We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peculiar pelicans and sweet seals”
Review of Laramon Tours

Laramon Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Reviewed 14 December 2017

We spent the morning (3-4 hours), sailing out between the many large ships anchored in the bay and past the oyster farms out to the Walvis Bay seal colonies. On the way out we saw lots of seals in the water, and a few of them jumped on the boat. One of them I could actually pet – until a larger, more aggressive specimen jumped on board and scared the smaller one off. Pelicans landed on the boat and what a sight they were! They are huge, clumsy-looking birds and hardly afraid of humans – I reached out and touched one. They come for the fish, of course, and they are amazing to look at close up. The boat sailed out a bit further to look for dolphins and we soon saw quite a few jumping out of the water, and some swam with the boat just in ahead of the stern. We had sparkling wine, oysters and other snacks/nibbles. The weather was quite nice, a bit overcast but not too windy. But it was cold – luckily we had hats and gloves and otherwise warm clothes. You get blankets that you can sit on or wrap around you but it's a good idea to dress warmly. The cruise is definitely worthwhile doing – it's amazing to be so close to pelicans and seals that you can actually touch them. Good fun and some interesting information about the local culture, fishing, fauna etc.

Thank Froggy2Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramon T, Public Relations Manager at Laramon Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear Froggy2Denmark
Thanks for your good review.
We appreciate your time and positive note.
Trusting you enjoy the rest of our beautiful country, Namibia, and that you take many good memories back to Denmark.

We wish you a festive season and a very good 2018!
Laramon Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017

The Combo Tour is well worth the time. The morning boat trip in Walvis Bay harbor is great fun with views of seals, pelicans, and possibly dolphins and whales and other marine life - with the seals and pelicans getting up close and personal - as they come aboard. Food & beverages are provided on the boat trip.
The afternoon is a series of thrilling rides up, over, and around the dunes going down to Sandwich Bay. Our guide (Ramon) was great with incredible knowledge of the area and the wildlife in the area.
Lunch is also served on afternoon tour.
A long day - but well worth it.

Thank LWS-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramon T, Public Relations Manager at Laramon Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear LWS-NYC
Thank you for your positive review.
We appreciate your time and effort and hope that the good memories will last you a long time still.
Kind regards
Laramon Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

My sister and I did this tour with Johan and Jackson on the Catamaran that they were hosting on 24 June 2017 and it turned out to be a trip that we thought was extremely special and we got more than expected. Besides seeing all the special marine wildlife they served us with sherry, bubbling wine, oysters and snacks. This is a trip that I would recommend to anyone who goes to Walvis Bay. This is a must do! BUT BOOK THROUGH THEM DO NOT BOOK THROUGH ANOTHER AGENT!

Thank Elizabeth v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramon T, Public Relations Manager at Laramon Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Elizabeth v
Thank you for the review, and positive note of it.
It is sincerely appreciated that you made the effort to write one.

All the best and hopefully we'll see you again some day.
Kind regards
Laramon Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

Great day on the water even though it was overcast the first half of our tour. We saw some whales and the seals in their colony on the island. Midway through the cruise, they brought out champagne and fresh oysters. I would have loved to have been there on a warm sunny day. Our guide was sufficiently exuberant that we could tell he loved his job. They have a few seals that are acclimated to humans and their boats, so we waited to see where this would lead. He told us, if one jumped on the boat, to give it a pet and let others in to have a go. Finally, towards the end, we had a little guy jump on the back of the boat. I was the first to feel him out of probably 30 people on the boat. Many women shrieked and wouldn't go near him, so I pretty much had him to myself. Highlight of the trip! Try to get on a tour that speaks your language. Other people that were passengers on this cruise (and there were about 20 of them) were socially rude and clueless about manners, acting as if they were the only ones there, and were constantly in the way of taking photos because they were taking photos of everything and not moving out of the way. But, rude clients do not reflect any way upon this company. Top notch!

Thank mahvalous1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramon T, Public Relations Manager at Laramon Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Mavahlous1
Your review is such a delight to read. Thank you for the very positive note and please accept our apologies for the rude company on board.
Hopefully you'll still have many good memories and pictures to look at in future.
All the best
Laramon Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

This was a great trip on the water at Walvis bay. We started with the resident seals and pelicans visiting the boat to get some fish. A great day, good weather, with friendly, professional and efficient crew.

We had freshly shucked oysters on the trip, these were amazing. Also the other lunch selection offered and the champagne was good.

A well recommended tour for a few hours in the morning.

Thank Gunda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramon T, Public Relations Manager at Laramon Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Gunda
Thank you for your time to write such a positive report.
We appreciate your support and recommendation.
Sincerely
Laramon Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Laramon Tours also viewed

Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
 
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
 

Been to Laramon Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing