We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and shabby ”
Review of Hotel Sillustani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sillustani
Ranked #48 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a group tour with Explore Holidays. Based on feedback from the rest of he group, we will be recommending another hotel is used in Puna.

Hotel is dated with no heating in the rooms. It gets cold at night in Puna this time of year. My shower worked but I'm aware other people in the group had to move rooms as the water pressure was so weak from there's. Availability of hot water was erratic. Lighting in bedrooms very dim meaning lots of people sit in communal areas to read or sit as they are unable to see in their rooms. Unfortunately this means that at night when trying to sleep, the communal areas are noisy and sound proofing is poor.

On the plus side, breakfast was quite good.

Unless you are forced to stay here as part of an organised trip, I would look for an alternative hotel.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Richard45732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2015

We stayed here on a group tour, the night before our trip to Tequile Island, and everything was adequate. Our room was dated, but there were enough bedcovers, so we were warm at night and our shower was hot. Wifi only worked for us at reception, and the people at reception were very helpful, and let us use the safe when we went to Tequile Island.
The hotel is located in a very busy part of town, and in the evening we went to a restaurant just around the corner which was really good.
One of our group had very bad altitude sickness, and stayed on in the hotel after the rest of us had left. The staff really looked after her. However, most of us were fine, as we had had three nights to break up the climb - 2 nights in Arequipa and one night in Chivay - I was very glad of that as I had been concerned about getting altitude sickness.
We enjoyed the breakfast - including fantastic avocados, which made lovely bread rolls!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kthernehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Stayed for 2 separate nights. The rooms are clean but be aware the hotel has no heating so with it being winter it was very cold at night- the receptionists wear coats!
It can have noise during the day as next door to a school.
This was our first night at altitude after Lima and staff were very helpful at 6am in morning when I needed oxygen for 5 minutes to relieve altitude sickness which they keep on site

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2015

We spent two nights at the Hotel Sillustani while on a tour. The inn is located in downtown Puno, just a few blocks from the square. It is also located a block from a street that is lined with several restaurants and shops and serves as a pedestrian mall. The hotel has no central heat (Lack of central heat seems common in the Andes). They had a space heater in each room. We plugged it in and by the next day the room was cozy. The rooms are small and dark. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. There was a nice sitting area on the second floor, this served as a community living room of sorts. The WIFI signal worked best from the sitting area. I had a hot shower the first morning. The second morning, I was one of the first guests up. Outside the room, the hotel was darkened and I did not feel like finding the attendant to turn the hot water on. I know that he would have gladly done so, and 10 minutes later I would have had hot water. It seems that they turn everything off at night, including the public area lights and the hot water. In response to a prior post, I noticed that they had a security gate across the front doors at night that was locked with a pad lock. I know this would not be legal in the states, but the night attendant was stationed within a few feet of the door and I was confident that in an emergency he could quickly open the gate. The breakfast was also decent. It should be noted that there are no elevators in this multi-story hotel, so a low floor may be advisable. With regard to local hotels in the Andes, one should not expect the same amenities and reliability of services as their counterparts offer in the U.S. and Europe. For example we found tissue and wash cloths to be non-existent in Peruvian hotels. This is the 3rd world. As long as the essentials are there, clean room, comfortable bed and working shower, enjoy the ambiance. In closing, I am glad that we stayed at this hotel for the Peruvian charm it offered.

Room Tip: No Elevators - Low Floor Room may be Advisable if you do not do stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveBressi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2014

This hotel is located in the center of the business district, so is close to banks, restaurants, shopping and nightlife. There was road construction in the street next to the hotel so access was limited. This contributed to traffic congestion an lots of horn honking at all hours of the day and night. We had a corner room with single pane windows on two sides, so the noise was hard to get away from. Also across the street was a nightclub that really started rocking late in the night (added to the noise). Shower was hot (room 305) but friends throughout the hotel were not so lucky. Some rooms never had any hot water.
Breakfast was continental style and adequate by Peruvian standards. Coffee is always strong and only a few people did not need to dilute it.
Early in the morning we were expecting a bus to the airport, but the door was padlocked! Not very good in case of a fire or other emergency. This alone would make me PICK ANOTHER HOTEL, even though it otherwise was not too bad.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.2 km away
Camino Real Turistico
0.6 km away
La Casa De Manuelita
La Casa De Manuelita
#37 of 65 in Puno
98 reviews
0.5 km away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 65 in Puno
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Totorani Inn
Totorani Inn
#31 of 65 in Puno
158 reviews
0.2 km away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
32.7 km away
Titilaka
Titilaka
#1 of 65 in Puno
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sillustani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sillustani

Address: Jr Tarapaca 305, Puno, Peru
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Price Range: $38 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sillustani 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sillustani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sillustani Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing