We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic beach but a crap resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Ranked #11 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Shenyang, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic beach but a crap resort”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The main resort had plenty of potential...15 years ago. Our room was basic clean...no more, no less. The staff not very motivated and the food ordinary and barely warm. The rooms had problems with water feed, the toilets did not flush for 3 days not due to blocage but water supply. The restaurants were expensive..I was offered a pound and a quarter lobster at the price of 285 RM ( approx $90 )...The sunset lounge on the other hand had very good and very affordable pasta...ate pasta for 4 days....The location of this resort,on a tranquility standpoint is brilliant. Very long beach, nobody on it, water temperature excellent and very clean. The downside , if you want to go in town , well its 45 minutes of highway...and costly taxi fares.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Robert l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    437
    225
    124
    123
See reviews for
411
457
51
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This hotel has a fantastic beach, lovely grounds and a beautiful golf course but the main hotel looks run down and appears very badly managed. We found the food and service poor and food and wine was very expensive. The staff are lovely and very pleasant but are clearly not well trained, motivated or supervised. We ate a number of times at the nearby Rasa Ria where the food and service were immeasurably better and the cost was about 3/4 of the Nexus.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Greatelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

HK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We had been travelling with 2 small kids since 4am and upon arrival at Nexus were made to wait for a further 4 hours while our villa was 'cleaned'. When we were finally allowed to enter, the villa was absolutely filthy and smelly - utterly disgusting actually. We had requested ahead of time for a baby cot and a high chair, neither of which were provided and we had to literally threaten the staff before we finally got them delivered to the villa. On the first night we ordered room service as we were all tired and fancied staying in... The food took forever to arrive and when it did it was so disgusting, cold and nasty it was almost inedible. The food in the buffet restaurants and the breakfasts by the pool might have been nice if it hadnt all been covered in flies... The beach was absolutely horrific - covered in rubbish and mess with no discernible efforts being made by Nexus to clean it up for its guests. The swimming pools were dirty and badly maintained with the most dangerous 'water slide' set up I have ever seen. The shuttle bus system from the villas to the main resort was a real pain and very annoying. The service in all the restaurants was so unbelievably slow and bad that it was almost comical....almost. On three nights out of five we actually got taxis to the neighbouring Shangri La resort for dinner as we could not face either the food or total lack of service at Nexus. We were SO so disappointed by this resort and feel extremely angry that we spent as much money as we did staying there. We will not go back and we would actively warn people against going there.

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Grou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Our stay had its fair share of the good and the bad.
Good- Sabah hospitality, staff friendly, helpful and accommodating, got upgraded to Ocean View room, spacious room, has an expansive and quiet beach (even though hotel was almost at max capacity), well landscaped, quaint environs, dreaded mandatory CNY dinner turned out to be quite a pleasant surprise, MYR23 round trip shuttle to and from KK city Centrepoint (with optional stopover at 1Borneo), wildlife abundant, food at restaurants decent enough albeit a tad overpriced, free daily activities to partake in (batik painting, tennis etc...)
Bad- beg bugs!!!!, found mouse dropping on bed and in suitcase (eck!) (likely dropped from crown moulding), power went out for a while on first night (early morning), had to wait 30 minutes after calling for a ride to main lobby (it was raining heavily), inconsistent replies from one staff to the next regarding fees/fares, toilet paper wasn't refilled day before check out (ran out), bathtub faucet wonky and not functioning properly, pillows too soft (no hard pillow option), spa's 'in-pool' chairs were filthy/mouldy, LOTS of boisterous, insolent, discourteous and tactless Mainland Chinese tour groups (raiding restaurants en masse), only (mediocre) house wine available by the glass--otherwise must buy by bottle, beach (sand and sea) was littered with sea weed and garbage on first day (but the tide cleared it all away by the next day), waves too big for a swim but ok for a dip

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank grr8travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Certainly not a 4.5 Star hotel & very overpriced for what you get. The location is good but the resort is shabby, tired & unkempt. The bathroom supplies were very minimal. The restaurants offered very average food & lacked ambience. However the staff were very friendly. I would NOT recommend this resort.
Advertised day trip unavailable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank kirstymc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
17.2 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
14.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,440 reviews
15.5 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
214 reviews
6.2 km away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
14.8 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Property: Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Address: Nexus Resort Karambunai 100 Jalan Sepangar Bay, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price range (per night): $148 - $342
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nexus Resort Karambunai is set within 3,335 acres of unique & unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Resort And Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Karambunai
Nexus Resort Sabah
Nexus Resort Karambunai
Nexus Sabah Hotel
Nexus Karambunai Hotel
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing