We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Nearby Hotels
Villas Mon Plaisir(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Margarita(Pointe Aux Piments)(Great Value!)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Recif Attitude(Pointe Aux Piments)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunset Reef Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Voile Bleue(Pointe Aux Piments)(Great Value!)
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oberoi, Mauritius(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$527
US$516
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Oaks Villas(Pointe Aux Piments)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fita Residence(Pointe Aux Piments)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,373)
Filter reviews
3,373 results
Traveller rating
1,475
1,133
459
169
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,475
1,133
459
169
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla fayanirvana wingindian restaurantshells restaurantnirvana areanirvana poolbay view barpool barnirvana guestsdegrees restaurantour honeymoonroyal suitecandle light dinnerspecial thanksall inclusive packagewater sportsglass bottom boat
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 3,373 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Le Meridien for 8 nights, at the end of Jul, beginning of Aug 2017. Le Meridien is a very nice resort, located in the village Pointe aux Piments, with great ocean view and very nice beach. The resort has a big beautiful garden with a lot of exotic trees and flowers.
We had a deluxe double room with ocean view. The room was large enough, the barhroom also and had a small balcony. The furniture is nice, but needs some refurbishment.
The resort has 4 restaurants were you can eat at dinner: indian, mediteranean, seafood and continental cuisine. In the continental one they also serve the breakfast. The dinner was very good in all the restaurants, I recommend the seafood and the mediteranean ones. The breakfast is also good, but they could add some more variety for the cold food ( as more types of cheese, proschiuto etc) and more fresh vegetables and fresh juices.
All in all we enjoyed our stay at Le Meridien and we would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, Manager at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Anna609

We acknowledge receipt of your comments following your recent stay at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

We would like to assure you that your comments with regards to food variety have been communicated and discussed with the food production team who is always looking for ways to improve what we offer.

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us. Receiving such comments is one positive way by which we can monitor standards and effect change where necessary.

We hope you will return to us again in the future.

Once again, thank you for your honest feedback.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

stayed in nirvana due to only myself and wife on holiday, rooms comfortable and clean housekeeping very good in twice a day. Good selection of restaurants but La Faya our favourite good food and staff very friendly and polite always, staff in Narvana pool bar friendly at all times with service of drinks and food. Hired a scooter on site which cost around £17 for the day in good condition but not new but definitely a good way to see some of the island and especially the beaches around Grand Baie. Weather good but not too hot but only what we expected after doing our homework on Mauritius before booking knew it was winter.

Room Tip: Narvana suites best for couples only.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MartinE355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, Manager at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear MartinE355,

We thank you for your fabulous review.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the perfect holiday experience and above all,
that we met your expectations.

Your great feedback make the team feel very valued and the same has been shared with all the associates. This will indeed motivate them to persevere on this track of service excellence for each of our valued guests.

Looking forward to see you in a near future.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Day one, over the top screaming kids at pool by nine a.m. Parents making no effort to control them, and hotel staff allowing this disruption to the rest of the guests. Complained to mgmt. Upgraded to adults only section...lovely gesture. New room - Sink clogged. Shower clogged. Fixed quickly...Grateful. Day two room service delivered cold. Day four breakfast order messed up...I had ordered the same meal for the past three breakfasts. Day four room service delivered cold. Day five breakfast order messed up for my travel partner...she had ordered the same meal for the past three days. Day five room service brought the wrong bill AND forgot half the order they tried to charge me for. Day five a staff member tried to enter our room from the garden...we happened to be in the room at the time, thankfully.

Other issues: No tour desk on site. Car rental companies on site charged 2000MUR for a car that rents for 1200MUR in other locales. Recommendation: Your first day in town go to Grand Baie. Lots of tour competition and car rental competition. Pick up the brochures and then call to book.

Housekeeping: Great. Valuables were safe in room.
Hotel: Rooms were very dated. We started in a deluxe oceanview in the main hotel and got upgraded to a garden view in the adults-only Nirvana wing. Beds were awful in both rooms with visible indentations in the sagging mattresses. Pillows must be 10 years old, shabby, stuffing has all clumped together inside. Complimentery water on arrival only. Fruit basket on arrival. Complimentary bottle of wine in adult room. Lighting was bad in first room...had to turn TV on for extra light in evenings.

Internet was out for an entire evening and night. Back online in a.m. Signal generally strong.

Bath products were stellar!

Beach: Rocky. Small waves. Take water shoes.

Pools: decent enough.

Staff: Friendly and helpful...the ONLY reason this place gets two stars. There were constant mistakes but they tried graciously to fix them. However, they should have a much better track record of getting things right in the first place.

Restaurant choice: Best of luck if you are vegetarian. you will be eating the same side dishes all week. The Indian restaurant had a good buffet with veg options, and La Faya has one veg option every night. The same grilled vegetables are served every day.

Overall the absolute worst resort I have ever stayed in. I have travelled to forty-three countries, often on budgets while at other times five-starring it the whole way. I do not have champagne tastes but I have standards, and this is the only resort I have stayed in the world over which has not been a pleasant event. Caribbean, Mexico, Seychelles, India, Maldives, Middle East, Thailand, Central America... This resort is NOT a five star resort. I would give it 3.5 at best.

Mauritius in general. Friendly people everywhere. Streets are not labelled well. Maps are a nightmare. Print off google maps if you go anywhere and navigate by counting roundabouts. Driving is easy and safe. Port Louis traffic is not as bad as the books claim it to be. Overall, though, it is cheaper and just easier to do tours here. Bargain hard in the markets, at least fifty percent less than offering price. Some souveniers were really nice, and authentically made in the craft market at Le Caudan in Port Louis.

Room Tip: Chhose a room at a different hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienIleMaurice, Manager at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Rhonda L,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share your comments and experience feedback.

We would like to inform you that, we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues. Once again, thank you for your observations, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel team, please send an email to 01800.info@lemeridien.com so we may address it with you directly.

With our Best regards,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We arrived on the 8th of August without realising we were in the middle of the Mauritian winter! Although it wasn't freezing, it was windy and rained a few times which reduced the amount of time the warm sunshine and fresh air available on this beautiful Island was experienced.

The Le Meridien is a nice resort that caters to families and I was glad i stayed here. It looks even better than the pictures and I liked that the rooms were right in front of the beach and we were given a ground floor room which was nice since we came with a toddler. Check-in was quick and easy and the porter moved our boxes to our room quickly.

PROS

The room was spacious, had comfortable beds and a large bathroom. The water sports are free and I enjoyed the glassbottom boat ride where we went to see and looked at the marine life in the reef around the resort area. The food at the restaurant was nice with so many choices and i ate so much and couldn't recommend it more.The staff were friendly and had a smile on their faces even as they did their jobs. Special mention go to Abishek and Pamela who did a fantastic job to make us comfortable and got all we needed especially for my toddler. Our housekeeper, Kamini also ensured the room was always tidy even when my little one messed the place up. The stars of the place are the staff! Kudos

CONS

The hotel needs some upgrade as the rooms are a bit dated and could improve the lighting in the room. The lamps aren't enough to brighten the room. They could also do something about the avian invasion during breakfast at the 180o restaurant.

NOTES
We didn't get to use the Cumin or Shells restaurant but I can imagine the food would be as nice as the buffet restaurant. Since the Kids club was for 4 years old and above, my toddler couldn't use it but I saw the kids have lots of fun around the premises.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, Manager at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Fabia M,

Thank you for your fabulous review!

On behalf of the whole team at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, we would like to thank you for having chosen our property to spend your vacation, although as you said, the weather was not so good.

Customer Service is among one of our priorities, and we are pleased to note that our services and the location have met your expectations. Above all, our associates have looked after you so well especially the girls at LM Family. We will certainly pass on your kind words to all of them.

Please rest assured that your observations with regards to the room lighting have been duly noted and appropriate measures will be considered to avoid such situations in the future.

Thank you again for your comments and feedback.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

I visited it on first wedding experience i would it was best , i miss the place , the hospitalty , the food
everything was full on great , they treated as if we are only in india , we were getting everything , taste superb

Stayed: September 2016
Thank mayankgupta26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, Manager at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear mayankgupta26,

Thank you for having chosen our property for your wedding experience.

We are pleased to read that the location as well as the services extended to you were up to your expectations.

We hope you had a nice trip back to India and that you will consider staying with us again in a near future.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews