We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
15
53
22
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
53
22
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the lagoon convenient location star hotel our room was spacious small shop fresh fish fishing boats short drive turtle watching bahari corniche fridge factory oman sea sunset
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We had read the reviews as the hotel didn't exist last time we were in Sur. A quieter area with fishing boats 100m just down the road - sardines were being unloaded when we were there. The room was spacious, basic but had good overhead lights as we played cards later. The bed was extremely hard!! Breakfast simple but ok. Totally booked out with tour parties and couples when we were there. A good location for seeing Sur attractions and surrounding areas like Ayjah fort and beach.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

My wife and I happened to visit Sur for the weekend (30Dec17). We booked this hotel on the phone and the booking was confirmed and the hotel rang up twice to reconfirm since it was a very busy season.
The location is next to the Sur Bridge and very prominent. We traveled from IBRA and were able to easily reach with GPS.
The room was ordinary but clean and ok for the price (35 Omani Rial) for the night for the two of us.
The hotel has a huge parking and very conveniently located between Sur and Ras Al Haad (for Turtle viewing).
The staff is very helpful and the amenities are average. The food (we had the complimentary breakfast) was good.
We could walk to the Cornice and also had a very good experience of the Sunset from the Watch Tower just located next to the Hotel. The photo opportunity was excellent. Very windy and you will need a tripod for sure if using a DSLR.
A very good view and I could take excellent photos from sunset to evening and night shots.
Overall a very good experience.
Had a number of options for restaurants in the Sur city and also saw a movie at night in City Cinema.
Must visit

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SJGhosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

This was our first stop after picking up our hire car at Muscat airport & to be honest, I wasn't expecting much from this cheap 2 night stopover. However the check in staff were super friendly & smiley, the room was very spacious & clean & the breakfast was tasty, so it superceded all my expectations!

The location was perfect as it was easy to find off the road to Sur, there's a petrol station opposite (plus small shop) with lovely views over the water.

The bed is pretty firm (so I'd recommend asking for a spare duvet to put underneath) but everything was clean & tidy. Breakfast is 1 choice of 4 plates & they all come with toast, coffee / tea, juice & fruit, so a very filling start without the waste of large buffets.

It's not a luxurious hotel but totally functional & comfortable, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SuzeyQ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

The room was quite big and equipped with a fridge, safe case, television, AC and a kettle with complimentary tea and coffee. In the room price, there is included also the breakfast served at the restaurant, and there are different kinds that you can choose from. We tried the continental one and we have to say that was good and really gets you full.

In the ground floor, next to the reception, there is a business room provided with a computer that is available to use for the guests of the hotel. They have as well a ball room available to rent for parties and weddings.

The hotel is located in our favorite part of Sur, next to the known Khor Al Batah bridge and near to the Maritime Museum and the boat factory of Sur. Interesting sightseeing for a city based on fishing industry.

At the hotel they also organize tours to Ras Al Hadd and Ras Al Jinz, the nearby turtles nesting beach and boat tours to see wild dolphins and turtles swimming in the ocean.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WhereYouNow J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile


Hii everyone... It ws our first anniversary so we decided to go to Sur, OMAN for a night...i.e. 12th of May... It's about 250km from muscat... And we booked Al Ahjyah Plaza Hotel... Though the hotel is 7yrs old but we had no clue about it so we decided to explore it this time.

It's location is wonderful not very far from the turtle reserve... As we reached there, they gave us a warm welcome... The staff is extremely polite! We were given a sea view room on the 4th floor... and it was very sweet of them to decorate our room as it was our anniversary. Our room was spacious and clean... Very well ventilated. The room service was also good. The food is excellent and reasonable... And they can also book tickets for turtle watching which saved us a lot of time. There are many places to visit near this hotel like the DHOW CRUISE FACTORY, BOAT MUSEUM, LIGHT HOUSE and beautiful SUR CORNICHE.

Lastly I would like to thank AQUELLA (MANAGER) for arranging everything for us... She is an amazing person and very hard working.. Thank you so much team Al Ahjyah Plaza for a wonderful experience... I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL...

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jaspreet7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews