We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, and very helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palais des Remparts
Ranked #31 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Reviewed 17 January 2017

First time in this riad. Met at the airport, and the taxi was met by a guy with a barrow when we reached the city. Straight to the riad, easy check in, and shown our room which was fine although I would not like to have stayed in it with young children due to the low bannister around the first-floor sleeping area. Breakfast on the roof terrace with great views (except when there was a mist on one day) was not entirely to our English taste, but was fine. The room we were in was very close to the ramparts, and workmen were removing the rendering on that, using hand tools, and were starting fairly early in the morning, so after a couple of days of not getting a lie-in, (we;re on holiday) I asked if we could be moved. The response was immediate. Within 15 minutes we were in another room on the other side of the building. No fuss, no bother. Really impressed. We would like to return.The rooms were clean and serviced daily. Alcohol is not available in the riad.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank allotmentandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2016

We stayed here in Oct 2016. After a long drive from Casablanca and a long overseas flight we entered this riad expecting more. The courtyard garden is shabby and dying. The front staff are indifferent. When asked if they provided bottled water we were told no and if we wanted some we could buy from them but get it cheaper "out there". Meaning go out into dark alley , find a hole in the wall and get a bottle for 25 cents less?? Not so helpful. The rooom was large but the upholstery was shabby and need of updating. Overall depressing first impression of Morocco! The wait staff were very good. The roof top terrace is its only saving grace. I know there is better to be had in this interesting city.
.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank eyespyabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

We booked this Riad on the back of the photos featured on the riad's own website. On arrival, it can only be described as a dimly lit mausoleum. There was literally no warmth or atmosphere. We were shown our room, extension of said mausoleum with a sarcophagus to bathe in, then invited for welcome mint tea on the terrace. Admittedly the view was good but the thought of having breakfast in a 'poly-tunnel' proved too much.

We thankfully used TripAdvisor to find alternative accommodation, checked out immediately and were more than happy to pay the one night penalty fee to avoid staying a minute longer.

We cannot understand how this place has got so many positive reviews.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Night_Owl_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Very good location, central to shops and beach. Easy walk to a number of great restaurants. Staff were generally friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable though the decor was a bit tired. It should be noted that renovations were underway during our stay.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Tanya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We loved it here. Beautiful roof terrace, great staff and a comfortable room. Central location in the heart of the old medina. Close to several very good restaurants. Highly recommended would definitely stay here again. Public parking close by.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolBury10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
12.9 km away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
300 reviews
1.9 km away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
861 reviews
0 km away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#34 of 75 in Essaouira
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#28 of 75 in Essaouira
1,158 reviews
0.3 km away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
505 reviews
0.1 km away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais des Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais des Remparts

Address: 18 Rue Ibn Rochd, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: $124 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais des Remparts 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais des Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Des Remparts Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing