We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“My new Gold standard” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Makati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairmont Makati
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My new Gold standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed overnight with family at the executive (Gold) floor.

Pros:
-Superlative service! It was my first time to stay, but the staff at the executive floor seemed to know who I was and greeted me by name. Check-in was a breeze at the Gold Lounge. Our party was promptly seated and offered refreshments of our choice.
-Every little request was accommodated with a smile. Staff were genuinely happy to be of service. While at the lounge, my grandmother asked me if I saw any mangoes being served. I didn't see any and said there were none. After two minutes, a staff member presented her with some. They must have overheard us taking as we didn't ask them directly.
-Food at the breakfast buffet and the executive lounge was of excellent quality and variety. Afternoon tea at the Writer's Bar was also great and of good value.
-The lounge itself was tastefully furnished, comfortable, and inviting. Even though it was the holiday season, we felt we had the place to ourselves.
-Lovely hot tub at the Willow Stream Spa. Again, not very crowded.
-Centrally located in the main business district. Walking distance to several malls, weekend markets, parks, museums, restaurants, bars, banks, convenience stores, a metro station. You name it!
-Le Labo bathroom amenities are a great touch.

Cons:
-Smallish pool.
-Rooms have so-so views.

Overall:
-Outstanding service
-Excellent location
-Great food
-Mediocre views

I've been spoiled rotten. I will now hold every other hotel to standards set by the Fairmont.

Room Tip: Book a room at the executive floor. Definitely worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AurelianoBuendia3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffles and Fai... M, Hotel Manager at Fairmont Makati, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear AurelianoBuendia3,

Thank you for your thorough review. It was a joy to read through your spirited and sincere comments. We are humbled by your kind and gracious compliments for our staff. I assure you that it was our pleasure to have had the chance to serve you. Indeed, we are quite proud of Fairmont Gold - our very own "hotel within a hotel" experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon, and for a longer visit next time.

Sincerely,
Oliver Dudler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,046
    339
    61
    22
    16
See reviews for
296
308
116
578
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed here only for a night during a lay over going to Palawan. Hence we did not see most of the amenities, but i believe we saw enough to ensure that the hotel gets a fair rating. In short the hotel was perfect, there were no problems what so ever. Even better the breakfast restaurant had a hostess called Csarina, it can't get much classier than that ;-).
Even so there are two things i want to mention, first is outwith the management control the second isn't.
First, traffic in Manila is awful, it took us 90 minutes to get there from terminal 3. Second the uniform of the women working behind reception is perhaps a bit too revealing. While they certainly look stunning they are professionals doing a job who work in a 5 star hotel, not a strip club. They deserve better than be ogled by middle aged bald men like me. It is 2016, not 1970.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jadedexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffles and Fai... M, Hotel Manager at Fairmont Makati, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear jadedexpat,

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you chose to stay with us for your short stint in Manila. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy the amenities that you had time to experience. We've taken note of your feedback regarding our Front Office staff uniform. We thank you for your feedback and assure you that the propriety of our colleagues are of utmost importance to us. We will look into where we can improve and thank you for your constructive feedback.

We hope to welcome you back soon, albeit for a longer visit next time.

Sincerely,
Oliver Dudler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm a business traveler and usually opt for a Hilton or IHG. Fairmont was recommended and here is my first hand experience of staying in this property for 5 days.

Airport Pickup: I had booked a hotel car, while most hotels had their people stand with name cards, which I know is not allowed by the airport authorities. Fairmont was one of the few to follow protocol, they provided me written instructions on the counter location and once I reached to the counter, the team tool care of the rest. I appreciate the ethics.

Check In: This was a pleasant surprise, I was escorted directly to my room and the lady simply did the check in formalities using a tablet. It was all done in 5 mins at most and I was already in my room. I hugely liked this.

Room: Spacious, with ample sun light. And it faces the pool with a city view. So yes, I loved it. The standard room is so well equipped with a modern bath and tub, for me, I liked working out of my room for a day.

Internet: Good wifi connectivity. The speed was acceptable and the connection did not drop. Most important for a business traveler.

Service: This differentiates them from the rest. The moment you walk in till you reach your room...everyday I was greeted with a loud and clear greet with happy faces. Every morning for breakfast @ Spectrum you are greeted by enthusiastic crew, the service at the pool bar is exceptional. To sum it, I don't need to waive my hand to get attention, they are always on their toes. To execute this day on day, is exceptional. Keep it up guys.

Food: I've had meals at Spectrum, pool bar and long bar. As I mentioned, am very impressed by their consistent service and attention to customer.
Spectrum: The breakfast spread is lavish, quality very good. And you end up binge eating. I've had a buffet lunch here and again a huge spread with quality and taste as king. Thumbs up for the dessert selection, gained few inches :-)
On ala carte, I ordered for a blue cheese burger. The experience was poor, I did bring it to the hotels attention and I trust they have taken heed to it.
Pool Bar: I had fish and chips with margarita, the bar tender was attending to me. Great energy, lots of suggestions and he wanted to get it right. The fish was crunchy and soft from inside and the margarita had the right amount salt on the rim.
Long bar: Had a couple of beers here. I respect local traditions but was uncomfortable sitting around piles of peanut shells (I was told it's a tradition to throw peanut shells around) all over the table, floor and sofa. No offence here folks, I would appreciate if the table can be cleaned up on request.

Amenities: I've used the gym which I think was clean, tidy and had all the equipment's for cardio and strength training. The instructor was attentive yet not intrusive.
Pool, is not very big. But it is very well maintained. More often than not, I would notice the cleaner cleaning every nook and corner of the pool late night.

At the end of my stay, Fairmont left a strong impression. A fellow business traveler staying same time had the same impression as we exchanged notes on our way to the airport. I recommend this place over several other properties in Manila/Makati.

Room Tip: There aren't any high floors, take a room which faces the beautiful pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dipayan_Nag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stay dates: Dec 17 to 18, 2016
What we loved most were the luxurious bed, breakfast buffet, and the complimentary wine with snacks (surprise!) for our anniversary. What we didn't like were the elevator card readers not working which happened thrice. They apologized but I expected something more since it happened three times. Also, I was slightly disappointed that they did not reset our internet access immediately when I called that we extended our stay. We had to call to ask why the internet wasn't working and were told that the username was changed. Other than that, customer service, particularly at Spectrum, was first class.
This is our second stay at Fairmont, the first one was in July this year, service was impeccable then.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffles and Fai... M, Hotel Manager at Fairmont Makati, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Dasya F,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that your overall experience was satisfactory. Regarding the incidents you mentioned, we again would like to apologize for the malfunctioning card reader. We have since fixed this issue, and we thank you for your patience. We would also like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with the internet service. We will certainly take your comments as valuable feedback that will help in our continuous efforts to improve our facilities and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Oliver Dudler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Luxury at its finest. Large room with 2 queen beds and well kept. We stayed over a weekend. Staff are very friendly and always attending to our needs. Very near Glorietta Mall and Landmark Department Store with easy access to Greenbelt, SM and Rustans. Serene location despite being in the central business district.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffles and Fai... M, Hotel Manager at Fairmont Makati, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Jay F,

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to provide you with sincere service. I assure you it is our pleasure to have been able to provide you with an oasis of calm in the heart of the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Oliver Dudler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.2 km away
New World Makati Hotel
0.5 km away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#4 of 80 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,877 reviews
0.1 km away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 80 in Makati
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#3 of 80 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.4 km away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.4 km away
Makati Diamond Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Makati

Property: Fairmont Makati
Address: 1 Raffles Drive, Makati Avenue | Corner Arnaiz Street, Makati, Luzon, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#2 Family Hotel in Makati
#2 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#3 Business Hotel in Makati
Price range (per night): $222 - $379
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Makati 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Makati's prestigious commercial business, the luxurious Fairmont Makati is a hotel with 280 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites including Fairmont Gold - our exclusive lifestyle hotel experience. This luxury Makati City hotel features six restaurants and lounges, over 1,700 sq m of versatile meeting and function space, including a 859 square meter ballroom accommodating up to 720 diners. Relax and re-energize in hotel's Willow Stream Spa, one of the city's most luxurious retreats, or the adjacent fitness center and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Fairmont Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Makati Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing