We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maafushivaru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maafushivaru
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Southern Ari Atoll
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Splendid resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We (two adults and three kids, aged 11, 9, and 9) have just returned from our first week in the Maldives - it won't be our last... The trip was fairly last-minute (booked three weeks before leaving) so our travel agent only gave us the option of about five islands. We whittled it down to Maafushivaru and another island called Gangehi. In the end we plumped for Maafushivaru as we were concerned about reports of sand erosion in Gangehi. However, we also read reports after booking in which the cuisine in Maafushivaru was criticised as being sub-standard. We really enjoy good food so were a little concerned...
As this was our first trip to the Maldives, we had no benchmark for comparison. Nevertheless, I can say with some confidence that criticism of the cuisine must have been from reviewers either of the most rarified culinary taste (accepting Michelin-grade food only), or someone who "can't be doing with all that foreign muck". We found the food to be very good. Each evening was themed for different national cuisines (italian, american, maldivian, etc) but this constituted only a fraction of what was available on the buffet - there was a constant array of differing curries (the daal was especially good), and a good range of salads, fruits, and desserts, plus some standard pasta for the more ingrained italian guests.
What else? We spent five nights in a deluxe beach villa in order to accommodate the whole family in a single unit, and the last two days in two adjacent water villas. The latter were very well appointed and the view directly on to the lagoon was fantastic, but we were unfortunately placed in units facing in a north-east direction - less sun, and an enthusiastic wind blowing straight into the rooms, which could cause doors to slam shut with alarming force (luckily no little fingers were caught in the door frames). The luxury beach villa was superb. More generously dimensioned, with your own small pool (which our twins used too much, preferring this to the stunning beach... wierdos!), great bathrooms, and like I said, a great sandy beach just outside the enclosure, with our own sunbeds. So, although the idea of the water villa does appeal, we definitely preferred the beach villa.
We used the excellently equipped sports center a few times (elliptic, bike, and treadmill, plus weights). The main bar was very relaxing and the staff there (and elsewhere on the island) were charming and helpful. Oddly, the "infinity pool" was hardly ever used. Not sure why not.
Lastly, we went snorkelling around the house reef each day. The interesting part extends about half way round the island, at least as far as I could tell. We were told it was a goodish reef but not the best. Again, because we had no benchmark, we couldn't pass judgement on this, but all I can say is we passed many pleasant hours drifting above it, with enough to see to induce this reviewer to make nearly 1000 snaps with his Canon Sureshot D10 waterproof camera.
In summary, a great place to visit, also for families - lots of excursions organized, very friendly service. And GOOD food!

Room Tip: Beach villas facing west on this triangle-shaped island are quietest, have least wind, and the delux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WiPhi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    120
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
65
618
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Just come back from 2 weeks in the Maldives - a week on the Atoll Explorer and a week on Maafushivaru. We loved the Atoll Explorer and found Maafushivaru a bit quiet by comparison, however it is a beautiful island - and ideal for anyone on their honeymoon.
We were in a beach villa, which was gorgeous - loads of room, huge bed with lovely bed linen, Lavazza coffee machine, kettle, tea bags, coffee pods, mini-bar with soft drinks and water, inside bathroom with indoor shower and two sinks, but also an outdoor shower - and a washing line - handy for drying wet swim gear. It had a large deck area outside with two sun-beds and four chairs. Also two sun beds on the beach just in front of the villa.
The food was very varied and pretty good quality. The AI drinks menu was enormous and included european branded spirits like Gordons gin and Johnnie Walker scotch.
There was a good range of snorkelling excursions, but they were a bit expensive - we paid $35 each to go to manta point - we did see mantas and swim with them - only juveniles, but still very exciting.
One real plus with the island was the number of birds. There was a grey heron, a little blue heron, a few little terns that were fascinating to watch diving for fish, quite a few little black and white birds that roamed around the island 'burbling' and looking for insects as well as crows and fruit bats.
The snorkelling was good, but there was a strong current and, on our first few days, a lot of wind which made the water very choppy. It was also good to go in the dohni (free) across to Lonubo and snorkel off the jetty there which was calmer and there were a lot of fish - and many squid.
The down-side for us was that the bar was very quiet in the evening - a lot of people seemed to go to bed straight after dinner (maybe too many honeymooners!) so there were very few people in the bar. Coming from the house party atmosphere of the Atoll Explorer we found it a bit too quiet for us.
Emma, the Kuoni rep was very helpful and staff could not do enough for you. Nissan in the bar, a Philipino lady, was brilliant, and whenever we had a problem it was fixed instantly (for example we found two or three loose bits on our decking and these were rubbed down and filled straight away).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelfanaticsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed for 14 days here from Boxing Day onwards and the hotel did a great job celebrating New Years Eve-recommend it fi you're thinking ahead to 2012/13
The island is small enough to walk around in 7 minutes and it has everyting the larger islands offer. Rooms are well maintained and pool/bar areas are ideal as a break from the beautiful sandy beaches.
Unless you are a party animal avoid rooms 127/128 and 129 as you'll hear music 'til late every other night.
Food is OK but I wouldn't rave about it. Infact the buffet meals should offer something for everyone but they often don't unless you eat salads a lot! If I could improve this island, they lack bar snacks or room service which if added, would make this 5*

Room Tip: Don't go all inclusive unless you are a big drinker
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Maafushivaru deserves the rave reviews it gets. It is a compact island but with enough space to never feel inhibited. We were there for 10 days and really enjoyed the place, the lovely staff and the excellent house reef for snorkelling. Excursions were good and not too expensive. Meals are buffet style and while it could not be called gourmet standard, the flavours were good and varied and you had the feeling they were really trying to provide a good spread. The All Inclusive option is definately the thing to take.

Maafushivaru does not try to provide the latest fashionable resort addition or underwater restaurant but as regular Maldives fans we would say it is a lovely place to chill out and enjoy. There was a good mix of nationalities and no noisy groups!

Room Tip: Water villas on the sunset side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank profp42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Just returned from our vacation on Maafushivaru. What can I say, everything was perfect. The hospitality is outstanding. Special thanks to Manu, Nissan and Hassan. The island is petit and nicely planted. We enjoeyed beeing barefoot the whole time while there. We're on an all inclusive package and had more than enough possibilities for eating and snacking. Drinks and cocktails were delicious. The only point which could be improved is the food. Don't get me wrong quality is good and every evening you have different choices but maybe they could work on it a bit.
Snorkeling around the island is great and you can see so many corals and fish. But one great offer you have at Maafushivaru are the excellent snorkeling excursions every day. Thanks to Niv they become a haunting memory. We'll return for sure!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southern Ari Atoll hotels
36.2 km away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
7.0 km away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
3.2 km away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 km away
Diamonds Thudufushi
Diamonds Thudufushi
#1 of 1 in Thudufushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
12.2 km away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,713 reviews
2.5 km away
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Centara Grand Island Resort & Sp...
#1 of 1 in Centara Grand Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maafushivaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maafushivaru

Property: Maafushivaru
Address:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Southern Ari Atoll
#10 Spa Hotel in Southern Ari Atoll
#11 Luxury Hotel in Southern Ari Atoll
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Southern Ari Atoll
Price range (per night): $874 - $2,134
Hotel Class:5 star — Maafushivaru 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reached by a picturesque flight over the mysterious atolls of the Maldives, Maafushivaru is a quiet island knitted with lush flora surrounded by pure white sandy beaches and incredible turquoise lagoon. Next to the resort is the tiny desert island of Lonubo, exclusive to Maafushivaru guests. A visit to this beautiful island is a must. You can choose from daily visits for basking in the sun and snorkeling the beautiful reef, or ultimately book to stay overnight, an island just for you and your beloved, even if only for a night. Slumber at your choice of three distinct villas. Beach Villas are sited on postcard perfect beaches whilst the Water Villas are built on stilts over the Indian Ocean providing sunset and sunrise vistas that will be forever etched in your memory. For a fun filled holiday, the Pool Villa is the right pick for families or friends travelling together, featuring two separate villas with a shared pool. Summon the bon vivant inside of you with the delectable fare. Cuisine Gallery showcases a potpourri of dishes from all over the world. While 135° East is your key for an authentic Japanese cuisine displaying the art of teppanyaki and the hibachi steakhouse. Sip favourite sunset cocktails at Water Bar with eclectic evening entertainment ranging from Maldivian evenings, to laser shows and disco nights under the starlit sky. Located on the water’s edge, instill a sense of calm and quietude at the Spa with signature product line Voya focusing on healing therapies and rituals. Explore rich underwater life on the house reefs of Maafushivaru and Lonubo, where fish teem and corals bloom colourfully. Dive with whale sharks and mantas in famed spots down south. Discover the epitome of Maldives – Maafushivaru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Maafushivaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maafushivaru Hotel South Ari Atoll
Maafushivaru Tclub Hotel
Maafushivaru Maldives/Southern Ari Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing