We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Residence Mauritius
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2017

we went as a couple to celebrate our anniversary and stayed for 7nights half board.

upon entrance we were greeted with a ring of a bell and approached by the hotel staff who made us feel welcome and explained the layout and amenities they had to offer. we did get a free upgrade to a ocean view room which was nice and a great start.

as you walk in you get drawn into the open blacony area of the entrance and mesmerised by the colours of the water in the back ground. rooms were very spacious and free water was given daily. breakfast was nice and dinner was a different theme every night in the main dining room and the plantation had a a la carte menu for lunch and dinner.

Most watersports are free to use as a guest we went out on the paddle boat and the glass boat trip which takes you out into the water to view the coral and fishes. i was told on a good day you see sea turtles. We did parasailing which was definitely worth doing the guys on the beach do offer the various sea activities you can do we opted for the parasailing which cost us 2000 rupees which was decent as we got to go up together and enjoy the views as a couple.

The beach has amazing views i couldn't help but to take photos at every chance i got, beautiful clear water and white sandy beaches do make the trip worth the long flight to get there.

I don't usually do resort holidays but this felt different and i didn't mind spending the whole day at the hotel just kicking back and relaxing. All the staff are amazing always greeting you with a smile and going above and beyond, i actually cannot fault the service one bit they do make your trip more pleasurable.

now a few bad bits the drinks are expensive and i don't even drink alcohol, a normal size glass of coke will cost just over £4 and water just over £3 but this is the same water you get given free in the rooms but at dinner service is served in a glass bottle.

overall general costs as i didn't organise transfer upon booking i paid for a taxi at the airport which came to 2400 rupees, i would recommend changing money at the airport as they had better rates than the hotel. i hired a car out there for 2 days the driving is similar to u.k on the left hand side which cost 3200 rupees for the time we had the small car. we drove to chamarel to see the waterfall and 7 coloured earth which was definitely worth seeing. We also went to casela park and did a quad safari which was alot of fun cost of that was around 5300 rupees for entrance and quad bike safari for a hour and walk around the zoo. Taxi from the hotel to bagatelle mall was 2400 rupees can be cheaper if you find a taxi driver outside the hotel or in belle mare town which is 5-10 min walk.

Entertainment is average gets quite boring after a few days but its designed to have that classier feel to it with the jazz and piano being played at dinner. ended up at the lux hotel next door one night as it was more of a upbeat atmosphere.

Overall the good bits outweigh and of the negative comments mentioned it was a great 7 nights actually was sad to leave the place in the end definitely will be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Yousaf_786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for choosing The Residence Mauritius for your holidays and we are immensely pleased to read of your wonderful comments that you shared on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you truly enjoyed your stay at our resort and that our team members met your expectations.

We are thankful for your valued comments on our property and it really gives us immense pleasure to read that you really had an enjoyable and relaxing stay.

We once more reiterate our thanks for your review and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 111 of 1,889 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017

As a group three couples, each with different priorities, we were all very happy with our stay at this lovely hotel. The setting – especially in front of/beside the Plantation restaurant – is very beautiful, and the rooms are spacious and elegant (we were in an ocean view room). The large bathroom, with the walk-in wardrobe and well-stocked toiletries was great too. The food at the Plantation is terrific, with local dishes, catch of the day, Asian specialities and even the freshly-made burgers all being of great quality. We were on an all-inclusive package and had plenty of choice, although it's a shame the minibar is not included. The breakfast buffet was great, with live cooking stations for omelettes, pancakes, etc, but the evening buffet was variable. Evening entertainment was of a good standard, if a little sedate and samey. There were a couple of dance shows too, and these were fun, but in our opinion started too early and clashed with dinner. This is a quiet hotel so don't come here if you are looking for lively nightlife. The water sports and tennis courts were well-used and equipment is of a good standard. The standout aspect of the hotel is the service, which is impeccable throughout. We were impressed that we were treated as individuals, with servers remembering our drinks preferences and room numbers, and generally being very genial and attentive. We were offered the use of the spa facilities to freshen up before catching our evening flight home. This was very welcome and on seeing the spa we wished we'd made use of it! This is our second visit to Mauritius and I would have no hesitation in recommending The Residence for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Our ocean view room overlooking the fountain was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Seagull70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for putting aside some of your precious time to share your holiday experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you have had a wonderful time and had appreciated our service facilities.

We can only thank you for having given us the opportunity to serve you as our guests and provide customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcome you over again for another relaxing stay at
The Residence Mauritius.

Kind Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

The first thing that "hits" you when you arrive at this hotel, is the smell of Ylang Ylang! It is the best smelling hotel I have ever visited! The second thing is the beautiful beach setting. The beach here is stunning. ( I found the beach here more beautiful than the Ile Aux Cerfs ; which was very noisy and very busy. ) The hotel is beautiful and rooms large, spacious and immaculately clean. We chose an Ocean View room and AI package. The AI is worth having and not too complicated once you get the hang of it. The staff here are wonderful! We spent most of our days at the beach outside of the Plantation restaurant, less windy and not too far to walk for lunch! Our long lazy lunches at the Plantation were a real treat and the staff particularly attentive ( thank you for your patience , Nitish and Raj ). As they get to know you, your wine is already chilling as you arrive - that is excellent Customer Service. Even if you book for the evening your wine is waiting on your arrival. The Plantation is relaxed at lunchtime and more formal in the evening. The food here is excellent and choice extensive. The Dining Room is themed buffet and largely very good with a lot of choice. You can't go wrong with the daily fresh fish option! The entertainment starts quite early and finishes early. It is understated and fits the themed evenings, i.e. Dance performances and a live band. There is a piano in the early evening. This is not a noisy hotel. No banging music around the pool or beach - perfect in my opinion. ( if this is your bag, chose the Lux, just down the beach ). The guests are predominantly older or honeymooners. Not many children, although children are welcome and there is a "kids club". Most guests are quiet and keep themselves to themselves. That said, it would have been nice/usual to have a Reception party one evening to give guests an opportunity to "mingle". Our party lacked a 4th person to play tennis doubles - a Reception party sometimes gives opportunity to meet like minded individuals. My husband is not a beach dweller and spent most of his day playing tennis/ golf / windsurfing / catamaran / laser / wakeboarding / pedallo ( well that was for me!). The sport facilities were, on the whole excellent, although for the wind conditions, my expert tells me, a 6.5m wind surf sail would have helped the planing in less windy conditions- oh and the grip on the boom was a bit tired and worn. Wi Fi is hit and miss unless you pay. Definitely do a catamaran trip - George on the beach will sort you out. I regret not using the spa facilities- some of the best I have ever seen- the reason I did not use them is that I usually opt for a combined face and body treatment, I didn't see this on the treatments menu, I think I missed out! We had a late flight and had to check out at midday. We were able to stay on the beach all day and welcome to use the Spa facilities to shower and change before our flight, which made a fitting and relaxed conclusion to our holiday.I loved this hotel, the staff and Mauritius. It is a beautiful island and I will definitely return.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Sir/Madam

We thank you for writing your review on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to read that you did enjoy your stay at The Residence Mauritius and your kind words are indeed the best reward to us and a motivation for our team in going the extra mile to exceed our guest's expectations.

We reiterate our thanks for choosing our resort for your recent holidays and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in a not too distant future.

Thank you and kind regards,


The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Amazing beach in front of the hotel.
Very helpful staff. Well prepared.
Great restaurants and overall infrastructure.
Big and clean room.
We spent a really good time there. Fully recommend The Residence.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jhdamata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Sir/Madam

We thank you for choosing our resort for your holidays and for writing a review on Trip Advisor.

We are very appreciative for your kind comment and are delighted to note that you truly had an amazing time during your holidays.

We reiterate our thanks for your visit and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Just had a fabulous week at The Residence. Plantation restaurant was amazing with wonderful staff who looked after us very well. Buffet restaurant was excellent for breakfast but for dinner we found the food ok. Beach and facilities were good. Staff very attentive. Having to pay 50€ for a week of decent Wi-fi for a hotel of this quality was a bit much. All inclusive is not as all inclusive as one might expect for example mini bar all inclusive was soft drinks only and you were charged for milk for tea! It didn’t spoil our week we had more than enough for what we wanted from the all inclusive package. If you are interested in deep see fishing find Gilbert on the beach. He knows his stuff. Had two good trips out with him. Recommend the Catameran trip booked with George on the beach.


  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank bluebell1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for sparing some of your precious time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

Your feedbacks are so essential for us to measure our service quality and for our continuing improvement process in our quest to excellence.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall stay at our resort and it’s really motivating for our team members to receive such positive feedback

We reiterate our thanks for your visit with us and the comments full of praises and
sincerely look forward to have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
56.8 km away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,087 reviews
25.1 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,470 reviews
30.8 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,406 reviews
44.9 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,633 reviews
51.8 km away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Mauritius

Address: Coastal Rd, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: $295 - $1,209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Mauritius is situated on the east coast of Mauritius along a mile-long beach of immaculate white sand, fringed by the azure Indian Ocean and tropical gardens - an idyllic retreat for your unreserved relaxation. Inspired by the island's stately turn-of-the-century plantation houses, this luxury Mauritius resort blends modern elegance with classic, colonial style that envelops you in an endearing sense of nostalgia. Live like royalty in rooms that radiate luxurious comfort and charm, with attentive service worthy of the grand colonial houses of yesteryear. Dine on exotic cuisine that captures the incredible potpourri of island flavours. Discover new secrets to soulful relaxation within our serene spa sanctuary, and an endless playground of attractions and activities to be found in the island's unique mix of cultures and stunning landscapes. Whether you seek a romantic escape with your loved one or a spectacular beach getaway with your family, The Residence Mauritius will enthrall you under the warm glow of the Mauritian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Residence Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Belle Mare
Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing