We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with hotel despite its upgrading”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Borneo Highlands Resort
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disappointed with hotel despite its upgrading”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I heard from friends that it is not worth going all the way to Borneo Highlands Resort to play golf nor stay in the hotel as it is poorly maintained. Despite their discouragement I wanted to try it out as I heard that the hotel was renovated 3 years ago and upgraded. The price for staying in the resort is not cheap and though I was warned of the vegetarian meals I went anyway as I was visiting Kuching.

On arrival the room looked nice even though it is very small. Then the teeny weeny bathroom started to get wet each time I used the sink. I reported to the reception and they replied that it was nothing wrong and they just wiped it.

By 10 pm the bathroom was still wet and they told me that the staff was off duty and there was nothing wrong. How can that be? I had not showered nor use the bathroom and still it is wet. Then they changed room for me in the middle of the night. So stressful!

There is a lift in the resort. However it is always out of order and if you stay on the 2nd floor and the amenities are in the basement you really have to walk up the stairs for your meals, etc....Not recommended for those who cannot walk!!

The hotel is supposed to be renovated but the wifi is out of order each time there is rain or thunderstorm.....and it rains everyday in the afternoon.

The vegetarian meals are not worth trying.....unless you are absolutely hungry and need to feed a gnawing stomach.

There is a theatre for film show to occupy the guest but the films are so outdated and so old they might as well not provide the guest with this entertainment.

I am glad that I went to see what the renovated Borneo Hills Resort is like but I will not bother to visit it again as there are other stresses to put up with if you are thinking of going there for a good time of relaxation for golf.

Room Tip: Make sure that the rooms are dry when using the sink or toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank soohiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear soohiang,

Thank you for the feedback. We regretted the discomfort experienced during your stay with us.

We constantly seek improvements in our service and facilities and has made improvements based on the feedback received.

We look forward to welcome you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    29
    18
    7
    8
See reviews for
18
27
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

The Higlands resort is a wondeful place to switch off and relax for a couple of days. Located over a large site it's elevation is between about 2,500 and 3,000 feet making a a bit cooler. The gardens and 'park' lands arr well maintained and offer great views. Try to get to the viewing point - at about 3000 feet you can look across into Indonisia - STUNNING views. This is also the border so you can step across from malaysia into Indonisia.

The hotel, rooms are spa are well appointed and the staff very helpful.

I would happily visit again.

To get there by road just follow signs for Annah Rais Longhouse - the entrance to the resort is easy to find. best to park you car in by the entrance (secure car park) and take the 4wd up to the resort. Trip takes about 20 minutes and the climb is very very steep.

Room Tip: Great place to switch off, chil out and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esorlegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear esorlegin,

Thank you for the excellent review and rating. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip at Borneo Highlands Resort.

We look forward to welcome you back to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

no proper instructions given on how to go to the resort until the driver told us that we need to pay additional fees to go to the resort. no shopping and the buffet breakfast spread is poor and cold. The resort is very secluded and is very far away from the city which makes travelling and shopping very difficult. Transport is limited and expensive. The only good thing is scenery is beautiful. will not recommend to stay in this resort

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller121411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Traveller121411,

Thank you for the feedback. Relevant departments has been informed and improvements has been made.

We look forward to welcome you back to Borneo Highlands Resort and experience the improvements.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Already booked the trip before reading the previous unflattering comment. So I was not sure what to expect from the resort. But the first impression on arrival was excellent. The view and clean cool air was a tonic to de-stress. The reception of the foothill guard, the reception party and the restaurant staff was all smiles and friendly. I am a meat lover but still like the health conscious meals (Vegan + eggs). Golf course is excellent and the room is big with an excellent view of the hills / jungle. This is in all, a very wonderful stay all together. Will certainly be back again, hopefully with extended family if the cost is not too prohibiting.

Room Tip: Go for the Eagle room. Cost not much more to the package but you get a bigger room and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CKwoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benard T, Assistant Manager, Marketing at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Thank you for the feedback and glad that you enjoyed your trip.

Do contact us if you wanted to come back again and we can work out a special package rate for you.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Booked a 2 room chalet was given a 1 room it was so run down and dirty, after complaining they offer club house room which was ok for 2 nights , The place we poorly run staff not trained.

If you looking for service and relaxation
Batang Ai Longhouse Resort
Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daz_London1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benard T, Assistant Manager, Marketing at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
We apologize for the miscommunication that might have caused the reservation error.

Thank you for the feedback and we will look into the matter. We strive to continuously improve our services and facilities.

You are welcomed back to experience for yourself the improvements.

Do feel free to contact us.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
50.1 km away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
70.0 km away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#18 of 55 in Kuching
704 reviews
49.8 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.9 km away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
251 reviews
50.0 km away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
154 reviews
47.9 km away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Highlands Resort

Property: Borneo Highlands Resort
Address: Jalan Borneo | Padawan, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kuching
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuching
Price range (per night): $105 - $131
Hotel Class:3 star — Borneo Highlands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden treasure in the heart of Borneo’s highland rainforest. Cleverly tucked away in the exotic highland rainforest of Borneo standing at the height of 1,000 meters above sea level on the Sarawak-Kalimantan border. Flushed within 5,000 acres of untouched greens, surrounded by the world’s oldest and 2nd largest tropical rainforest, Borneo Highlands Resort is surely a sanctuary to escape to. Unwind, renew, and rejuvenate with a careful selection of enjoyable retreats, tailored exclusively for you to take care of your inner self while we take care of the rest. Back to Nature, Back to Basics ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Borneo Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Highlands Hotel Kuching
Borneo Highlands Resort Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing