We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice kitchen, helpful and friendly staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swakopmund
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desert Sky Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2016

The place is easy to find, and the location near attractions and town center is superb. Staff are really friendly and helpful, they want you to have a good time. We stayed in the family room which had two bedrooms with a door that closed off the rooms and it's own bathroom with a nice shower. What little time we did spend inside the complex we spent sitting on our own little front porch area over looking a well maintained yard. In the building next to our room there is a nice big kitchen with a lot of counter space, many cooking utensils to choose from and a large fridge to store items. We had a small fridge in our room so we did not have to use the communal fridge. There is a nice size dining table in the kitchen and the lighting was good. Near the kitchen there is a communal lounge area with TV but no one really was using it while we were there. Parking with our double cab Hilux was a little tight but everyone with their trucks worked it out so everyone had parking inside the gate. Using the gate to the parking area takes two people, one to drive around to get in once the other person runs down through the whole complex to open the gate. You were in luck if there was someone around to press the button to open and close for you on your way out and the grounds staff were very accommodating about it. We had our laundry done while there and the don't charge much per kilo to do it; it was a very welcomed service. Only draw back I had, which is minimal, is the traffic on the main road with a lot of trucks and people trying to speed past them. I found the street traffic noise quieted down early enough for me to fall asleep and I used the traffic as my alarm clock to get me going in the morning. The room was very clean, beds were comfortable, shower and bathroom were clean and worked well. Good WiFi service from our room even though it wasn't by the main building. We liked the location of this backpackers because we could walk to the beach/waterfront, center of town, plus grocery store not far away. Park the truck and walked, didn't move it for most of our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the main road will have some traffic noise but it isn't going on all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2016

we had planned this trip since last year and couldn't wait to be in swakopmund,Namibia.deciding on where to stay was easy because we had read other guests reviews and chose this lodge.It is in perfect location as it is a walking distance to everything,internet,friendly staff.Betsy is soo helpful and arranged all our activities for us.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tyro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

Nice place to stay a night or two. Has campsite also.
Place is clean, silent. The staff is great ... Super friendly.
Price is ok. It's close to supermarkets, has private parking and the rooms are big and comfortable.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PauloMystical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016

The 3 of us (all +55 yrs old) were on a camping trip around Namibia in December. We decided to camp at the Desert Sky Backpackers in Swakop. Too old for a backpackers I hear you say? Well I for one was extremely surprised.
This particular backpackers has a lovely lawn to put up your tent, has rooms (individual and to share) an extremely well equipped kitchen, free coffee, tea, TV and wifi - it ticks all of the boxes that get the younger international traveller to stay.
We met some interesting youngsters from around the world, drank beers with the Germans and watched a group from Japan have their first braai. That was priceless!
I for one won't hesitate to stay there agin. Thanks very much !

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2015

We stayed there for a few nights while passing through on a cycle tour. The rooms were really great (better then many hotels) - clean, comfortable and well appointed. The prices were really reasonable, and the self-catering facilities were also fantastic. Would highly recommend this as an affordable accommodation option in Swakopmund.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stuartphillips2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.4 km away
Swakopmund Backpackers
Swakopmund Backpackers
#16 of 39 in Swakopmund
7 reviews
1.7 km away
Skeleton Beach backpackers
Skeleton Beach backpackers
#11 of 39 in Swakopmund
146 reviews
0.6 km away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
406 reviews
0.2 km away
Desert Villa Guesthouse
Desert Villa Guesthouse
#16 of 50 in Swakopmund
68 reviews
0.8 km away
Swakopmund Hotel
Swakopmund Hotel
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Sky Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sky Backpackers

Address: Lazarett Street | PO Box 2830, Swakopmund, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Swakopmund
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing