We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
S$82
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
kgc
5249
Good looking hotel but Awful service
Reviewed 27 Jul 2019via mobile
The hotel is very nicely laid out and decorated. The rooms are well appointed and brightly lit with high ceilings. But service is sub par and completely incompetent. Even basic features like room phone was broken despite repeated requests to have it fixed. They had assigned me to a smoking floor without first verifying if I was OK with it. (We weren't.) I had also pre-requested for breakfast room service for a specific time but it was not delivered without my having to go to the front desk to follow up. The service people are extremely ill motivated, slow, and unreliable. They will agree, confirm, accept requests but fail to deliver.
Date of stay: July 2019
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
S$152
S$127
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
0.3 km from Golden Phoenix Hotel Manila
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
S$65
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
3.0 km from Golden Phoenix Hotel Manila
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
S$65
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
1.8 km from Golden Phoenix Hotel Manila
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Pool
Tripadvisor
S$133
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Golden Phoenix Hotel Manila
Free parking
Restaurant
Hotel Facade
Tripadvisor
S$73
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from Golden Phoenix Hotel Manila
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
S$22
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Golden Phoenix Hotel Manila
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$55
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Golden Phoenix Hotel Manila
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    S$108
  • Trip.com
1.1 km from Golden Phoenix Hotel Manila
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sky Lounge Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$146
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Golden Phoenix Hotel Manila
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$87
  • travelup.com
3.5 km from Golden Phoenix Hotel Manila
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pasay
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveller rating
114
259
139
58
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
114
259
139
58
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking distance sm mall of asia buffet breakfast choose this hotel shower room close to the airport moa floor arena manila gym cons taxis toiletries staycation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 629 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2019 via mobile

Good points:

The room is big and spacious. The view is amazing. There are FamilyMart, 7/11, and other restaurants below. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The pillows and bed are soft.

Their breakfast spread offers a variety of food. They have oriental, some Indian food, egg station, pasta, fruits, yogurt, different kinds of juices, rice, more than 5 types of viands (like corned beef, bacon, marinated pork, etc.), congee, pastries, and many others.

It’s near Mall of Asia.

Bad points:

The price is designed for foreigners. There are a lot of foreigners staying at the Golden Phoenix. But they have promos from time to time. And i believe you could ask for discounts. Booking online would also give you a lower rate. But better call the hotel first to compare the prices. Their regular rate with no promos and no discount is Php 12,000 per night.

Their hall is dark and bare. It’s not welcoming. It’s like walking in a maze. You have to go through a lot of hallways to get to the restaurant. And their buffet area seems like it’s located in the middle of a huge space-the middle of nowhere.

If I want to be near MOA and I have the budget, I might stay here. But there are a lot of options in Manila. Cheaper and nicer options.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank oellawing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2019

I stayed at this hotel overnight after flying in from Australia and before transferring down to Batangas to catch a ferry. The hotel is well priced and reasonably close to the international airport from which it provides a pick-up service at a good price. This is booked when you book your room.

The reception staff were efficient and the room clean and comfortable. Breakfast wasn't included, however it wasn't expensive and was good value for money for a buffet style with a wide range of choices.

The hotel is deceptively large and a bit confusing to move around in due to the multiple lifts and escalators serving different floors. The only other downside for me is that there aren't many eating places nearby outside of the hotel.

The huge Mall of Asia isn't that far if you're into shopping and that sort of shopping mall experience.

I would stay here again for a Manila overnight.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nautilus127
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2019

We really loved it, it was our first stop in our Honeymoon. The staff is very friendly and tourist oriented, they guided us and cared about our well-being in our first days in the Philippines. The frontdesk lady; princess, was super nice, professional and very gentle and clear with her explanation.
The rooms are super clean, the roon service is great, and they can provide a 24 hours massage service - to the room! also for couples. The breakfast bouffet is very variet.
You might think being in the big mighty Manila, you will feel the industrial attitude, though in this incredible hotel we felt very personally treated and cared of. Highly recommended!!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Maramka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reservations T, duty manager at Golden Phoenix Hotel Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2019

"Dear Maramka,

We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay in the hotel. It is nice also nice to know that our team, especially Princess, was able to make your stay enjoyable. We will definitely share your comments to her. Our efforts are always worthwhile whenever guests appreciate the service of our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2019

A large Hotel that still manages to retain a personal touch in dealing with customers. The rooms are clean, well appointed and comfortable and the staff are professional and helpful. The location is great with several restaurants in the same building and very close to the Mall Of Asia. I had a pleasant stay and will stay there again.

Date of stay: June 2019
2  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2019

Stayed at this hotel for one night after a return from Singapore and again for two additional nights after a visit to central Luzon all within the same week in April. On both occasions, stayed in a Deluxe King room. Spacious room with a comfortable bed although some of the the decor is showing its age, especially the patched wallpaper I saw in each room on both visits. Good selection of English channels available on the room flat screen television. WiFi was good. Very courteous and helpful staff at the front desk. Elevator setup was a little strange when checking in and departing with larger suitcases for third floor or higher floors requiring you to transfer at the second floor (escalator from lobby to the second floor was available also when not transferring cases). Food at the upper floor restaurant was okay but service did seem slow despite the lack of customers at the time.

Room tip: A higher floor provides more insulation away from any street noise.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank westerntrailrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews