We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Orchid Villas Mauritius(Belle Mare)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Long Beach Mauritius(Belle Mare)
US$325
US$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emeraude Beach Attitude(Belle Mare)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Eden Villa Hotel Mauritius(Belle Mare)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$94
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$53/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ambre Mauritius(Belle Mare)
US$284
US$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$239
US$173
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Solana Beach(Belle Mare)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$207
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$435
US$367
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,142)
Filter reviews
2,142 results
Traveller rating
1,694
307
104
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,694
307
104
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplantation restaurantyacht clubocean frontylang ylangcolonial stylean ocean view roomrose petal batha la cartecolonial feelour honeymoonhalf boardpersonal butlerbutler servicekids clubiced teaseafood buffetcatamaran cruise
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 2,142 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017

As a group three couples, each with different priorities, we were all very happy with our stay at this lovely hotel. The setting – especially in front of/beside the Plantation restaurant – is very beautiful, and the rooms are spacious and elegant (we were in an ocean view room). The large bathroom, with the walk-in wardrobe and well-stocked toiletries was great too. The food at the Plantation is terrific, with local dishes, catch of the day, Asian specialities and even the freshly-made burgers all being of great quality. We were on an all-inclusive package and had plenty of choice, although it's a shame the minibar is not included. The breakfast buffet was great, with live cooking stations for omelettes, pancakes, etc, but the evening buffet was variable. Evening entertainment was of a good standard, if a little sedate and samey. There were a couple of dance shows too, and these were fun, but in our opinion started too early and clashed with dinner. This is a quiet hotel so don't come here if you are looking for lively nightlife. The water sports and tennis courts were well-used and equipment is of a good standard. The standout aspect of the hotel is the service, which is impeccable throughout. We were impressed that we were treated as individuals, with servers remembering our drinks preferences and room numbers, and generally being very genial and attentive. We were offered the use of the spa facilities to freshen up before catching our evening flight home. This was very welcome and on seeing the spa we wished we'd made use of it! This is our second visit to Mauritius and I would have no hesitation in recommending The Residence for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Our ocean view room overlooking the fountain was lovely and quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Seagull70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for putting aside some of your precious time to share your holiday experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you have had a wonderful time and had appreciated our service facilities.

We can only thank you for having given us the opportunity to serve you as our guests and provide customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcome you over again for another relaxing stay at
The Residence Mauritius.

Kind Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

The first thing that "hits" you when you arrive at this hotel, is the smell of Ylang Ylang! It is the best smelling hotel I have ever visited! The second thing is the beautiful beach setting. The beach here is stunning. ( I found the beach here more beautiful than the Ile Aux Cerfs ; which was very noisy and very busy. ) The hotel is beautiful and rooms large, spacious and immaculately clean. We chose an Ocean View room and AI package. The AI is worth having and not too complicated once you get the hang of it. The staff here are wonderful! We spent most of our days at the beach outside of the Plantation restaurant, less windy and not too far to walk for lunch! Our long lazy lunches at the Plantation were a real treat and the staff particularly attentive ( thank you for your patience , Nitish and Raj ). As they get to know you, your wine is already chilling as you arrive - that is excellent Customer Service. Even if you book for the evening your wine is waiting on your arrival. The Plantation is relaxed at lunchtime and more formal in the evening. The food here is excellent and choice extensive. The Dining Room is themed buffet and largely very good with a lot of choice. You can't go wrong with the daily fresh fish option! The entertainment starts quite early and finishes early. It is understated and fits the themed evenings, i.e. Dance performances and a live band. There is a piano in the early evening. This is not a noisy hotel. No banging music around the pool or beach - perfect in my opinion. ( if this is your bag, chose the Lux, just down the beach ). The guests are predominantly older or honeymooners. Not many children, although children are welcome and there is a "kids club". Most guests are quiet and keep themselves to themselves. That said, it would have been nice/usual to have a Reception party one evening to give guests an opportunity to "mingle". Our party lacked a 4th person to play tennis doubles - a Reception party sometimes gives opportunity to meet like minded individuals. My husband is not a beach dweller and spent most of his day playing tennis/ golf / windsurfing / catamaran / laser / wakeboarding / pedallo ( well that was for me!). The sport facilities were, on the whole excellent, although for the wind conditions, my expert tells me, a 6.5m wind surf sail would have helped the planing in less windy conditions- oh and the grip on the boom was a bit tired and worn. Wi Fi is hit and miss unless you pay. Definitely do a catamaran trip - George on the beach will sort you out. I regret not using the spa facilities- some of the best I have ever seen- the reason I did not use them is that I usually opt for a combined face and body treatment, I didn't see this on the treatments menu, I think I missed out! We had a late flight and had to check out at midday. We were able to stay on the beach all day and welcome to use the Spa facilities to shower and change before our flight, which made a fitting and relaxed conclusion to our holiday.I loved this hotel, the staff and Mauritius. It is a beautiful island and I will definitely return.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Sir/Madam

We thank you for writing your review on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to read that you did enjoy your stay at The Residence Mauritius and your kind words are indeed the best reward to us and a motivation for our team in going the extra mile to exceed our guest's expectations.

We reiterate our thanks for choosing our resort for your recent holidays and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in a not too distant future.

Thank you and kind regards,


The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Amazing beach in front of the hotel.
Very helpful staff. Well prepared.
Great restaurants and overall infrastructure.
Big and clean room.
We spent a really good time there. Fully recommend The Residence.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jhdamata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Sir/Madam

We thank you for choosing our resort for your holidays and for writing a review on Trip Advisor.

We are very appreciative for your kind comment and are delighted to note that you truly had an amazing time during your holidays.

We reiterate our thanks for your visit and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Just had a fabulous week at The Residence. Plantation restaurant was amazing with wonderful staff who looked after us very well. Buffet restaurant was excellent for breakfast but for dinner we found the food ok. Beach and facilities were good. Staff very attentive. Having to pay 50€ for a week of decent Wi-fi for a hotel of this quality was a bit much. All inclusive is not as all inclusive as one might expect for example mini bar all inclusive was soft drinks only and you were charged for milk for tea! It didn’t spoil our week we had more than enough for what we wanted from the all inclusive package. If you are interested in deep see fishing find Gilbert on the beach. He knows his stuff. Had two good trips out with him. Recommend the Catameran trip booked with George on the beach.


  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank bluebell1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for sparing some of your precious time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

Your feedbacks are so essential for us to measure our service quality and for our continuing improvement process in our quest to excellence.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall stay at our resort and it’s really motivating for our team members to receive such positive feedback

We reiterate our thanks for your visit with us and the comments full of praises and
sincerely look forward to have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We stayed here in September 2017. Beautiful setting, nice enough room, slightly tired but clean. The food is fairly samey and if you are a vegetarian there is a VERY limited choice particularly when it comes to a la carte in the restaurants. I did find some of the restaurant staff slightly unprofessional, lots of flapping in sight of the guests, not overly accommodating and the food, particularly lunch, seemed to take a very long time to arrive. Drinks are expensive but that's to be expected and was no surprise. For a five star hotel and such a pricey one some things were a little disappointing. Overall though a very nice place, mainly down to location.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HelenNapoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for sharing your comments, which will certainly assist us to constantly enhancing our service quality.

We understand your views and concerns over customer expectations and you may rest assured that all the points you highlighted have been taken into consideration and appropriate measures have been implemented to enhance those needy areas.

We reiterate our thanks for your valued comments.

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews