We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
3
12
18
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
12
18
6
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Location is good as it is surrounded by restaurants, near a mini mall, accessible to transport, ATM, church and hospitals.

The room we got was room 409. I liked it as it was spacious for triple sharing. We had windows that peek one from the front side and another at the back. It has a TV, refrigerator and coffee table. View was nothing spectacular though.

Bed linens were clean and bed quality was comfortable. Over all the room was ok.

Staff were friendly.

Downside: hot water was not that hot. The bathroom fixtures need to be replaced as they are old. Hallway is quite dark.

They charge half day rate if you come early for check in as well as if you check out late.

Good for travellers on a budget.

Room Tip: Room 409 is spacious with refrigerator, TV and coffee table
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua Thad Car... D, Manager at NS Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Hello! Thank you so much for leaving a review, the NS Royal Hotel team is delightful to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Also, for the downside, we are very sorry for the negative experience you had, but we had already been renovated into a Hotel and we will do our very best to serve you better. We are looking forward to hear from you again. Have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The lobby of this place is modest but presentable. It has a souvenir shop on the side and the cafe is at the back. The elevator is on the left side. The elevator is small, good for 8 persons as the sign says, and built by Otis.

Upon arriving at the third floor, the hallways are inadequately lit. There are lights but absolutely not well-lit, even during the day. The walls have patches of new paint over old with cracks obviously cemented and painted over. It already shows it's dated.

The room is small and the bathroom is smaller than most hotels I've stayed in before. The room is equipped with a late 90s air conditioning unit that still works well and can be cold in the middle of the night. Since it is a window-type ACU, the hum is something I am accustomed to and can sleep through. The TV is a disappointing 14-inch CRT TV with a good lineup of cable channels. The TV rack attached to the wall with decorative "awnings" which makes it height lower and I hit my head as I was getting a glass on the table beneath it.

The place is adjacent to school grounds. St. Theresa's of Cebu. You can get to hear playground sounds like swings and children playing on early weekday mornings.

The bathroom door shows paint chipping off near and around the hinges. The tiles have seen better days as some of the sides of the tiles are dark. The water is sourced from the ground or hard water. Soap and shampoo does not lather to expectations. The toilet itself has to be flushed several times for the business left behind to go down. The mirror has these strange round black spots. The hot water is only felt about 5 minutes are the hot water knob is turned.

The bed is averagely comfortable and lamps and lighting inside the room is conveniently adequate. There are enough sockets to plug in your mobile phone charger and laptop. The appearance of the closet does not look appealing. Chipped off paint is seen once more but not dirty. 4 ordinary plastic clothes hangers are inside. No drawers in it but has decks to store your belongings.

The room door uses no key card. It still uses the door knob and key to open it. Inside the room, there is a latch and a second lock you turn for more security. Smoking is not allowed inside the rooms as it can activate the fire alarm via the smoke detector in the rooms. However, since the room we stayed in is not far from the fire exit, another guest from some other room smoked at the fire exit and we can smell it inside the room.

Wi-Fi is available but not free. P50 per hour or P150 per day or P750 per week. I did not bother. I have my own Internet USB stick.

Parking is available at the front and at the basement. The place is conveniently located near restaurants, commercial establishments and entertainment centers. You don't even need to hail a cab to get there.

The staff is courteous. The free breakfast is available from 6-10 am and has very, very limited choices of three set menus. The coffee is brewed and free-flowing. Brown sugar is available and the creamer is non-dairy.

Pricing of the hotel is affordable.

Since the stay I had here was for business, I did not stay the the room much of the day. However, if you are vacationing or on some alone time, there are better choices elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hitman531ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua Thad Car... D, Manager at NS Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Hello! Thank you so much for leaving a review, the NS Royal Hotel team is delightful to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Also, for the downside, we are very sorry for the negative experience you had, but we had already been renovated into a Hotel and we will do our very best to serve you better. We are looking forward to hear from you again. Have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel oringunally it was going to be for 7 weeks, but I only atayed 2 weeks .
As I was treated at times like a criminal by staff from the restrurant and also by a receptionist.

They were bad mannered ignorent and aloof .
After 3 occasions ,and the last occasion i had all on not to explode in anger , i cheacked out.

I payed for all my stay up front and they would not give me a refund for the time i did not stay there even though it was not my fault
. In 20 visits to Cebu this is by far the worst hotel i have ever stayed in and i definately would not recomend it to anyone

Room Tip: Nothing good to say
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tunest16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua Thad Car... D, Manager at NS Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Hello! Thank you for leaving a review, we are very sorry for the bad experience you had. We already had take an action on this, and now we are also renovated into a Hotel and will do our very best to serve you better. We are looking forward to hear from you again soon, have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The room was very small. Most of the walls were painted white but they really needed a new coating; looked like dirty hand prints everywhere. The bed had a 6 inch foam mattress that was very actually comfortable. The handles on the shower to control the hot and cold water were worn out. You had to hold them sideways to control the water temp. Breakfast was rice, slice of lunch meat and an egg. They had a big percolator full of coffee you could drink all you wanted. Parking is tight but they made room for us. The window A/C was noisy but it helped drown out the traffic outside. Close to Cebu Doctors and Chung Hua Hospitals.

Room Tip: Our room was next to the road, very noisy. Try to get a back room if you want it quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua Thad Car... D, Manager at NS Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Hello! Thank you so much for leaving a review, the NS Royal Hotel team is delightful to hear that you were somehow enjoyed your stay. Also, for the downside, we are very sorry for the negative experience you had, but we had already took an action on this and we had already been renovated into a Hotel and we will do our very best to serve you better. We are looking forward to hear from you again. Have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Spent one night here before we left Cebu for home. Hotel dated, but the room was clean tidy and comfortable. The room we had was nearer the top of the building and had a balcony with a nice table and chair set - with views over toward Mango Ave & Robinsons Mall area. The Bathroom was large and modern. Found getting to the room interesting...up elevator then down a hallway, down stairs then along a corridor. Seemed odd looking the lay out, but i cannot complain about the service. Pleasant security and front room staff. We both felt safe staying there. Breakfast was under whelming.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank the2ndhasapulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua Thad Car... D, Manager at NS Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Hello! Thank you so much for leaving a review, the NS Royal Hotel team is delightful to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I would also like to inform you that we had already been renovated into a Hotel and we are looking forward to hear from you again. Have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews