We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with a genuine Moroccon feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palais des Remparts
Ranked #31 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Excellent location on the edge of the Medina in a wide side street. Friendly staff, especially the charming breakfast waiters, one of whom recommended walks and drives in the locality which were very helpful.

The hotel was having a an end of season spruce in the corridors as we left, ready for the next season. Our room was beautifully clean, tidy and well decorated, and was cleaned perfectly every day. We were upgraded to a suite, which was also a bonus.

Room Tip: All the ones on floor one looked good as we passed them whilst being cleaned
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2016

We stayed as a family here 5 years ago, and had a great time. We were in Essaouira again this year and popped into the Palais for lunch- the roof-top restaurant has one of the best views in town, and the food and service were both as good as we remembered. Definitely worth checking out, even if just for a coffee.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Frankly I don't understand how there is so many positive reviews for this hotel. Palais des Remparts was unfriendly, beds uncomfortable, atmosphere quite depressing and the premises much in need of repair. The best things about this hotel is the location.

We were greeted without a smile or a hello, instead we got "fill out this form". Once we were done with checkin we were told to go to the roof for a welcome drink.

The roof was empty except one staff member in the corner attending to his mobile phone. We introduced ourselves with a smile, hoping to inject some warmth into the situation.

The view is very nice from the roof. Enjoying the view, I lent over the balcony, only to discover it was freshly painted and I now had oil paint on my hands and cloths. A sign would probably have been appropriate. You would have thought that this might have got some sympathy from the staff member in charge of our welcome. Unfortunately he hardly looked up from his phone as he pointed the the toilet.... Not that water helped the oil paint much.

The rooms are a nice size. The bathrooms are also quite large.

Noise travels through the hotel so as we slept we heard the other couple of guests that were staying there.

Breakfast was pretty good but little effort was made. The bread isn't toasted and some items were still in store packaging.

I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NathanLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

the best views in Essaouira. I have been coming for many years! this will definitely be where I will stay from now on. large beautifully decorated rooms. Impeccable service! The breakfast is wonderful..the panoramic views of the crashing waves..just be careful the seagulls love butter! The staff is professional and very friendly. I will return SOON!

Room Tip: Honestly most rooms are lovely. I prefer rooms with exterior windows..but higher floors quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vdigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Very nice people!!!!!!!!
Beautiful place - the room was lovely and everyday clean by the one of the best beautiful lady in the world "hanan" and we wish to find her again when we come back .
Maroc I love you.
It is a peaceful pace , organised, clean, secure and the crew are fantastic - the best I had.
The place were fantastic but the people were the best in hotel
Although we'll definitely be returning, there was also a few simple things that we think could be easily be improved to bring the hotel to 5 star rating -

Thank you

Edordo maimon

Room Tip: second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mainon_eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
12.9 km away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
299 reviews
0 km away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#36 of 75 in Essaouira
278 reviews
1.9 km away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#28 of 75 in Essaouira
1,157 reviews
0.3 km away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
504 reviews
0.1 km away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais des Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais des Remparts

Address: 18 Rue Ibn Rochd, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: $110 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais des Remparts 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais des Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Des Remparts Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing