We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Celyn City Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Le Hotel Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Imperial Boutec Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Klagan Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Traveller(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Kooler Inn(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Grand M Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Asia City(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
Monaco Boutique Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
Reviews (2,351)
Filter reviews
2,351 results
Traveller rating
1,119
900
230
72
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,119
900
230
72
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight marketspg memberthe club loungesea viewseafoodthe general managerfish marketlocal markettour deskcentral locationwet marketthe south china seaan upgradebreakfast spreaddvd playerwater frontspacious room
Filter
Updating list...
1,555 - 1,560 of 2,351 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2011

DH, DD 7 abd I stayed at the Le Meridien for 4 nights in a double room. We booked the club room because it was a good deal and I'm glad we did because we used the lounge for breakfast, snacks, afternoon tea, drinks and internet. The view was wonderful from the lounge as well as our room. Our room was large, clean and well-appointed. It was not particularly "fancy" and showed a little age but that did not matter to us as long as clean and comfortable. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The pool although smaller than the resorts was large enough to swim some laps and definitely big enough for our daughter to have some fun. The location was great for us because we were able to walk to many restaurants nearby and around town. During our stay in KK we were pretty low key - just going to the Sunday Market and a day of snorkeling, otherwise this was the "rest up and relax point of our 3-week trip to SIngapore and Borneo. While we mostly ate breakfast in the club lounge there was also the option of eating in at the buffet in the lobby restaurant which we did one morning. It had a lot of options and variety - tasty but not outstanding. We ate one dinner in the restaurant too.since it was raining and we did not want much. We had the mushroom soup which was very good and hit the spot. Overall, if I were returning to KK and wanted to be in the city I would definitely stay at the Le Meriden again. We had a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akgirl51997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Glad to know the mushroom soup was just right and your overall experience staying with us was exactly what you were looking for.
Thank you for sharing
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I came to La Meridien with my little family, a baby included. We are thankful to get a seaview room although we did not request for this knowing that we booked via the website so it could be city view or sea view. Thank you Gabriel, we appreciate waking up to the view South Chinese Sea.

The hotel is located near the markets and there are lots of restaurants and cafes around the area. Starbucks is just next door.

The staff are all very attentive to our needs especially with a baby around.

We love the complimentary coffee given to us at the lounge.

Room Tip: Book at the website
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hahafie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Well I cannot disagree there are not many views anywhere which beats what you get when staying in one of our seafront rooms. Will make sure Gabriel knows he has made the difference.
Happy travels
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed for 5 nights in late Oct - myself and two kids ages 5 and 10 yrs. Everything about this hotel was wonderful. From the super fast check in with a room available for us even though we were early arrivals (around 11am) to the evening cocktail function that very night hosted for guests with food and drinks around the lovely pool on our arrival.

There is nothing to fault at this hotel. The rooftop pool with spa and small kids pool is wonderful on a tropical evening complete with a bar who do a very reasonable margharita. We were there every day twice a day usually and a margarhita whilst watching the sun go down was about my favourite activity of the trip! The restaurant does one of the hugest buffet breakfasts I have ever seen catering for all tastes and of course with the usual egg station. all western and asian tastes catered for. Worth noting the very good coffee served in personal plunger as many hotels have LOUSY coffee , my kids loved getting hot chocolate at breakfast in their own coffee pots. even have takeaway coffee and muffin station for guests in a rush!

Evening meals at the main restaurant were equally lovely and whilst not cheap by malaysian standards were certainly exceptional by Australian dollar values. Try something new and have a go at the durian icecream..! you may not want seconds but always worth trying.

Room service was efficient and the food was always good. my children adored the fish and chips and I had a wonderful steak one evening. Steak being something that is not universally well cooked in asia but was handled just right.

We stayed in a standard room with two (so called single!) beds that were practically queen sized and easily accommodated two people each. our room had a view over the town and fishing harbout. also had excellent tv with plenty of english language channels to choose from - my kids went mad on the kids channels plus dvd players in room to keep the electronic babysitter going :)

Location great - couldnt be more central to the heart of KK. walk across the road to markets, small restaurants/bars along the waterfront, pop across the road for a massage or a meal at the shopping centre, go to the movies - exceptional value for a western family, cost us around $12 aussie dollars to go to the movies.. couldn't get ONE ticket back home for that price.

tour desk available - really you are just getting the entry to an attraction and your own bus wiht a driver usually limited english but does make it very easy to arrange to see attractions.

staff were universally friendly, efficient and cheerful. not always super fast but this is more a reflection on the slightly slower pace of life in borneo than a reflection on the service qulity. sit back, enjoy the view and take a few deep breathes to unwind.

COST - was MUCH less than the Pacific Sutera that we also stayed at and soooo much better value and more stylish, better designed, maintained everything. cost us around $140/night AUS for three people including breakfast. Phenomenal value!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lushlykelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Your review is so good that even our public relation experts could not do better. I especially like the last part when you said we are phenomenal value and that is what make us feel we have done well.
It will be difficult to do even better next time you visit but we will definitely give it a good try !
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Check in on 14 Dec and stayed for 2 nights. I last stayed in Le Meridien KK about one and a half year ago. This time around check in was smooth and given a sea view room ...nice although wheather was cloudy and raining especially in the evening. Rooms are well kept with ample amenities. Love their soft pillows ..
The meeting facility was excellent given ours was only a small group of 8 pax. The coffee machine churned out some of the best coffee during breaks. Vegetarian samosa and spring rolls were our fav.
Almost everything else are just around the hotel - from fresh seafoods, souvenir shops, spa, department stores, restaurants and night market. No. 1 location in KK.

Special thanks to the all staff esp. Mr Suresh and Mr Daniel who at times have gone the extra miles to ensure our stay and meeting objectives successfully met.

We hope to be back soon with a much larger group.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms on the higher floors 9, 10, 11. Go for the Club room and enjoy the Club Lounge on 12th Floor with it's breathtaking view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muzmazlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Nice for a change to read a review from a guest who participated in a meeting. Great to know Daniel, Suresh and the rest of the team looked after all details and we are already looking forward to a larger delegation next time.
Regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

The hotel is located smack in the middle of the city, which makes it easy to get around. The food at the circle hotel is really good as well and I loved being able to also work out at the gym or have a swim before starting the day. There also is a really nice spa that I found out about called South Sea Sanctuary that is located just 5 minutes walking distant from the hotel.

Room Tip: Get rooms facing the sea for better view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

Thank you for the tip on the spa might consider that during lunch breaks....
Of course after having a meal at Circle I am happy you enjoyed the food there.
Regards,
alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews