is a fantastic place to stay.. lots of activities to be done here, hence, one night stay is not enough :)

We enjoyed our stay and time here.

Very helpful staff.
Highly recommended hotel. Will return soon

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank BraveAdventorousMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sutera Harbour, General Manager at The Pacific Sutera Hotel - Sutera Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2022

Dear Jezza91,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Sutera Harbour Resort, Kota Kinabalu- Sabah. We truly appreciate that you had taken the time to share a review of your recent experience with us.

We are grateful for your endorsement of our Resort and we do look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Gerry D'Cruz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2022 via mobile

My husband and I had a great time at the Magellan Sutera resort. The resort is very well maintained despite being there for quite some time. The common area (swimming pool etc) is very huge and hence, we don’t feel that the resort is overcrowded. The sunset bar is spectacular. You can have a meal/drink while enjoying the view. We will definitely return to Magellan in near future.

Room tip: Parking in the evening can be challenging especially when there is event at the resort.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank siewyan1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sutera Harbour, General Manager at The Pacific Sutera Hotel - Sutera Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2022

Dear Siewyan1902,

Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review of the resort and your holiday in Kota Kinabalu! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sutera Harbour Resort. It was a pleasure having you & your beloved husband here with us and we wish you many safe and happy travel adventures ahead.

The team and I look forward in welcoming you back for a spectacular & an enjoyable stay again.

Best wishes,

Gerry D'Cruz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2022 via mobile

I recommend the place for family place. Children happy place. And relaxing sunset view. If you can see the view, it’s stunning and good for away from city area. The service good and friendly. They helping if needed.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sofiahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sutera Harbour, General Manager at The Pacific Sutera Hotel - Sutera Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2022

Dear Sofianhb,

Thank you for recommending Sutera Harbour Resort as a preferred holiday destination in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

I am glad to know that you had a amazing experience with our services. Thank you very much for your compliments on the services of our resort.

I hope you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Hearing feedback is always encouraged, especially when it comes from the people that matter most - you!

Again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback via TripAdvisor and we look forward in welcoming you back for another amazing experience.

Best wishes,

Gerry D’Cruz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2022

We chose the Blissful package for celebrate our anniversary. Breakfast, dinner included and also evening cruise! The room was clean and spacious, the bed was comfy. The view and facilities was also awesome. Check in was very quick, the staff were friendly and professional. Overall an awesome stay with wonderful experience!

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briellepyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sutera Harbour, General Manager at The Pacific Sutera Hotel - Sutera Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2022

Dear Brielle P,

We are truly delighted to know that you had a memorable anniversary stay with us at Sutera Harbour Resort and thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

The team will be very pleased to read this as they do take pride in what they do and would be truly motivated to hear that their genuine hospitality is appreciated by our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back for more memorable moments.

Kind regards,

Gerry D'Cruz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews