We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Madang Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
35
24
6
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
24
6
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaside roommanagement teamgift shopluxurious roomsairport transferbasic amenitiesoverlooking the seagrounds are beautifulplace to staystaff went out of their wayin townbusiness tripbudgetgymlodgeaccommodationbackpackers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2016

A comfortable place with friendly, trained staff, the fish of the day was a beautiful meal and there is a beautiful swimming hole and snorkeling area. Very accommodating and the staff were quite organised when checking on our large group. We enjoyed the entertainment of traditional dance and sing sing by the local church which was an amazing warm welcome!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 853tarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Garden Terrace rooms are delightful, good WiFi, gym, pool very good, restaurant very pleasant, staff very friendly gardens and surrounds very peaceful, in general lovely safe place to stay although pricey certainly worth it (especially for business)

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Micridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madang Lodge H, Manager at Madang Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2016

We are very pleased you had a nice time at Madang Lodge Hotel.

Thank you for the positive and honest feedback. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Hotel was beautiful. Got the lowest end room possible and it was exactly as ordered. Clean with a ceiling fan, two twin beds and a shared bathroom down at the end of the hall. Restaurant food was good - not great but very good and the prices were very reasonable. Grounds are beautiful and the staff is nice.

Room Tip: If you want air conditioning, a tv or a room with ocean view you will pay for such things but overall nice place!
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madang Lodge H, Manager at Madang Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

Hello Heather,

Thank you very much for the positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Our economy rooms have always been popular especially to budget-conscious travelers. We aim to maintain the cleanliness and comfort at a very affordable rate.

We hope to see you again in your next visit to Madang!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

We visited here for lunch with the owners of the establishment and enjoyed a very nice meal with very friendly staff and a great view of the beautiful PNG scenery. All the food was delicious, especially the fresh, local tuna I ate. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The owners have done a lovely job making this a very nice hotel that we will definitely make a visit to next time we are in Madang!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madang Lodge H, Manager at Madang Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

Hi Molly,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Madang Lodge Hotel.

The Hotel owners were very pleased to spend time with you and your family over lunch. We hope to see you again in your next trip to Madang, one of PNG's must-visit destinations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2016

We visited Madang on a P&O Cruise on 20 February 2016 and found it hard to find private shore tours to book prior to leaving. After paying P&O way too much for a 5 minute hot bus ride into Madang, we walked back to the ship disappointed, before we found the Madang Lodge (air-conditioned) bus parked at the port. The driver was lovely - friendly and knowledgeable, and he offered us a complimentary one hour scenic tour along the coastal road past the Coastwatchers Memorial Lighthouse, Madang Golf course, swimming bays, visitor info centre & museum, and included a short stop over at Madang Lodge.
The Lodge is set in beautiful, well kept gardens with PNG orchids, artifact house, gift shop and coffee shop. The toilets were clean and the buildings & gardens were some of the cleanest, and well kept that we saw in PNG.
We purchased a couple of drinks and something to eat on the restaurant deck with wonderful sea breezes and views as well as happy staff to serve them!
I understand they would be offering this tour as promotion for their property, but we were not intimidated into buying anything; we were more than happy to find a lovely place to spend some time and get out of the hustle and bustle of town, and get a sight seeing tour as well! Our lovely driver even acted as our guide during our museum visit! (wish I could remember his name!!)

If this is how the Madang Lodge treat guests on a complimentary tour, I would be really keen to know how paying guests are treated! I suggest any Cruise ship visitors contact them prior to their trip to see if they can do a similar tour and visit to their lovely, peaceful bit of paradise!

Room Tip: We only visited during a cruise shore tour - did not stay overnight.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madang Lodge H, Manager at Madang Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2016

Thank you very much for the feedback.

Madang Lodge Hotel, along with other Hotels and tourism groups, always welcomes visitors to our small yet beautiful coastal town.

We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality during short visit and do look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon!

Best regards,

Madang Lodge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews