We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Pirogue Mauritius
Nearby Hotels
US$224
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$896
US$352
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$247
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$323
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gold Beach Resort(Flic En Flac)
US$237
US$205
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aanari Hotel & Spa(Flic En Flac)
US$142
US$110
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Beach Mauritius(Flic En Flac)
US$285
US$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Anelia Resort & Spa(Flic En Flac)
US$320
US$133
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manisa Hotel(Flic En Flac)
US$93
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Caroline(Flic En Flac)
US$184
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,457)
Filter reviews
3,457 results
Traveller rating
2,397
804
184
48
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,397
804
184
48
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barblue barsister hotel sugar beachthatched bungalowscoconut cafesugar beach next doormini golfour honeymoonpaul virginiehalf boardpalm treesall inclusive packagestandard roombeautiful beachkids clubmini barcrazy golf
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 3,457 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Nice beach. The staff is helpful and friendly. I liked how spacious the whole resort is. I don't know whether the cocktail night happens every week but it was wonderful, the atmosphere was very good! They have different kind of buffet every night which is fantastic. Lovely breakfast buffet as well.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TanyaL117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear TanyaL117,

Thanks for the online feedback. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay.

Surely, our associates are the main pillar and we do recognize their daily efforts in making your stay a memorable one. I am delighted to know that they were helpful and friendly to you.

The hosted management cocktail is held every week as it is a way for the management team to meet our in-house guests and get to know of how comfortable you are the Resort.

I assure you to pass on your motivating feedback to the entire team so as to maintain our level of service.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we await your next visit to make it an even more delightful experience.

Warm regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Good points are the fabulous beach, and the spacious, attractive grounds. Also highly recommend the catamaran trip offered through the hotel - very good value for a whole day trip of snorkelling and swimming off the boat, a barbecue lunch, and unlimited drinks.
Bad points - our bathroom was ropey - old, low powered shower etc. I gather there are some better ones in refurbished rooms. And mealtimes were a nightmare. The food is mediocre, and the throngs of jostling people at the buffet make it feel like a motorway service station. The experience is a bit better in the a la carte restaurant (your meal allowance will cover two courses for most of the choices) although the food is no better.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank obaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Obaker,

I am delighted to read that our facilities and services were to your conveniences and have taken the liberty of sharing your feedback with all my reports as well as the team members.

However, I was sorry for the inconvenience you had with the shower and would like to reassure you that with the upcoming renovation this issue will permanently resolve.

Moreover, your comments on the food at the buffet were passed on to the Executive Chef for his actions. We regret to read your disappointment in this regard.

Thanks again for your comments which are always useful in ensuring that we are focused on areas needing our attention. We hope together with the completion of the renovation, we can fully convince you during your next stay of our close attention to maintaining the highest quality standards.

Kind regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Set in beautiful lush surroundings with enormous grounds covered by 1800 palm trees, absolute tranquillity, peaceful. Food outstanding as is the staff and service.
All rooms so private and individual with fantastic beach/seaview.
Thanks to the food and beverage staff in particular Prayag and Sevin the sommelier.
Great job guys, thanks.
Uys & Delia

Room Tip: The bungalow rooms are great but the superior rooms are stunning. All Quiet & private.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Uys901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Dear Uys901,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us recently and for leaving a feedback online.

We really appreciate your positive comments on the atmosphere at the Resort, the service and our fine food. It is true that the entire team work really hard to provide you with their best service ever and your kind acknowledgement of their efforts is a real motivator for them to perform even better.

We hope you will continue to support and recommend us to your family and friends. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back at the Resort after the renovation.

Thanks and regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

We visited in May 2017 for our honeymoon. This place has an ideal location right on the beach. The thatched lodges, gardens and infinity pool right on the beach look idyllic. We were All Inclusive so when selecting drinks and food at some of the restaurants you need to look for things that have a green star, but there was loads to chose from and this wasn't a problem. There are paddle boards, pedalos, snorkeling and mini golf all complementary to hotel guests and they supply beach towels too. There are a couple of small shops 100 yards or so away, or a SPAR about a mile away which can be walked to along the beach in the direction of Flic en Flac. Our only comment for improvement was that we could have done with a list of the times the restaurants were open for food as after a long flight we forgot the information given to us at check-in.

Room Tip: You have access to the restaurants at neighbouring Sugar Beach. Citronella is recommended and AI but book early as it's reservation only.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seliza00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear Seliza00,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

With its charming thatched Mauritian bungalows, beautiful lush gardens and the immense sandy beach La Pirogue is a dream destination for those who want to spend their honeymoon or even hold their wedding in Mauritius in paradise and as a team, we always try to provide guests a memorable stay and make their experience unforgettable.

As for the opening and closing time of our restaurant, I would like to highlight that these information are available in the Gazette found in the room.

Thank you so much for highlighting all the positive aspect of your stay at La Pirogue and we sincerely hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

I have stayed at La Pirogue several times, it is a great hotel to take friends and family who are new to the charms of Mauritius. Each of the the rooms are in set indvidually in beautiful thatched cottages setting it apart from other luxury hotels on a Island of superb hotels, giving your holiday a more authentic feel. I would say this is probably one of the best 4* hotels you can get, the beach is of course lovely, the pool is great, the bars and restaurants wonderful. The breakfast and dinner buffets were great, so much varied choice, amazing starters, mains and salads arranged in wonderful displays. The entertainment is a very enjoyable if sometimes a touch tacky but a great fun feature nonetheless. Do not expect all of the bells and whistles/ pomp and ceremony of some of the island's 5* hotels but I highly recomend La Pirogue for romantic setting, stunning grounds, great customer service, huge arrays of food, entertainment and vibe. I am Mauritian and visit the Island very single year and when I wanted to introduce my new husband to the delights of the island during his first ever visit I chose La Pirogue out of all the wonderful hotels I personally visited and knew the Island has to offer. That says a lot

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Reena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear Reena E,

Thank you very much for highlighting that the delightfully relaxed atmosphere as well as the generosity and attention of the staff have made the reputation of this warm and friendly hotel beyond compare.

I am glad that you enjoyed the facilities we afford our guests and that had an unforgettable stay with us at the Resort.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at La Pirogue for your holiday and we sincerely hope you will choose to stay at the Resort again.

Warm Regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews