We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plumbing challenged”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Andina Select Chiclayo
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Chiclayo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed in a recently refurbished room. The paint was still drying in the hallway if our noses were accurate. Although it was a good looking room, the plumbing was seriously challenged. The stopper in the sink was apparently one of those spring-loaded ones that you push on and it pops up but no amount of effort would cause it to spring up by that method. The installation of the water faucet over the sink was so far back that water flowed onto the marble surface instead of into the bowl of the sink unless you turned the faucet on fully. The toilet did not deliver enough water to accomplish a flush so we delivered some water to the bowl by virtue of the shower hose. Members of our party in other rooms had plumbing issues, too. Hopefully, the challenges were limited to a recently refurbished wing.

Room Tip: Check the plumbing before you settle in and ask for another room if it appears to be challenged. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 108 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

You would think that working in a hotel the staff would realise that their job and tips depend on being welcoming and friendly. Not so here. With a few exceptions the staff seemed surly. My coffee was left to sit on the counter getting cold because the preparer (and he knew I ordered it) would not bring it out and my waiter was busy elsewhere. This is some 19 months after the renovation has commenced and yet we were still put into old and drab rooms. There was a balcony but no furniture and no clock. I like to check that I have correctly set my timepieces to local time. The food was adequate (we did have a meal there as well as breakfast) but not inspiring. If I return to Chiclayo for the wonderful archelogical sites I won´t be staying here. (Can´t comment on the price as it was part of a package.)

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skiltsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I stayed two nights in a superior room, which was recently renovated. The room was big with a more or less modern design, Air conditioning and wireless Internet worked well. Other facilities in the hotel seemed basic. I was told that the hotel is being completely renovated (I believe it will be or already is a Casa Andina Select hotel). Nice pool although I had no time to make use of it, pool area needs renovation though. Basic but decent breakfast and restaurant. Staff in general very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank O D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

Worst Casa Andina Hotel I've ever seen! It is in refurbishment state but I don't understand why they give them 4 stars!!! The rooms are very old with very bad furnitures, it is really not worth the price they ask you!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IvanItalia1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write and share your valuable comments regarding your stay at our hotel.
We very much regret we could not meet your expectations and please, accept our apologies if the refurbishing works caused you bad impression.

As you may know, Gran Hotel Chiclayo is under Casa Andina management since 2011, and which we are fulfilling a complete remodeling to suit it to our standards and the image we want to reflect to our clients.

Once again, thank you for letting us know your opinion and rest assured we took into consideration as it helps us to our improvement.

Cordially yours,

The Casa Andina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I am surprised to hear that rooms have been renovated. We just returned from Chiclayo after spending three nights. Only one floor has been renovated and that is not open to the public. We were given an unacceptable room on the 6th floor, very old and dingy, and we were immediately given a large corner room on the 7th floor. Not renovated, but more than adequate. The reason I still recommend the hotel is its staff--the greatest asset. They constantly apologized for the state of the hotel, sent us fruit to our room and really tried their best to accommodate. Since the hotel is not very close to restaurants, we ate several meals at the hotel restaurant, all of excellent quality.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your insights with us and many other travelers on Trip Advisor.

As you know, Gran Hotel Chiclayo is under a full renovation of all public areas and rooms, doing it floor by floor. This is done since Casa Andina took the administration of the hotel last year and we are refurbishing it according to our standards.

Certainly, we are now remodeling floors 3 and 4, and due to the occupation and effort required to do a total refurbishment, the rooms are enabling progressively.

We very much regret if this works caused you any discomfort or bad experience and please be sure that it is not our intention to cause this.

Once again, thank you for letting us to know your comments and we hope we have a second opportunity to offer a real Casa Andina experience.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiclayo hotels
1.1 km away
WinMeier Hotel y Casino
WinMeier Hotel y Casino
#2 of 39 in Chiclayo
306 reviews
0.9 km away
Wyndham Costa del Sol Chiclayo
1.2 km away
LP Los Portales Hotel Chiclayo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Gran Sipan
Hotel Gran Sipan
#12 of 39 in Chiclayo
34 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Solec
Hotel Solec
#9 of 39 in Chiclayo
57 reviews
0.7 km away
Sunec Hotel
Sunec Hotel
#6 of 39 in Chiclayo
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Select Chiclayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Select Chiclayo

Address: Av. Federico Villarreal 115 | Chiclayo, Chiclayo 14000, Peru
Region: Peru > Lambayeque Region > Chiclayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chiclayo
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiclayo
Price Range: $85 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Select Chiclayo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Andina Select Chiclayo is an iconic structure of the city that offers its visitors an excellent location, just minutes from downtown and the airport. Casa Andina Select Chiclayo offers visitors a modern and functional hotel, with spacious common areas, terrace, pool and event areas.The hotel offers its visitors a modern and functional , designed for the business traveler. It features 130 rooms, 100% non-smokers, distributed in 7 floors, plus meeting rooms and a terrace. Internet center, WiFi internet service, ATM, parking and valet parking are just some of the services that we offer our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Andina Select Chiclayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiclayo Gran Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing