We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful central location with great ocean views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2011

First trip to Kota Kinabalu so finding accomodation was tricky but am glad we ended up at the Le Meridien.

We stayed in a sea facing Club Room which by itself is spectacular - wonderful size, well equipped, very comfortable bed and decent bathroom. The best thing about the room was the view. Simply amazing - albeit do keep in mind, this is in KK central rather than the sandy beaches of the Maldives etc.

Location: No complains if you are looking for a central hotel. Its around 15 mins by cab from the airport right on the main strip across from the food stalls at night. Its actually amazing to see the liveliness of the stalls that runs into the late hour (you wont hear them) but by the time you wake up, the stalls are all cleared and cleaned. The location also guarantees that you will never be hungry as its justa pop across the road for some delicious local malay delicacies.

Furthermore, you are walking distance everywhere in KK (itself being a small town). Next door, you will find a relatively new building that houses lots of spas and massage parlours. You have your pick of finding someone to pamper you easily.

More importantly, you are about 5-10 mins walk to Sedco Sq where there are 5 great affordable seafood restaurants in a square.

Hotel facilities and dining:Being a member of Starwood International, you should have high expectations and to a large extent, Le Meridien KK delivers. Check in was a breeze with very friendly staff. The hotel houses a lounge that has an excellent band and serves great selection of drinks and amazing coffee. There is a small gym and pool (probably the most disappointing part considering it is not beachfronting). Breakfast while a decent selection, was to me, just OK. I had sampled other Le Meridien dining before and I was expecting slightly too much perhaps. As indicated, selection was ample with a mix of local (ie noodles, rice, dim sum etc) and continental (hot and cold selection) but overall quality of cooking to me was average.

You could tell the hotel is busy (especially around this time of year) and the dining room staff looked flustered as they tried to clear tables and seat new guests. I would add that front of house management could be more organised. We had to wait for a while before being seated in our second day.

On average, Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu is a great base for exploring KK and its surroundings.

Would stay again if I return to KK.

Room Tip: Ask for seafacing rooms and above the 6th floor to be away from the noise and to have the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penangnite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Thank you for the overall good impressions and for suggesting us to continue looking at breakfast experience which indeed is one of our priority and although we believe we are doing pretty well there is more we can do and we will.
Regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,453 - 1,457 of 2,204 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

DH, DD 7 abd I stayed at the Le Meridien for 4 nights in a double room. We booked the club room because it was a good deal and I'm glad we did because we used the lounge for breakfast, snacks, afternoon tea, drinks and internet. The view was wonderful from the lounge as well as our room. Our room was large, clean and well-appointed. It was not particularly "fancy" and showed a little age but that did not matter to us as long as clean and comfortable. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The pool although smaller than the resorts was large enough to swim some laps and definitely big enough for our daughter to have some fun. The location was great for us because we were able to walk to many restaurants nearby and around town. During our stay in KK we were pretty low key - just going to the Sunday Market and a day of snorkeling, otherwise this was the "rest up and relax point of our 3-week trip to SIngapore and Borneo. While we mostly ate breakfast in the club lounge there was also the option of eating in at the buffet in the lobby restaurant which we did one morning. It had a lot of options and variety - tasty but not outstanding. We ate one dinner in the restaurant too.since it was raining and we did not want much. We had the mushroom soup which was very good and hit the spot. Overall, if I were returning to KK and wanted to be in the city I would definitely stay at the Le Meriden again. We had a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akgirl51997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Glad to know the mushroom soup was just right and your overall experience staying with us was exactly what you were looking for.
Thank you for sharing
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I came to La Meridien with my little family, a baby included. We are thankful to get a seaview room although we did not request for this knowing that we booked via the website so it could be city view or sea view. Thank you Gabriel, we appreciate waking up to the view South Chinese Sea.

The hotel is located near the markets and there are lots of restaurants and cafes around the area. Starbucks is just next door.

The staff are all very attentive to our needs especially with a baby around.

We love the complimentary coffee given to us at the lounge.

Room Tip: Book at the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hahafie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Well I cannot disagree there are not many views anywhere which beats what you get when staying in one of our seafront rooms. Will make sure Gabriel knows he has made the difference.
Happy travels
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed for 5 nights in late Oct - myself and two kids ages 5 and 10 yrs. Everything about this hotel was wonderful. From the super fast check in with a room available for us even though we were early arrivals (around 11am) to the evening cocktail function that very night hosted for guests with food and drinks around the lovely pool on our arrival.

There is nothing to fault at this hotel. The rooftop pool with spa and small kids pool is wonderful on a tropical evening complete with a bar who do a very reasonable margharita. We were there every day twice a day usually and a margarhita whilst watching the sun go down was about my favourite activity of the trip! The restaurant does one of the hugest buffet breakfasts I have ever seen catering for all tastes and of course with the usual egg station. all western and asian tastes catered for. Worth noting the very good coffee served in personal plunger as many hotels have LOUSY coffee , my kids loved getting hot chocolate at breakfast in their own coffee pots. even have takeaway coffee and muffin station for guests in a rush!

Evening meals at the main restaurant were equally lovely and whilst not cheap by malaysian standards were certainly exceptional by Australian dollar values. Try something new and have a go at the durian icecream..! you may not want seconds but always worth trying.

Room service was efficient and the food was always good. my children adored the fish and chips and I had a wonderful steak one evening. Steak being something that is not universally well cooked in asia but was handled just right.

We stayed in a standard room with two (so called single!) beds that were practically queen sized and easily accommodated two people each. our room had a view over the town and fishing harbout. also had excellent tv with plenty of english language channels to choose from - my kids went mad on the kids channels plus dvd players in room to keep the electronic babysitter going :)

Location great - couldnt be more central to the heart of KK. walk across the road to markets, small restaurants/bars along the waterfront, pop across the road for a massage or a meal at the shopping centre, go to the movies - exceptional value for a western family, cost us around $12 aussie dollars to go to the movies.. couldn't get ONE ticket back home for that price.

tour desk available - really you are just getting the entry to an attraction and your own bus wiht a driver usually limited english but does make it very easy to arrange to see attractions.

staff were universally friendly, efficient and cheerful. not always super fast but this is more a reflection on the slightly slower pace of life in borneo than a reflection on the service qulity. sit back, enjoy the view and take a few deep breathes to unwind.

COST - was MUCH less than the Pacific Sutera that we also stayed at and soooo much better value and more stylish, better designed, maintained everything. cost us around $140/night AUS for three people including breakfast. Phenomenal value!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lushlykelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Your review is so good that even our public relation experts could not do better. I especially like the last part when you said we are phenomenal value and that is what make us feel we have done well.
It will be difficult to do even better next time you visit but we will definitely give it a good try !
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Check in on 14 Dec and stayed for 2 nights. I last stayed in Le Meridien KK about one and a half year ago. This time around check in was smooth and given a sea view room ...nice although wheather was cloudy and raining especially in the evening. Rooms are well kept with ample amenities. Love their soft pillows ..
The meeting facility was excellent given ours was only a small group of 8 pax. The coffee machine churned out some of the best coffee during breaks. Vegetarian samosa and spring rolls were our fav.
Almost everything else are just around the hotel - from fresh seafoods, souvenir shops, spa, department stores, restaurants and night market. No. 1 location in KK.

Special thanks to the all staff esp. Mr Suresh and Mr Daniel who at times have gone the extra miles to ensure our stay and meeting objectives successfully met.

We hope to be back soon with a much larger group.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms on the higher floors 9, 10, 11. Go for the Club room and enjoy the Club Lounge on 12t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muzmazlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Nice for a change to read a review from a guest who participated in a meeting. Great to know Daniel, Suresh and the rest of the team looked after all details and we are already looking forward to a larger delegation next time.
Regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,513 reviews
2 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
15.5 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
297 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
728 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $161 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing