We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$124
US$118
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Grandis(Kota Kinabalu)
US$100
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa(Kota Kinabalu)
US$313
US$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$100
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Klagan Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$55
US$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$82
US$61
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$368
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$52
US$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Eden54(Kota Kinabalu)(Great Value!)
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
26
143
96
30
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
143
96
30
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspacious roombuffet breakfastwater frontswimming pool isnasi lemakan upgradesohfurnituremarketborneo
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

The most disappointed the most is there was no room for a family of 4 pax. The fan adjustable switch were broken, and the air-conditioning in our room not cold enough although we've set 16°C the lowest temperature. Not forget to mention the breakfast buffet experience was really bad, we couldn't have teh tarik as fhe machine is broken. The only thing that amazed us is there's a basement parking provided for guest hotel and is free for us!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mitchamorchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Although, the hotel is located within walking distance to the city centre, there is a feeling of separation. It maybe because there is a flyover separating the hotel from the main shopping area. But I did not find it noisy. The rooms are very clean and the cleaning staff are very efficient. On one occasion, I went to breakfast and found that on my return, the beds were already made. However being an old hotel, some of the fixture need updating. For example, my sink did not empty quickly and the shower was elderly, and the air-condition needed more features to enable controlling the environment better. The reception staff was very helpful and polite. My room did not have a safe but I used their safety box. The 2 features of note are: 1)The dining room is full of retro furniture (1970s - wow) I hope they don't get rid of them. 2) The hotel have some seating outside the main entrance. It was lovely sitting out there in the evenings. They should provide more seats because it's well used.

Room Tip: Difficult to get around without a car but use 'Grab' the Asian version of UBER but cheaper.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 645wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

I came 17 of August. Receptionists were super kind.(not sure of name but two ladies at morning shift i guess)
But shower room at swimming pool was.. terrible..... no key for locker.. no tower for shower room......(need to borrow from gym-kinda beach tower)
We ask for high floor right side view and was good. Room is cozy and clean. But you need to call to housekeeping for shampoo things.
We order room service twice, room service lady is so kind and cute. The thing is roomservice who pick up the phone(male) was poor in eng, bit rude.
And we order steak as medium rare, but they made as super well-done...!

For tour informations, No mini bar in the room, need to ask for make up room, Location is good, price is fare enough for 4 stars hotel..

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank yoona1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

The hotel is situated right in the heart of KK. Near to shopping malls, Water Front and and sea food market and other tourist attractions. There's no public transport passing on this hotel however grab car is very accessible. It will cost you less than 10 Ringgits going to Water front and seafood market roughly around 4-6 ringgits. The hotel room is big and spacious. Facilities are in good condition except for the AC is not that cooling well and the swimming pool is quite old and it closes at early as 7PM. Beddings are ok, clean and fresh. Buffet breakfast is just ok. Acceptable for the price you pay. The hotel staff are very helpful and accommodating. Our room was bit noisy because it was situated beside the stock room and when we complain about it, the staff transfer us immediately in the next available room. The room can accommodate 3 persons as there is a big sofa in each room. Overall stay was ok.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

Most business travellers like me will rent a car to stay in Kota Kinabalu. The hotel has basement parking and the location is just the edge of heavy traffic area, so you wont be stuck in jam long time to reach there even in peak hours. Unlimited wifi is offered. The room is excellent too especially the size of room. Always be my first choice hotel when visited here.. Well done...

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Hairil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews