We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations ”
Review of Eminent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eminent Hotel
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Booked this hotel as it is nearer for my friends to pick me up. It's outside of the city centre, closer to the airport. Cost me RM7 from airport to hotel via Grab. Was pleasantly surprised with what is essentially a shop lot conversion.. Rooms are spacious, clean with coffee-making amenities as well as basic toiletries. Shops and restaurants are right on your doorstep as well. They do collect RM50 as a deposit but this is common in Malaysia. Also, non-Malaysian visitors please take note there's a new tourism tax in place which is over and above the room rate advertised. Reception staff was friendly. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank farahemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EminentHotel, Manager at Eminent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear farahemi,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Management
Eminent Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Do not stay here. Horrible. They advertise free airport transfer but don't respond to your email regarding flight details after booking. I paid 35 ringgit to get there, and they tried to charge me 15 to get back. They also don't mention the 50 ringgit deposit and the 10 hotel tax. The Wi-Fi is weak and the entire place smells like an ashtray. The hotel staff are good at apologizing, but they do nothing to compensate for their ineptitudes. The management probably knows you're in your way to somewhere else, and they have no qualms about screwing you. They know you won't be back, and they don't care. Shameful and unethical are the words that come to mind when I think of the management. I can already foresee the falsely justified nonsense response to this you'll read from whichever idiot is responsible for picking up the pieces. Save yourself the time and money. Avoid this place. Your money and time are much, much better spent elsewhere. It's a total con job, and the people who run the operation have no moral code of conduct or backbone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
4  Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We check in with a large group of people. The Hotel Staff are very helpful and friendly. Though not the first time we are staying here, I am quite sure our next outing to this City that we would come back. The rooms are clean and the location is fine with many eateries around.

Room Tip: No special preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petersjsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EminentHotel, Manager at Eminent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear petersjsim,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Management
Eminent Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of days when we visited Kota Kinabalu. The hotel is situated outside of the city centre, but offers easy access to both city centre and attractions in the vicinity of Kota Kinabalu.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dutch_traveler013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EminentHotel, Manager at Eminent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Dutch_traveler013,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Management
Eminent Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

I set my expectation low before coming here. I thought it would be a small old room. Turned out it really really worth my money! Room is spacious, there's few eateries downstairs and within walking distance, there are gym and eateries as well.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nurul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EminentHotel, Manager at Eminent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Nurul A,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Management
Eminent Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
6.8 km away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#34 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
49 reviews
5.5 km away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#20 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
543 reviews
6.8 km away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#29 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
106 reviews
3.8 km away
Zara's Boutique Hotel
Zara's Boutique Hotel
#23 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
109 reviews
6.4 km away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#38 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eminent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eminent Hotel

Address: Lot 32 Ground Floor, Block D | Kepayan Point, Jalan Penampang By-Pass, Kota Kinabalu 88200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $39 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eminent Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel with 112 rooms, strategically located along the highway of Penampang By-Pass Road, Kota Kinabalu, 10 -15 minutes from the airport. We provide quality bedding, selected Astro TV channels, tea and coffee making facilities, free Internet WiFi access and easy access to several nearby restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Eminent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eminent Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing