We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and reasonably priced”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swakopmund
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desert Sky Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2017

The location of the place is excellent, situated right between the beach and the desert. The facilities are clean and the rooms are decently priced. Only spent 1 night but it was pretty ok.The kitchen is well equipped and very clean

They have two dogs, Suzy who is a sweetheart but Gusy was a little vicious towards us.

The bed and pillows were a little stiff but then again it is a backpackers lounge and not a hotel. The single bathroom was a problem as we shared it with 3 other couples and at some point we were all in the house at the same time which was a problem.

Thank you for having us, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bash T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2017

I always camp here. There's grass! Grass is lovely to camp on and very unusual in Namibia.

Great little hostel. A communal kitchen with free tea and coffee.

Fab location - walk all around town. nice and safe. Friendly staff.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenaand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

This backpackers is close to most of the areas where you need to be. Staff always friendly and very helpful. Ablution facilities is clean and perfect for that quick rest and getting ready before setting off on the next part of your travel through this magnificent country. Kitchen is very well equipped and large enough for a few travellers to prepare meals at once. Dormitories are modern and very clean as well. Enough space to camp in a tent outside on the lawn. The premises are very safe and for me travelling by motorcycle and wanting to leave most of my belongings on the bike, it is quite a big bonus. I have stayed there on 5 occasions already, and have never been disappointed. Will stay there again when passing through.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank NamibDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Doesn't matter if you are a backpacker looking for a shared room, or someone wanting to camp: this is the best accommodation I've been in a while. It's very clean, with a spacious, comfortable living room. A big and well equipped kitchen. A lovely yard to eat or relax. And well informed staff with great recommendations. Couldn't be happier! I would highly recommend anyone looking for a place in Swakopmund to check this out!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LeidsHertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Fantastic backpackers in great location, easy to walk everywhere. Kitchens and bathrooms were well equipped and clean there's also plenty of space for socialising and the wifi was good. Had a great stay.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank Beckymd2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
1.7 km away
Skeleton Beach backpackers
Skeleton Beach backpackers
#11 of 39 in Swakopmund
147 reviews
0.4 km away
Swakopmund Backpackers
Swakopmund Backpackers
#13 of 39 in Swakopmund
9 reviews
0.6 km away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
432 reviews
0.8 km away
BON Hotel Swakopmund
BON Hotel Swakopmund
#12 of 19 in Swakopmund
75 reviews
0.8 km away
Swakopmund Hotel
Swakopmund Hotel
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Sky Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sky Backpackers

Address: Lazarett Street | PO Box 2830, Swakopmund, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Swakopmund
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing