We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Klagan Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$60
US$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$254
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceania Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)(Great Value!)
US$40
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$73
US$51
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$42
US$38
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Eden54(Kota Kinabalu)(Great Value!)
US$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$381
US$216
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$292
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sixty3(Kota Kinabalu)
US$160
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
8
18
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
18
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom cardshort drivekota kinabalu international airportbudget hotelhotel locatedclose to the airportspacious roomroom servicehousekeepingamenitiesfloorsunsetproslobbycomfortcons
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Pros
- competitive price tag
- spacious and well maintained rooms

Cons
- amenities were fairly basic
- corridors on certain floors have a slight and faint musty unpleasant smell
- breakfast provided were basic




Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank Nc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

The Hotel is clean and cozy, the staff very friendly so far but not that chatty.
Bed was really comfortable.
Our room in general very big and cozy.

One negative point could be the breakfast buffet which provides less than we thought, E.g. no cereals...

In total I would still recommand this Hotel to everyone who likes to go on a trip to KK.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Stayed there for 7 nights. Hotel just 10min short drive from airport. Room is clean & comfortable with good size. Breakfast was basic & satisfactory, should consider changing the menu daily. No problem on parking. Only drawback is one room card per room.

Room Tip: high floor & ask for airport view.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamien O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

I stayed in this hotel because the hotels in the city were fully booked.

The only advantage of this hotel is that it is very near the airport. By car, it would only take about 15 minutes, the road in front of the hotel leading straight to the airport. As it is not in the city, there was no need to worry about slow traffic like those in the city. It is suitable for those coming for business.

Though the hotel was new (not more than 5 years?), but the amenities looked and felt old. The towels offered felt like those in a budget hotel or worse. Cleanliness was so-so as there were days not everything was cleaned. The hotel has no gym nor swimming pool.

Dining was at a very small café and very limited choice for breakfast. The hotel meal consisted only of 3 things: boiled eggs, friend noodles and rice porridge, not more. There was a bread basket with sliced bread and the normal things to go with (margarine, kaya, jam).

On the last evening, I noticed that the toilet could not be flushed properly. Before going out for dinner, I told the front desk to request housekeeping to clear that choke before anything untoward. After I came back from dinner, nothing changed.

The next day, true enough it got choked. Before going out for work, I informed the housekeeping and front desk. When I came back in the afternoon, there was a pool of faecal water in the toilet bowl. Nothing done!

Good for business and short trip. Not for family.

After complaining, they finally came and cleared everything in 5 minutes! They gave the reason that the housekeeping went to the wrong room (as if there were so many rooms with chokes)!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narahda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

I chose this hotel because it was located very close to the airport. I had previously stayed in town near the waterfront more than double the cost of Hotel No 5. Location is great for night time flight departures, but bad for sight seeing in the city. They do offer shuttles to the city center, but do not offer airport shuttles. Taxi cost from hotel to the airport is a standard 30 Ringgit (~$7 USD). The hotel was clean and very inexpensive $41 USD. This hotel also had the best free internet during my 14 days in Borneo.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ClemsunTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelN5_Pnmpg, Communications Executive at Hotel No 5, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear ClemsunTiger,

Good day. Greetings from Hotel N°5.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel N°5 during your recent visit to Kota Kinabalu. We are pleased to know that the hotel was up to your expectations, and that the Wi-Fi signal was strong.

Additionally, we truly value your feedback as this will assist us in continuously improving our services and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warm Regards,
The Management and Staff of Hotel N°5

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews