We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sea view, Poor room maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 9 February 2012

It's a quick getaway destination from Kuching city, only 45 minutes drive. The kids loved playing in the sand which I'm glad to report were free of sand flies during the time of our visit (Jan 2012). The view of the sea from the main swimming pool was beautiful. Though some of the other reviews mentioned that the rooms were recently refurbished, I personally found them quite run down. My family stayed in 2 rooms and both were equally worn out. We had a good time at the beach but the rooms left much to be desired.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floors facing the main pool. It's less noisy the higher up you go and you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank meals1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 239 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

If you want to get away from the city and shopping, then this is a place for you as it is away from Kuching city. We stayed in this resort for 3 nights in Feb 2012. The deluxe room is clean. The resort is lovely with a stunning sea view. There are 2 wings in the resort- SPA Wing and Ocean Wing.
We stayed in the SPA Wing which is facing the main pool and good sea view if you are staying higher level and it is much calm than Ocean Wing which is facing children pool and might not suitable for some people who want to escape from children screaming in the morning.
The breakfast is basic local & western delight and we advice you to come early as they are very bad to top up the foods. The staff need to improve in their service. Service in restaurant is slow and it will be nice to see the staff smile & chat to the customers and happy with their job. The massage is very expensive.
We advice you to bring or buy your own liquors as the price in the bar is expensive. The small shop in the resort is a joke as they are selling too expensive things. A bottle of mineral water cost Rm 8. Much better if you can get your personal stuff before coming to this resort.
If you are fed-up with the restaurant foods in the resort, there is a seafood restaurant at Damai Centre which is 5 mins walk from the resort. You can visit the culture centre or rainforest which is also 5 mins walk from the resort.
Overall, we love this resort because of the sea view. If only they can improve in their service and the standard of the food and bar, the resort will be a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the SPA Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracomsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed there in April 2011. I had to check-in late in the afternoon after I realised my room at the Permai Rainforest was inhabitable. The staff, although they drove me to Permai hotel (some 800 meters away) to pick-up my luggage, was somehow not friendly, and made me feel quite uncomfortable. I am a female journalist and am used to travelling alone even in remote places. This hotel could be a lovely hotel, and it is certainly a great alternative compared to Permai Rainforest. It is unfortunately run down, and I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SEVERINE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

In January 2011 our family stayed at Damai Puri. We had a sea facing connecting room for two adults and three children (aged 11, 10 and 6). the entrance to this resort is one of the most amazing I have seen.

I was a little worried that it might not be all that fantastic after reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor but have to say we were all very very happy with every aspect of the stay. staff were always friendly and helpful. The resort was lovely, although quiet, due to the wet season I was told. We loved it being quiet as we had the magnificent kids pool to ourselves. Our kids spent hours on the water slides and in the pool.

The breakfast buffet was fantastic, with fresh food and a great variety of different cuisines.

We did feel rather like movie stars staying in a secluded resort, rather than a family on holidays.

Yes, parts of the hotel do look a little tired but we felt this was minor - the odd pool tile missing in the kids pool and the viewing deck closed - and certainly did not take away from our experience.

If you want a quiet, relaxing, friendly resort during the wet months, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor in a connecting room. This worked really well for our family as it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Before we decide for our vacation, I saw a bad review for this resort and I wonder is it for real? I shouldnt choose to stay in this resort but makes me curious.

Once we reach there, Bell boy helped us to carry our luggage and played with my kids while we're waiting for the room. I saw receptionist looks tired but still giving us a smile. I didnt expect sweet smile as long as they never neglect us as a guest. As a human being its normal sometimes we forgot to smile (especially in stress mood).

Afternoon around 3pm me and my husband accompany my kids at the beach and my 3 years daughter points on something in the sea and walked closer. Surprisingly its Sea Otter swimming around the sea side catch small fish.

I guess those cute creatures visits for the first time since everyone seems distracted and excited.
Thank God for the awesome day.

staying there for 3 days one night was owesome. Ignore all the bad review and be pessimistic. Give more expect less.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Floevincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.5 km away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#14 of 55 in Kuching
721 reviews
22.5 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,639 reviews
22.4 km away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#28 of 55 in Kuching
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
The Marian Boutique Lodging House
21.9 km away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.3 km away
Permai Rainforest Resort
Permai Rainforest Resort
#10 of 55 in Kuching
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damai Puri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Puri Resort & Spa

Address: Damai Puri Resort & Spa Teluk Penyuk | PO Box 3058, Kuching 93762, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $60 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Damai Puri Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting Damai Beach at the foot of Mount Santubong in Kuching, Malaysia, Damai Puri Resort & Spa spans 207 elegant guestrooms, and boasts a Spa Village, 600-capacity ballroom, exhaustive recreation facilities, and 2 restaurants and 3 bars. It also hosts numerous activities for kids, couples, leisure travelers, and big groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Damai Puri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Puri Hotel Kuching
Damai Puri Resort And Spa
Damai Puri Resort & Spa Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing