We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get away”
Review of Damai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Damai Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel before and we will stay here again.
Staff were great, very friendly.
Hotel room is spacious. Little tired but clean.
Pool area very good, life guards on duty who were very attentive which was good to see.
Food in the restaurant was excellent, good menu, generous portions well cooked. There was also a buffet on offer.
Tour operator was very good arranging trips to see the orangutans.
Easy walk from hotel to cultural centre, which is well worth afternoon visit.
As I said we will be back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ANNIELOUISE01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in a hilltop double bedroom. The view from the balcony was gorgeous, with the ocean and mount santubong.

The hilltop pool was absolutely stunning, we enjoyed relaxing here often having the pool to ourselves.

The drivers were all extremely friendly and more than happy to drive us to and from our room.

The cleaners also did a great job of tidying our room everyday.

The buffet breakfast was delicious too, so much option.

Overall I feel very relaxed and revised after my stay at dumai. And it was a great place to tackle the summit up mount santubong.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Most of the local people will choose Damai Beach Resort for their weekend family short trip as the beach is clean and beautiful, good service.
In the evening, you may go to Kampung Buntal enjoy some seafoods and local dishes as dinner. There are several seafood restaurant in Kampung Buntal.

Room Tip: * Poolside - near beach, pool, lobby & restaurant. * chalet - beach, 3 rooms can link * Hillt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florencel93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

This is my second time staying in Damai Beach Resort after 4 years and they didn't disappointing us at all. This time I've booked Barok Suite for my family. The room is so stunning as we seen in the pictures. The view is breathtaking. The suite come with two double beds and facilitate with jacuzzi.

We have requested the suite beside the pool, it is nearer to walk and we can admire the pool from our room.

Staff is very friendly even though it was a peak season and the resort is full of people, they try to accommodate all your request as soon as possible.

However the bridge to damai central were closed so we're unable to walk over. Not sure whether it is permanent or just temporary.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank berry_escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

This place has mixed reviews but we found it to be friendly, clean and good value for money. We were able to check in early and were taken to our room (at the top of the hill) straight away. The food in the restaurant is good and you won't be disappointed with breakfast. The convienence store in the report is well stocked and open all day long (useful for snacks, beers, etc). The only negative we found was it is very dated and it could do with better maintenance. Overall, would highly recommend if you are there for a few days.

Room Tip: The Baruk Suites are worth the extra for pounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
22.1 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,638 reviews
21.8 km away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#6 of 55 in Kuching
617 reviews
21.8 km away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 km away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
22.0 km away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 55 in Kuching
2,028 reviews
22.1 km away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#28 of 55 in Kuching
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Beach Resort

Address: Teluk Bandung | Santubong, Kuching 93756, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $69 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Damai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the panoramic South China Sea and legendary Mount Santubong, Damai Beach Resort offers wide ranges of accommodation & facilities to suit every holiday makers needs. Main swimming pool for adults & kids is ideally located at the main building while another pool, secluded on the Hilltop has a breathtaking view of both the mountain and the sea. 5 F&B Outlets, convenient shop, souvenir shop, Tour Agent counter, Recreation Centre, Business Centre, Spa & Wellness, Shuttle service are some of facilities offered. Catering & Events caters from small meeting to large conference besides private parties and Weddings & other special moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Damai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Beach Hotel Kuching
Damai Beach Kuching
Holiday Inn Kuching
Damai Beach Resort Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing