We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Kuching(Kuching)
US$68
US$63
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Abell Hotel(Kuching)(Great Value!)
US$30
US$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$26/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$74
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$36
US$35
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$64
US$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$44
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
US$56
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cove 55(Kuching)
US$141
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
35
14
5
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
14
5
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranary restaurantchapel wingnewly opened hotelboarding schoolroom overlooking the poolsuperb locationchinese templemain buildingnoisy at nightnice place to stayeach morninglovely hotelfour nightsthe riverwithin walking distancerooms are cleankuching city
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2018

I love this hotel. The staff went out of their way to help with a couple of unusual requests when I was staying with small children and an elderly relative. The rooms are minimalist but crisp, clean and quirky. The location is excellent, being only a few steps away from the river, shops and restaurants and the Granary is a great spot for a drink and a burger.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harbo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne_TheMarian, Manager at The Marian Boutique Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear Harbo100,

Hello from the rainforest of Borneo!

My team and I are extremely pleased with such a fantastic review. From the bottom of our hearts, THANK YOU!

We hope to have you back at The Marian soon and we wish you the best in your future travels.

Kind regards,
Yvonne Saman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

We have just spent a fantastic 9 days at the charming Marian. We stayed in Chapel Wing room #1 which was very simply furnished but very comfortable , clean with very good air-con. Great shower with good hot water and plenty of pressure.
Perhaps the Marians greatest asset is its location, so close to so many great places to eat and drink with great streets full of old shop houses in which to wander around talking to the very friendly locals
A big thank you to Yvonne and her very friendly and helpful staff for making our stay in wonderful Kuching a very memorable and enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne_TheMarian, Manager at The Marian Boutique Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Kevin F,

A very warm greeting from the rainforest of Borneo!

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of The Marian. It was a pleasure having you and your lovely wife with us, and we hope to have you back again soon.

Till then, my staff and I would like to wish you all the best in your future travels.

Kind regards,
Yvonne Saman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

Really enjoyed our stay at The Marian and spent many an afternoon in the pool. It's a perfect location for exploring the city with many bars and restaurants nearby. It is a couple of minutes walk to the main waterfront which is very pretty at night.
The hotel is well maintained and it's great to see it keeps the buildings original features.
You will need to climb stairs to get to any of the rooms or apartments.
We stayed in the main building on the first floor but found it very noisy when there were people staying above us. This is just because of the building itself and cannot be prevented so I would recommend requesting a room on the second floor so you do not have people staying above you. This would also not be a problem in the larger rooms overlooking the pool area as they are single storey. There was also a lot of noise from a bar next door which went on until 4am every night. I would recommend earplugs. However, despite the noise we had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LooseyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne_TheMarian, Manager at The Marian Boutique Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear LooseyUK,

Greetings from the rainforest of Borneo!

We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at The Marian. Thank you also for the wonderful review. The Marian is more than 130 years old, and a lot of hard work and love went into preserving and restoring the old mansion into what it is today.

Being also in the middle of the old part of town, the noise from the bars is beyond our control. As you mentioned, despite the noise, you had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay here. Our lush tropical garden and pool tend to make one forget that one is in the middle of a busy town.

We hope to have you back one day, and we wish you all the best in your travels.

Kind regards,
Yvonne Saman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

The Marian Lodge is great value and much better than I had anticipated. Its like stepping back in time and is beautifully preserved. We stayed in a Mary Sharp twin room for 4 nights. I had been concerned about reviews discussing the noise from a karaoke bar just down the road which was quite evident in reception but we didn't hear it at all in our room. It has a superb location close to the river with lots of great places to eat and drink nearby. Rooms are clean with a good sized bathrooms and aircon worked well. The pool area is well maintained. You do need to have reasonable mobility for some of the rooms as the staircases are steep. Breakfast is simple but with some lovely home cooked pastries.The service at breakfast was though a little haphazard with us having to go and find staff to ask for items to be replenished.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becksloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne_TheMarian, Manager at The Marian Boutique Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Dear Becksloves2travel,

A very warm greeting from the rainforest of Borneo!

Thank you so much for your great review. Our team is delighted and thrilled to have another satisfied guest.

The Marian does evoke in one a sense of nostalgia. Some find it calming in our lush tropical garden, with chirpy birds and if you are lucky, you will spot a squirrel or two!

Thank you also for your feedback on breakfast service. Currently there is one morning wait staff and The Granary has been advertising to hire another. We are pleased you like their home cooked pastries.

I wish you many more successful travels, and I would like to share this beautiful quote with you...
“I am not the same, having seen the moon shine on the other side of the world.” – Mary Anne Radmacher

With kind regards,
Yvonne Saman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

- Wooww view, unexpexted.
- Simple, interesting , beautiful & fun.
- Heritage house with characters. Each room may look similar but unique by it's own.
- In the heart of Cat's City. Easy accesss to most interesting places in town.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stainelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne_TheMarian, Manager at The Marian Boutique Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear stainelee,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, and for the 5 star rating! My team and I are glad that The Marian has surpassed your expectations and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future!

Till then, have a great Easter weekend!

With kind regards,
Yvonne Saman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews