We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$63
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$54
US$52
Pullman
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$81
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The LimeTree Hotel(Kuching)
US$33
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$18
Hotels.com
View Deal
Kuching Waterfront Lodge(Kuching)(Great Value!)
US$27
US$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
47
87
98
89
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
87
98
89
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa villagemount santubongthe south china seafood courtforest
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 401 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2012

If you want to get away from the city and shopping, then this is a place for you as it is away from Kuching city. We stayed in this resort for 3 nights in Feb 2012. The deluxe room is clean. The resort is lovely with a stunning sea view. There are 2 wings in the resort- SPA Wing and Ocean Wing.
We stayed in the SPA Wing which is facing the main pool and good sea view if you are staying higher level and it is much calm than Ocean Wing which is facing children pool and might not suitable for some people who want to escape from children screaming in the morning.
The breakfast is basic local & western delight and we advice you to come early as they are very bad to top up the foods. The staff need to improve in their service. Service in restaurant is slow and it will be nice to see the staff smile & chat to the customers and happy with their job. The massage is very expensive.
We advice you to bring or buy your own liquors as the price in the bar is expensive. The small shop in the resort is a joke as they are selling too expensive things. A bottle of mineral water cost Rm 8. Much better if you can get your personal stuff before coming to this resort.
If you are fed-up with the restaurant foods in the resort, there is a seafood restaurant at Damai Centre which is 5 mins walk from the resort. You can visit the culture centre or rainforest which is also 5 mins walk from the resort.
Overall, we love this resort because of the sea view. If only they can improve in their service and the standard of the food and bar, the resort will be a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the SPA Wing
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracomsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed there in April 2011. I had to check-in late in the afternoon after I realised my room at the Permai Rainforest was inhabitable. The staff, although they drove me to Permai hotel (some 800 meters away) to pick-up my luggage, was somehow not friendly, and made me feel quite uncomfortable. I am a female journalist and am used to travelling alone even in remote places. This hotel could be a lovely hotel, and it is certainly a great alternative compared to Permai Rainforest. It is unfortunately run down, and I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SEVERINE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

In January 2011 our family stayed at Damai Puri. We had a sea facing connecting room for two adults and three children (aged 11, 10 and 6). the entrance to this resort is one of the most amazing I have seen.

I was a little worried that it might not be all that fantastic after reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor but have to say we were all very very happy with every aspect of the stay. staff were always friendly and helpful. The resort was lovely, although quiet, due to the wet season I was told. We loved it being quiet as we had the magnificent kids pool to ourselves. Our kids spent hours on the water slides and in the pool.

The breakfast buffet was fantastic, with fresh food and a great variety of different cuisines.

We did feel rather like movie stars staying in a secluded resort, rather than a family on holidays.

Yes, parts of the hotel do look a little tired but we felt this was minor - the odd pool tile missing in the kids pool and the viewing deck closed - and certainly did not take away from our experience.

If you want a quiet, relaxing, friendly resort during the wet months, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor in a connecting room. This worked really well for our family as it was a short walk to the amazing infinity pool. The view was fantastic.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Before we decide for our vacation, I saw a bad review for this resort and I wonder is it for real? I shouldnt choose to stay in this resort but makes me curious.

Once we reach there, Bell boy helped us to carry our luggage and played with my kids while we're waiting for the room. I saw receptionist looks tired but still giving us a smile. I didnt expect sweet smile as long as they never neglect us as a guest. As a human being its normal sometimes we forgot to smile (especially in stress mood).

Afternoon around 3pm me and my husband accompany my kids at the beach and my 3 years daughter points on something in the sea and walked closer. Surprisingly its Sea Otter swimming around the sea side catch small fish.

I guess those cute creatures visits for the first time since everyone seems distracted and excited.
Thank God for the awesome day.

staying there for 3 days one night was owesome. Ignore all the bad review and be pessimistic. Give more expect less.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Floevincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I can understand why some reviews are not as good as they should be, but having travelled extensively in Malaysia I recongnise that this resort is good relatively.

We had a lovely stay. The food was excellent, staff very friendly, the beach lovely the pools were fun and the prices reasonable.
I did feel the outside of the resort was a little tired, but the rooms were comfortable and more updated than the outside. Given the environmental conditions of that part of the world it seems to be par for the course.

In my opinion this resorts biggest down fall is its location. It is far out, so do hire a car if you're the kind of traveller who likes to explore.

I would recommend this property.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NatalieF101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews