We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Nearby Hotels
Riad Chbanate(Essaouira)
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Perle d'Eau(Essaouira)
US$86
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Daba(Essaouira)
US$69
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Louzani(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dar Maya(Essaouira)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Chems Bleu(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Gonatouki(Ghazoua)(Great Value!)
US$70
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villa Quieta(Essaouira)
US$215
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Watier(Essaouira)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,779)
Filter reviews
1,779 results
Traveller rating
825
630
199
82
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
825
630
199
82
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachindoor poolbeach restaurantnice balconypool sideopposite the beachfive minute walkreception staffmini barturn down serviceluxury hotelsuperior roomsun loungersmain restaurantmint teaspa treatmentsgreat pool
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 1,779 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

I was going to stay at the Sofitel but rhe location is not ideal. This jotel is across the street from the beach and a 10 minute walk to the Medina. I stayed in an executive suite overlooking the pool and the room is starting to look it's age. Staff is very pleasant, overall a very good hotel.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Dear Marc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Médina Essaouira Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel .

It's a real pleasure to read that you choice our hotel, and you found our staff very pleasant also the hotel very good. Inspired by the magnificent Moroccan riads, the Médina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa -MGallery by Sofitel- is decorated in the traditional red of Essaouira. Less than 5 min walk from the medina and sea in front of the hotel with a private beach.

Thank you for your review and i hope that we will see you soon at the Médina Essaouira Thalassa Sea & Spa -MGalery by Sofitel-.

Sincerely

Mohamed AQQA
General Manager
H2967-GM@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

The room and facilities were good in a decent location from the medina and beach.

The staff were attentive when it came to ordering food and drinks but a couple of times our orders were forgotten. Drinks were fairly expensive but I suppose this is what you get for pool side luxury. Beer around £5 for a small bottle (flag is the cheapest)

We were a little displeased to find that the spa facilities were not free to guests. The spa pool was open for just 2 hours in the evening, but ended up being quite busy full of kids (not the relaxing spa experience we expected).

It was good of the hotel to help organise an airport transfer but I felt this was a little over priced. Perhaps if we shopped around we could have saved a few £££, but for ease, it worked well.

The room and cleaning service was ok but we would have liked to have tea and coffee making facilities as standard (especially as it is 5* hotel). As a lazy holidaying couple, we spent a fair bit on coffees to the room as there wasn't an option to do just have drinks for breakfast.

We had breakfast twice which was reasonably priced at £15 a head for the amount there was on offer. Not something we could stretch to every day but pleasant to kick start the morning. They had a great selection of cold and hot foods including fresh omelet and crepe making which was a bonus. I would recommend getting there early to avoid the rush.

My boyfriend and I spent some time trying to find a decent place to drink and actually we had a nice time drinking wine (under a fiver a glass) in the hotel bar playing pool. There wasn't much atmosphere but nice to chilled after dinner and a day in the sun.

A highlight for me was the poolside area. Though not brave enough to attempt the pool too many times (very cold), the shape of the building meant that on very windy days, the area felt fairly calm when it was far too windy on the beach. Warning, you may need to reserve a sunbed first thing if you can be bothered to get a good spot.

Overall I would say that we had a pleasant stay at the hotel medina. It seemed like this was one of the best equipped hotels in the area (many looked half finished) in terms of facilities, staff and location but I don't think it felt up to the 5* rating. We weren't keen on the staff when it came to sorting out the transfer and boarding passes. They seemed a little unhelpful. We also noticed a discrepancy on the bill with a breakfast which we didn't actually have. Slightly annoying as didn't notice until we had checked out!!

I recommend this hotel for people who want a calm and relaxing holiday with decent facilities - maybe not for those who are looking for a lively and boozey trip as drinking can be pretty pricey . A little expensive here and there but overall ok.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank imo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Fisrt of all, I would like to thnak you for sharing your experience at Médina Essaouira thalassa Sea & Spa -MGallery by Sofitel-.

Thank you also for your constructive feedback which helps us to improve our level of service. At the Médina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa-MGallery Collection-, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking your suggestion seriously and taking appropriate measures to address the problem.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We apologize for not being up to your expectations and hope to regain your confidence following another stay at our hotel.

Sincerely

Mohamed AQQA
General Manager
H2967-GM@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Had a really nice week there in February this year very windy very comfortable beds nice bath tubs but the hotel pool was not heated bloody freezing the spa pool was brilliant but they charge to use it the money exchange was exlant the bar was fantastic plus games there some exlant local cafes near buy

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Dear Jeremy,

Thank you for your kind comment regarding your recent stay at Médina Thalassa Sea & Spa MGallery -by Sofitel-.

We are delighted to read that you found our hotel nice and you had a realy nice week. Your satisfaction and the recognition of our staff quality, is the best award they could get, it encourages them to work harder and go beyond guests expectations .

Thank you again for your comment, and I sincerely hope to welcome you back in the Médina Thalassa Sea & Spa MGallery - by Sofitel- .

Sincerely

Mohamed AQQA
General Manager
H2967-GM@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

We stayed in Essaouria for one night and stayed at Le Medina which is right on the coast. It is walking distance to the beach and to the medina. In the morning we took a surfing lesson at a local surf shop and really enjoyed that. It is about 10-15 min walk to the fishing area which is definitely worth seeing. Overall great experience in this city.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank omarakhter23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Dear Omar,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Médina Essaouira Thalassa Sea & Spa -MGallery By Sofitel-

I'm delighted to read that you had a great experience, inspired by the magnificent Moroccan riads, our hotel is decorated in the traditional red of Essaouira. Less than 5 min by walk from the Medina and sea in front of the hotel with a private beach.

Thank you for this review and I hope that I will see you soon at the Medina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa -MGallery by Sofitel-.

Sincerely

Mohamed AQQA
General Manager
H2967-GM@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

There was no access by car to the hotel due to construction on the day we arrived. Walking four blocks is acceptable but not with heavy luggage in tow. Just picture it-- the hot pink baby grand in the lobby. The room was heavily laden with the artificial spray of orange blossoms a la nicotine. The decor was outdated and the hallways were shabby. The pool needed to be overhauled. No food was available anywhere in the hotel, despite the specific suggestions given by the front desk staff to go to the snack bar at the pool which was closed and the dining room (also closed). The front desk staff was inexperienced and unable to help us make arrangements with a non-smoking hotel. Too bad we had prepaid. We had no alternative but to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank romac37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear Romac,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your last short stay at our hotel.

It is strange to see a review of 1/5 in two wonderful reviews of 5/5, I see that we have failed to make your experience in our hotel memorable and I apologize. Exactly, by inspiring local traditions, we use the orange blossom sent in our universes and room, and I see that it was not to your liking.

We apologize once again and hope that we will have another opportunity to catch up, and offer you a memorable experience to match the reputation of the Médina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa -MGallery by Sofitel-.

Sincerely

Mohamed AQQA
General Manager
H2967-GM@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews