We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rangali Island
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply Paradise”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Conrad for 14 days in Jan/Feb. we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone wanting tranquility, luxury, good food and relaxation.
From the minute we collected our suit cases after passport control we were met by a Conrad representative and were taken to our bus which took us to the water-plane terminal and Conrad Lounge. At the lounge we were checked in and given a fruit drink and asked to help ourselves to the breakfast buffet, we unfortunately didn't have time for breakfast as we wanted to change before boarding the water-plane as it was very warm.
The sea-plane trip was good but not brilliant as it wasn't a clear day and the views weren't that spectacular. We had been to the Maldives before but it was to the North and I think the views were better.
When we arrived at Rangali we were met by our lovely host Sophie, we were taken to the reception area where we sat outside in the shade. Sophie went over our reservation and told us everything we needed to know about the island and explained to us if there was anything at all she could help us with we were to call her on her mobile - a nice touch. We did need to call her for restaurant reservations and we also had a few problems with our air conditioning which she dealt with very quickly. It was always nice to see our host on the passing as she always acknowledged and spoke to us if she could.
We stayed in a beach villa and a deluxe beach villa during our stay. We thought the beach villa was good and more than adequate, we loved the outdoor bathroom but the area with the washand basins did get very hot during the day with the sun, as a result of this it was too warm to leave some toiletries out so we stored them in the walk-in wardrobe which is air conditioned.
The only real negative we found was the door on the walk-in wardrobe, it had to be closed for the a/c to function properly - very irritating at times. Apart from that the villa was beautiful and we loved the patio with our own sun beds and table & chairs. The beach was only a few steps away which was lovely &!we could see the colour of the ocean from our patio.
The deluxe beach villa was definately a step up and was stunning. The entrance with the courtyard and outdoor bathroom were amazing and huge, the outdoor shower was really good and quite a different experience. We preferred the deluxe beach villa as it was detached and a bit more private, the Conrad photos don't do it justice. Having our own pool was brilliant as we needed to cool down several times a day as the weather was so good, again the beach was just a short walk away.
We enjoyed our breakfasts at the Atoll Market and couldn't fault it in any way, the staff were brilliant and very attentative. We also had breakfast at Vilu a few times which was a really nice thing to do as we went across to the other island by Dhoni. The breakfast was good but they didn't have the same variety as the Atoll Market.
We had dinner at Vilu twice and thoroughly enjoyed it, we sat on the deck at the bar overlooking the ocean one evening and had our dinner there as we didn't want to move to another table as the view was breathtaking. The food was excellent and the staff were very pleasant.
We dined at the sunset grill several times and couldn't fault it, the staff were very discreet and attentative when necessary.
We only dined at Mandhoo once and were really not that impressed with the food or service. We both had tuna and it very over cooked and not rare as requested. My husband had beef tenderloin for his main and we were shocked at the size of the steak. We knew the portions were going to be smaller but not that small!
Several evenings we ate at Rangali bar which was really good and the staff were amazing especially Athief and Tina, I wish I could remember more names as they were all very pleasant including the manager. We really enjoyed sitting watching the sunsets during the happy hour, the sunsets were spectacular and shouldn't be missed.
There really isn't much I could criticise about Rangali other than the price of the food, we do understand that everything has to be transported from other countries to the island but it is certainly a talking point.
If you are considering going to the Conrad don't hesitate as it really is stunning and a special place. The staff are incredible and would do anything you ask for. We can't wait to go back and have started planning for our return next year.
Thanks to Sophie, Athief and Tina for making our holiday even more special and Conrad keep up the good work as it's certainly working - See you next year.
If I can be of help to anyone please don't hesitate to send me a messge.

Room Tip: Remember to take insect repellant and you really don't need any shoes other than flip flops. EN...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Musttravel93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarimRangali, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comments posted in TripAdvisor. It is so wonderful to read your comments especially when you are commenting on the team members by name. I will certainly share your comments with the team which gives them more pride and motivation.
Sorry that the Mandhoo food qulaity was not up to your standard, allow me to explain the portions in Mandhoo are made purposely in a smaller however healthy size since it is our semi organic/Spa restaurant, based on the five elements, plant, air, earth, fire & water. The concept is that you may order more dishes since some of the dishes are in a smaller size.
On the other hand I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to Rangali in the near future. Best regards
Karim Schadlou, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,731
    244
    97
    28
    20
See reviews for
452
1,298
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My wife and I just got back from our 6th visit to the Conrad Rangali Maldives. All I can say is that it is better than ever and our love for this place and the people there grows bigger all the time. We live in Canada and its a long long way to get there but worth every minute it takes.This is truly the best resort in the world and we have been to many. Pure beauty and luxury with amazing and I mean amazing staff! The food is fantasitic as the Chefs take so much pride in what they do. We are booking again for 2013. There is no doubt it is expensive but when you actually realize where you are on the map you understand why. No cars ,no cement sidewalks , no contruction ,just sandy beaches with with no traffic or smog. Stingrays, Sharks,and Mantarays greet you daily with there grace and beauty. Many of the other guests we talked to had stayed at other Maldivian resorts and eveyone of them said the Conrad was by far the best. Thank you Nasheed for being so attentive and caring. To all the guys at Mandu. We love you and miss you. Thankyou for making us feel so special. Micheal ,stay put we need to learn more about all the worlds best wines as well as laugh with you for hours.We are coming back!!!! Anyone up for a cricket game!

Room Tip: Every Room is amazing. Beach Bungalows are just awsome and the over water Bungalows now have hot tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarimRangali, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear Repeater Guest
Thank you very much for your comments posted in TripAdvisor and I am glad to read that you have stayed with us for the 6th time. We truly appreciate your loyalty.
I also thank you for commeting on several team members which is great to read, certainly I will share your comments with the entire team.
We are looking forward welcoming you back to Conrad Rangali, thank you for making the effort the long way from Canada in 2013.
Best regards, Karim Schadlou, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We went to the maldives back in 2009! Just didn't get round to writing a review. The Conrad was sensational. Not a bad word to say about it. Loved the food although a bit dear well worth it. The breakfast was buffet and lovely food and variety to choose from. I would definitely recommend this for honeymooners or if you just want to get away from everything. We are going back soon, fingers crossed.

Room Tip: Water Villa all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnlyLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Wow what a place. Fantastic hotel, location, service , room, wildlife and staff. Ok the f&B may be a little expensive but you're are on a desert island.. keep it real.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff - you even get your own named concierge and their telephone # when you arrive, so you can call them with any questions or things you want sorted. Did the Shipwreck dining - lobster grilled by your own personal chef, drinking bubbles as the sun sets, could it get any better
Best hotel I’ve stayed in. Read the review about when they left they had tears in their eyes, now I’ve left I can totally understand why. Just want to go back

Room Tip: Sunrise side of the main island if you want a room on the house reef
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wansfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarimRangali, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your wonderful comments in TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to read your comments and as you have already mentioned, our Island Hosts ae trained to be your hosts for personalized service.
Thank you for your wonderful comments - please come back again soon. Best regards
Karim Schadlou
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
171 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed in a water villa and although it was very nice it wasn't as amazing as some places we have stayed.
I had specified before we got there that I like a high level of hygeine. The bathroom was perfect but the bedroom corner sofa was stained and so I didn't want to sit on it.
The cushions for the outdoor sun loungers were in the cupboard when we went to get them out they were covered in stains so we spent the whole honeymoon lying on wooden sun loungers with no cushions. We reported this and askd for them to bring us more but leave the exising ones as we didnt want them dragging over our clothes as they were hung up. They ignored this and took the other ones away. They did offer to move us after a couple more things happened but we only had two more nights and it just wasnt worth it. The final awful part of the experience was we had wedding cash in a pocket of my husbands bag and as it was a 5* resort we werent as cautious as we should of been and didn't lock it in the safe and low and behold it was stolen. We were told that only the maid had been in and it couldn't e him as he had worked there for years. So we never got an answer to this either and it put a dark cloud over the last few days of the honeymoon.
Restaurants here were OK but very very expensive for the quality and the mini bar was ludicrous £5 for a mini tub of pringles...
We had a buffet with different foods one evening and in England it would be £20 a head
here it was almost £200 pp!!! None of the food in any of the restaurants was worth what it cost.
Cocktials were nice and there was an amazing singer but a week here was enough for us any longer and we would of got bored.

Room Tip: Have a villa over water a unique experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank luxuryliker28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarimRangali, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comments placed in TripAdvisor and to be honest i am very surprised to read your feedback but certainly acknowledged.
Certainly my sincere apology that we have not fullfilled your requirements in cleanliness and housekeeping service, it is good to know in order for me to highlight and action this with the team. I am certainly surprised to read about stolen money, I do not have an excuse but as you already mentioned we always suggest to keep all belongings in the safe, that is the reason why we are providing safes in order to be sure to have your belongings in a safe place.
With regards to your F&B experience allow me to explain that our buffet price is in a high pricing league - yes, btw U$ 100++ per person and not over US$ 375 per person - must be a calculation error, cause if you are on a secluded island your costs for delivery, tax, duty and storage are very high. In addition to that please be reminded that we are flying in all our top product twice a week from Europe and Australia, depending on the itemes.
Once again my apology if we have not met your satisfaction however we still look forward wecoming you back in order to prove you that we are the best resort in the world.
Kind regards, Karim Schadlou Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rangali Island
26.2 km away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
29.8 km away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,014 reviews
20.2 km away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 km away
Diamonds Thudufushi
Diamonds Thudufushi
#1 of 1 in Thudufushi Island
767 reviews
23.2 km away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
2,874 reviews
6.3 km away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Maldives Rangali Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Maldives Rangali Island

Property: Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Address: 2034
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Rangali Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rangali Island
Price range (per night): $671 - $3,138
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Maldives Rangali Island 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot luxury meets unpretentious style at this five star hotel in the Maldives. Home to whale sharks, manta rays, dolphins and turtles, Conrad Maldives is set on two islands and is reached by a 30-minute seaplane flight. Select from 12 restaurants and bars including Ithaa Undersea Restaurant, the Cheese Bar featuring 101 of the world's best cheeses, and an underground Wine Cellar with 20,000 bottles of fine wines. Relax at one of two spas or on the beautiful white sand beaches. Go diving and exploring on the many excursions available, including luxurious sunset cruises, big game fishing expeditions and local island hopping trips. Conrad Maldives is included in Conde Nast Traveler's 2013 Gold List of the Best 100 Hotels in the World and The World's 10 Best Beach Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conrad Maldives Rangali Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island Hotel Rangali Island
Conrad Rangali Island
Rangali Island Conrad
Rangali Island Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing