We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Don't Mind Staying Here Again If I Return to Manila”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Pasay
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We had arrived in Manila at a rather awkward time, and headed to the hotel hoping they would offer to safekeep our luggage while we went to get some breakfast and walk around before we check in at about lunch time or so. We ended up reaching the hotel at 5.30am, and were pleasantly surprised when the person at the reception said he could make an exception (seeing how fatigued we looked after an uncomfortable 10-hour bus ride from Banaue on the Ohayami bus) and allow us to check in immediately, as he had exactly 3 vacant rooms available, just the right number for our group. Best of all, the early check in did not come with any additional charges, and he even apologised that the rooms were on different levels!

That set the tone for the rest of our experience with the hotel staff during our stay. The folks in the restaurant were generally friendly and responded to requests promptly. Most of the hotel employees we met greeted us with a smile. In the next morning, when asked a member of staff if he could open the door to the pool deck for us, he apologised profusely when he realised the door was still locked 15 minutes after the time it was supposed to be open (7am), and immediately called his colleague to bring the keys. The both of them went about this whole episode with the urgency of a minor emergency and we were on the pool deck within 5 minutes.

As the hotel was new, the place was also generally clean (with the exception of the water in the swimming pool) and everything were working well. The room was also comfortable, except that we were allocated a room on the second floor, which we suspected was a smoking floor as the corridor had the stink of tobacco (but we understood that for the early check in, we should be grateful to take whatever was available and were in no position to be fussy).

The location was also pretty good. The hotel was within a reasonable distance to the airport and to many places in the city. It was also a 5-minute walk to the SM Mall of Asia.

A couple of minor gripes however was that the hotel was very pushy about guests utilising the services of the "recommended transport/tour operator" when people asked for transport. We felt we were over-charged for the journey to the airport after our check out. Also, the front desk got very messy when busy, and they consequently forgot about their promise to help us with arrangements for transport to the volcano in Tagaytay, leaving us waiting in our room for an hour for their phone call which never came.

On the whole though, we felt positive about our stay in the hotel, and would consider returning if we went to Manila again. We would just make sure we made our own transport arrangements.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelvinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicrotelMallofAsia, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us. It is most encouraging to learn that our front desk staff provided you with a warm welcome and even went the extra mile to ensure your comfort following a long and tiring bus ride from Banawe. We are equally pleased to know that our employees continue to deliver friendly and efficient service. We always look forward to receiving our guests’ valuable comments in order that we may improve our services and we took note of your comment concerning the delay in the opening of our roof deck as well as the lack of information on your Tagaytay tour. We apologize that you felt that our staff was being pushy in offering the hotel-accredited vehicles. Although priced slightly higher than the public metered taxis, which the hotel does not have any control of, our guests are assured of a safe and hassle-free journey to their destination. Thank you once again and be assured of our best efforts to continue to deserve your confidence. In the meantime my Team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,200 - 1,204 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

Our stay at the hotel is very good and we stayed there twice this year. The swimming pool is very small and it is ok if there are not many people who are there but if you are more than ten persons there, then it is not nice to get in. You allso have to wait a long time for a drink due to the personell must go down to get your order. There WIFI is good and was able to use it. The AC is noisy and unstable. The breakfast was excellent when we were there. Very nice personell working there specially in the restaurant.

Room Tip: I can recommend this place specially if you like to go shopping att the Mall of Asia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nene63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicrotelMallofAsia, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your honest feedback on the areas that we need to improve on and be assured that they will be given due attention. Thank you for taking the time to post a review in TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Good points
--very good service by its accommodating and hospitable hotel staff; didn't encounter hassles upon check-in and check-out because the staff were quick to serve the guests when they see a queue unlike Sofitel Philippine Plaza; good restaurant, nice elevator, very nice room view, big room, big beds; fantastic bay/sea view

Weak point
--pricing of the room should be lower; its hotel rate is the same or almost at par with other five star hotel already; wi-fi signal in the room was bad though the hotel website states that wi-fi is available at its lobby

Room Tip: Get the sea view room. The view is just fantastic and marvelous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank percydcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicrotelMallofAsia, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us. It is encouraging to hear that our employees continue to deliver warm, friendly and efficient service. It is always our aim to render a “hassle-free” experience for all our guests. We pride ourselves of our increasing return guest ratio and your words of appreciation come as a challenge for us to raise the bar of our standards. We welcome your feedback regarding our room rates as well as our wifi service. Be assured that we will take them into consideration. In the meantime, we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The overall experience in this hotel is good. Service is top notch, staff are friendly and efficient. Rooms are spacious, but I wish they would include free WiFi service in rooms and not just in the lobby. Breakfast is ok too. My only complain is with the noisy A/C unit and its dirty filters. I cleaned the filters myself because it took the staff quite a while to go to my room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leftcorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicrotelMallofAsia, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable & relaxing stay. We appreciate your suggestion regarding the free wi-fi access and be assured that we will take this into consideration. We apologize for the delayed response of our maintenance staff to your request to clean the filter of the air-con unit in your room. Our Chief Engineer will ensure the regular maintenance of all our air-con units to avoid similar incidents. Thank you for posting a review in TripAdvisor and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

stayed here for the third time just because of its convenience to SMX convention center. service is not getting better though. front desk clerks should be trained more on being alert, attentive and give priority to who is first in line. it's not because the person behind me is a foreigner or a nice looking lady that they had to attend to them rather than me, a short, plain looking Filipina who had been waiting for my turn and being first in line.
well, what's nice is they had let us checked us in earlier than 2pm.And the security guy helped us with wifi connection.

Room Tip: book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicrotelMallofAsia, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor and we appreciate your feedback on our front desk service. Please be assured that we will take action in order to improve in this regard. In the meantime, we all look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pasay hotels
0.1 km away
Conrad Manila
Conrad Manila
#3 of 35 in Pasay
1,064 reviews
1.3 km away
Tryp by Wyndham Mall of Asia Manila
1 km away
Hotel 101 Manila
Hotel 101 Manila
#12 of 35 in Pasay
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Heritage Hotel Manila
0.7 km away
Golden Phoenix Hotel
Golden Phoenix Hotel
#9 of 35 in Pasay
389 reviews
1.7 km away
The Mabuhay Manor
The Mabuhay Manor
#7 of 35 in Pasay
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia

Address: Coralway Ave Cor Seaside Blvd | Mall of Asia Complex, Pasay, Luzon 1308, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Pasay
Price Range: $94 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This economy class hotel is convenient to a myriad of popular tourist sites in Manila. The hotel offers 150 clean and comfortable rooms that are adorned with modern amenities such as chiropractic approved mattresses, color television and cable channels, window seating for relaxation, built-in desk and furniture and wireless Internet access. Guests will also find a restaurant and outdoor pool which offer a perfect place to relax after a long day of exploration. The Microtel Hotels & Resorts Mall of Asia is the perfect property for guests that want quaint accommodation in a prime location with signature Microtel quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Manila Mall Of Asia Hotel Pasay
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Manila/At Mall Of Asia Metro Manila/Pasay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing