We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, good location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swakopmund
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desert Sky Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2015

We camped at Desert Sky and had no problems. It can be a little noisy and awkward with where you pitch your tent but bring ear plugs and you'll be fine. I loved the gigantic fat cat that lived there. Kitchen is nice and braai stands there for you to use. Nice showers. Have to pay for wifi but it's a good connection.

Room Tip: Get there early for a good camping spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2015

Situated on a busy through road this is possibly the worse location for camping in Namibia. The backpackers accommodation and facilities are excellent but as far as camping this is not an option. Our two vehicles barely fitted into the gravel driveway if we did not have roof top tents no idea where we would have pitched our tents.All night long vehicle were breaking and pulling off at the four way stop metres away.

Room Tip: take a room NOT camping
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank cleopatraCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Very nice family place for stay in Swakopmund with nice rooms near city center and beach. Price is good an you can also camp on their grass. They can advise you some trips around like visit seal colony and more....

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Desert Sky Backpackers was a refreshing place to stay after a week of camping in the Namib desert. The staff are friendly and the available amenities are clean and well-kept. Definitely worth a visit!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015

The owner is extremely friendly and welcoming and will give you lots of advice about places to see and things to do in Swakopmund. The kitchen is extremely well equipped and there is also a place for a braii. There is a good sized communal lounge with a TV and places to sit and enjoy the sun outside. The location is excellent, a five minute walk from the beach, the town centre and five minutes to the desert too! I thought that camping was a little expensive so decided to stay in a dorm at N$170 per night which I thought was worth it. Wifi was available at a cost of N$10 which really doesn't break the bank and the strength of signal is quite good. Head down to the jetty to see an amazing sunset, where you will find some nice (but expensive) restaurants. A ten minute walk long the coast and you'll find a beautiful restaurant called Tiger Reef which is on the beach front and is reasonably priced. There are so many activities nearby including skydiving, quad biking, living desert tours, camel rides, sand boarding, mineral gallery, museum, an aquarium and a trip to Walvis Bay to see the seals and dolphins...Desert Sky will be able to organise all of these for you which is really helpful. For me, the atmosphere had a warm family feel to it and I most certainly will be back, hopefully with the rest of my family next time! I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone thinking to stay in Swakopmund.

Room Tip: Ask if the large dorm next to the lounge is available, this is the newest and nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lewis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.4 km away
Swakopmund Backpackers
Swakopmund Backpackers
#13 of 39 in Swakopmund
9 reviews
1.7 km away
Skeleton Beach backpackers
Skeleton Beach backpackers
#11 of 39 in Swakopmund
147 reviews
0.6 km away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
431 reviews
0.8 km away
BON Hotel Swakopmund
BON Hotel Swakopmund
#12 of 19 in Swakopmund
75 reviews
0.8 km away
Swakopmund Hotel
Swakopmund Hotel
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Sky Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sky Backpackers

Address: Lazarett Street | PO Box 2830, Swakopmund, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Swakopmund
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing