We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cheap hotel”
Review of Harbour View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Great loaction , nearby the hilton kuching and also Kuching Watrfront. Rooms are clean but a bit small.

Great staff and friendly service.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bt63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 113 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2012

There are so many cockroaches in the room! How to stay
Most of the facilities in the room are not in good condition!
Toilet - no pipe/hose or bidet. Very unhygienic!
Pay RM 165 for what! Worse than low class hotel!
Regret to stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelleh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed at Harbour view for 4 nights over New Year and it was an excellent base for (re)visiting Kuching. The room was quiet, large, clean, comfortable and had a great view across the river. We did not have meals there but there is no shortage of restaurants in Kuching. Sure, the wifi (labelled "lobby") only worked in the lobby, and when it was not functioning, the staff reset the system straight away. Staff were friendly and let us use our computer in the restaurant outside of meal times.There were always taxis available if we needed to go further afield than the waterfront, main bazaar etc. The only complaint was the smell of someone else's cigarette smoke in the hallway, but the hotel cannot be blamed for other guests' lack of courtesy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaggieKuching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The bedroom itself was fine, if somewhat utilitarian, but the bathroom was in serious need of attention with the tiles mildewed and caulk rotting. Breakfast was good, however.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NovaOrbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

When we arrived, the lobby was fine, receptionist was polite and hospitable. Our room was at level 10 with river view, considerably spacious with a 2-seater sofa but i wouldn't sit on it as it looked too old to me.

The only new item in the room, probably the flat screen TV! Channel could be intermittently stop.

There were no tooth brush and slipper provided. Toilet with mould at the sides of bath tub and the mirror, frankly it was OK to me, the most irritated me was hair left behind the toilet and at the side of my bed! They would not do thorough clean up everyday.

TODAY, there was a long hair sticks at the hair dryer, it wasn't ours as we don't have such long hair!!!!

The shower head was fixed at the wall, the lower water outlet was mainly for bath tub, so I have to wash my hair when I have shower, otherwise there is no way I can just wash my hair! Hot water was just higher than body temperature, if someone wants to have a hot bath, no chance!

On the first night, it was heavy rain whole day, we wanted to borrow an umbrella, the one who supposed to serve us was went out to have a puff, when he returned, he looked like reluntantly lending us an umbrella, wrote a demand slip for RM60, in case we lose the umbrella, we understood it was the procedure but just his face showed unhappily!

Wifi, sometimes strong and often very weak or terminate automatically!




  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csy_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.6 km away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#12 of 55 in Kuching
149 reviews
0.9 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,009 reviews
0.5 km away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
2.5 km away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.5 km away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Hotel

Address: Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range: $42 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Kuching
Harbour View Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing