We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Washington Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Otro Lado(Portobelo)
US$394
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
3
11
18
9
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
11
18
9
16
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Here is your unique chance to stay at a Colonial Grand Hotel at a true basement bargain rate! Mind you, don't expect a five-star Hilton, but this majestic hotel still shows shadows of her glorious past.
Warning, located in not the best part of Colon, travel by taxi after dark.

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank Dirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

This hotel was much older than I thought . It really could use a major update . With all the upgrades going on in Colon it could really use some major work . Business wise with the room keys etc. the staff is very nice and the room was comfortable but I was not as comfortable with the openness of the hotel for the area.
Price wise it was great however , with a bit of an upgrade it could be a lot better. The Bldg is nice also.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

This place is run down, dingy, and in a pretty bad neighborhood! We went to view the sunset and was hoping for a restaurant with a view! No such luck and wouldn't have eaten at the place anyway! We ended up ordering a beer and some microwave popcorn at the pool bar and that was the only highlight! $4 for two beers and popcorn!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank PanamaFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

still one of my favorite hotels in colon...maybe it because I like old buildings with amazing history...it's by no stretch of the imagination a 5 star hotel but one can feel the spirit of is grandiose back in the early 1900s when it was the accommodation of choice for the engineers and financiers of the Panama canal while in its construction phase. The rooms are large...it's lobby magnificent. .courtyard and gardens spacious. The restaurant has shrunk over the years and seem to be under new management...food not as good as years gone by but still palatable. The branded hotels that have sprung up around this place have taken their toll and this hotel is not as full as it used to be...but still a lovely place

Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
2  Thank Traveljunkie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

Only had breakfast here.
The entire place was sad and past its prime. The food was very plain and one dish was disgusting. I finished my pancakes but parents were very unhappy.

Waitstaff was nice but reception was un inviting.

Sadly, I would not recommend unless you like some adventure.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank carlos4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews