We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Managers very good at damage control...but they have to be.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Day one, over the top screaming kids at pool by nine a.m. Parents making no effort to control them, and hotel staff allowing this disruption to the rest of the guests. Complained to mgmt. Upgraded to adults only section...lovely gesture. New room - Sink clogged. Shower clogged. Fixed quickly...Grateful. Day two room service delivered cold. Day four breakfast order messed up...I had ordered the same meal for the past three breakfasts. Day four room service delivered cold. Day five breakfast order messed up for my travel partner...she had ordered the same meal for the past three days. Day five room service brought the wrong bill AND forgot half the order they tried to charge me for. Day five a staff member tried to enter our room from the garden...we happened to be in the room at the time, thankfully.

Other issues: No tour desk on site. Car rental companies on site charged 2000MUR for a car that rents for 1200MUR in other locales. Recommendation: Your first day in town go to Grand Baie. Lots of tour competition and car rental competition. Pick up the brochures and then call to book.

Housekeeping: Great. Valuables were safe in room.
Hotel: Rooms were very dated. We started in a deluxe oceanview in the main hotel and got upgraded to a garden view in the adults-only Nirvana wing. Beds were awful in both rooms with visible indentations in the sagging mattresses. Pillows must be 10 years old, shabby, stuffing has all clumped together inside. Complimentery water on arrival only. Fruit basket on arrival. Complimentary bottle of wine in adult room. Lighting was bad in first room...had to turn TV on for extra light in evenings.

Internet was out for an entire evening and night. Back online in a.m. Signal generally strong.

Bath products were stellar!

Beach: Rocky. Small waves. Take water shoes.

Pools: decent enough.

Staff: Friendly and helpful...the ONLY reason this place gets two stars. There were constant mistakes but they tried graciously to fix them. However, they should have a much better track record of getting things right in the first place.

Restaurant choice: Best of luck if you are vegetarian. you will be eating the same side dishes all week. The Indian restaurant had a good buffet with veg options, and La Faya has one veg option every night. The same grilled vegetables are served every day.

Overall the absolute worst resort I have ever stayed in. I have travelled to forty-three countries, often on budgets while at other times five-starring it the whole way. I do not have champagne tastes but I have standards, and this is the only resort I have stayed in the world over which has not been a pleasant event. Caribbean, Mexico, Seychelles, India, Maldives, Middle East, Thailand, Central America... This resort is NOT a five star resort. I would give it 3.5 at best.

Mauritius in general. Friendly people everywhere. Streets are not labelled well. Maps are a nightmare. Print off google maps if you go anywhere and navigate by counting roundabouts. Driving is easy and safe. Port Louis traffic is not as bad as the books claim it to be. Overall, though, it is cheaper and just easier to do tours here. Bargain hard in the markets, at least fifty percent less than offering price. Some souveniers were really nice, and authentically made in the craft market at Le Caudan in Port Louis.

Room Tip: Chhose a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienIleMaurice, Manager at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Rhonda L,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share your comments and experience feedback.

We would like to inform you that, we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues. Once again, thank you for your observations, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel team, please send an email to 01800.info@lemeridien.com so we may address it with you directly.

With our Best regards,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 93 of 3,159 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017

We arrived on the 8th of August without realising we were in the middle of the Mauritian winter! Although it wasn't freezing, it was windy and rained a few times which reduced the amount of time the warm sunshine and fresh air available on this beautiful Island was experienced.

The Le Meridien is a nice resort that caters to families and I was glad i stayed here. It looks even better than the pictures and I liked that the rooms were right in front of the beach and we were given a ground floor room which was nice since we came with a toddler. Check-in was quick and easy and the porter moved our boxes to our room quickly.

PROS

The room was spacious, had comfortable beds and a large bathroom. The water sports are free and I enjoyed the glassbottom boat ride where we went to see and looked at the marine life in the reef around the resort area. The food at the restaurant was nice with so many choices and i ate so much and couldn't recommend it more.The staff were friendly and had a smile on their faces even as they did their jobs. Special mention go to Abishek and Pamela who did a fantastic job to make us comfortable and got all we needed especially for my toddler. Our housekeeper, Kamini also ensured the room was always tidy even when my little one messed the place up. The stars of the place are the staff! Kudos

CONS

The hotel needs some upgrade as the rooms are a bit dated and could improve the lighting in the room. The lamps aren't enough to brighten the room. They could also do something about the avian invasion during breakfast at the 180o restaurant.

NOTES
We didn't get to use the Cumin or Shells restaurant but I can imagine the food would be as nice as the buffet restaurant. Since the Kids club was for 4 years old and above, my toddler couldn't use it but I saw the kids have lots of fun around the premises.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, Manager at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Fabia M,

Thank you for your fabulous review!

On behalf of the whole team at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, we would like to thank you for having chosen our property to spend your vacation, although as you said, the weather was not so good.

Customer Service is among one of our priorities, and we are pleased to note that our services and the location have met your expectations. Above all, our associates have looked after you so well especially the girls at LM Family. We will certainly pass on your kind words to all of them.

Please rest assured that your observations with regards to the room lighting have been duly noted and appropriate measures will be considered to avoid such situations in the future.

Thank you again for your comments and feedback.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

I visited it on first wedding experience i would it was best , i miss the place , the hospitalty , the food
everything was full on great , they treated as if we are only in india , we were getting everything , taste superb

Stayed: September 2016
Thank mayankgupta26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, Manager at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear mayankgupta26,

Thank you for having chosen our property for your wedding experience.

We are pleased to read that the location as well as the services extended to you were up to your expectations.

We hope you had a nice trip back to India and that you will consider staying with us again in a near future.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We arrived at Le Meridien on the 2nd of August, and was quickly checked in and taken to our room. Our room was beautiful and had a great view of the ocean. It was also within easy access to the resort's facilities, and the room itself had all the facilities that we needed to cater to our 6-month old baby's needs. The hotel delivered excellent service every time, and we had all our needs met. The Guest Relations team at Le Meridien always delivered excellent service and they were always on hand to help us out. They even organized a late check-out at no additional charge, as our baby was a little sleepy at the time. Overall, all the restaurants delivered great food, but overall, Shells Restaurant was simply the best. The team at Shells always delivered excellent service, and they served the best lunches and dinners. The team lead by Benjo, was always on-hand to help out, and their friendliness and willingness to spend time with us and our baby will always live in our memories. Everyone at Shells always went the extra mile, and they were always happy to challenge our taste buds with a wide variety of cocktails and food that wasn't always on the menu. The last night at Le Meridien was indeed extremely special, as Benjo, Noworaj and Rahul went out of their way to decorate a beautiful table just for us. The menu was personalized, and the food and cocktails were out of this world. Service delivery at Shells are top priority, and your happiness are their reward. From the cleaners to the top management, expect excellent service and friendliness throughout. The staff at Le Meridien is passionate about their jobs, and their positive, friendly attitudes are evident that they love what they do. A special shout-out to everyone at Shells (too many amazing people to mention), as well as, the wonderful staff at Guest Relations, who made this holiday amazing! From those at room 238.

Room Tip: Nirvana suites cater for couples. Family rooms on the first floor are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, Manager at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Elana v,

Greetings From Le Meridien Ile Maurice!!

Thank you for taking time to share your wonderful experience with us following your stay at our Resort.

We have taken good note of the exceptional level of service delivered by our team especially at Shells and we can reassure you that this service does come straight from the heart and everybody here is passionate about what they do.

We thank you for your kind words and we will be very happy to convey your gratitude to the whole team.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

ACCOMMODATION: Hotel has great accommodation, rooms are in small houses all located very close to the beach. Even the hotel has a lot of rooms, you always feel like there is only few people, because of good layout of buildings. All rooms are realy spacious (about 50 m2), very clean (cleaned up 2-3x/day), well equipped.
BEACH AND POOL: Beach is nice, warm and not windy, so you can enjoy swimming also during the Maurician winter. And the sunset view there is one of the best I have ever seen! You can walk along the beach to the village in one direction and to other hotel's beach with the view of mountains in the other. Swimming pool was all the time clean and warm.
FOOD AND DRINKS: Food was very tasty, there was variety of high-quality meals. The main restaurant (180 degrees) was great buffet with different thematic cuisine and the best staff, but also other 3 restaurants are worthy to visit. Bayview bar offers good coctails and live music performed by excellent musicians every evening.
SERVICE: All the staff is always smiling, welcoming and helping, nothing is problem for them and they naturally do everything for guests satisfaction. Really the best staff I have ever experienced all over the world.
Spa and animation activities were also available, but we didn't utilize.
We chose this place also for our wedding day during our 10 days stay and I cannot imagine better choice!

Room Tip: If you preffer quiet and privacy, choose Nirvana rooms, that are 16+ with privat garden, bar, restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavlína S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, Manager at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Pavlína S,

Greetings From Le Meridien Ile Maurice!

We are happy to learn that you had a relaxing holiday amongst us and that the services were up to your expectations.

We have well noted your appreciations to those associates who have marked your experience. Please rest assured that we will pass on your kind words to all of them.

Thank you for sharing this wonderful experience with us and we look forward to be of service to you again in a near future.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
30.1 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,585 reviews
0.8 km away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,842 reviews
10.3 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#6 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
15.5 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,820 reviews
1.5 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Ile Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Address: Village Hall Lane, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: $265 - $865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Ile Maurice 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Ile Maurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Mauritius
Le Meridien Pointe Aux Piments
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Le Meridien
Ile Le Maurice Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing