We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to be Refurbished.”
Review of NS Royal Pensione

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NS Royal Pensione
Ranked #71 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Reviewed 22 January 2013

It lives up to its name as a pension house. It has a simple lobby and the receptionist is friendly. The hallway is dark and the place really looks old. Its location is good since you're in the city center. Room shows sign of ageing and it really needs some refurbishing or repairs. But pretty much the place is still livable. By the way no free wifi which is one of the downside of this hotel since most of the property of the same rate is offering free wifi & I think they should reconsider it soon if they want more patrons to book with them.

Room Tip: Good hotel for Sinulog event
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOVEME2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

Location is good as it is surrounded by restaurants, near a mini mall, accessible to transport, ATM, church and hospitals.

The room we got was room 409. I liked it as it was spacious for triple sharing. We had windows that peek one from the front side and another at the back. It has a TV, refrigerator and coffee table. View was nothing spectacular though.

Bed linens were clean and bed quality was comfortable. Over all the room was ok.

Staff were friendly.

Downside: hot water was not that hot. The bathroom fixtures need to be replaced as they are old. Hallway is quite dark.

They charge half day rate if you come early for check in as well as if you check out late.

Good for travellers on a budget.

Room Tip: Room 409 is spacious with refrigerator, TV and coffee table
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The lobby of this place is modest but presentable. It has a souvenir shop on the side and the cafe is at the back. The elevator is on the left side. The elevator is small, good for 8 persons as the sign says, and built by Otis.

Upon arriving at the third floor, the hallways are inadequately lit. There are lights but absolutely not well-lit, even during the day. The walls have patches of new paint over old with cracks obviously cemented and painted over. It already shows it's dated.

The room is small and the bathroom is smaller than most hotels I've stayed in before. The room is equipped with a late 90s air conditioning unit that still works well and can be cold in the middle of the night. Since it is a window-type ACU, the hum is something I am accustomed to and can sleep through. The TV is a disappointing 14-inch CRT TV with a good lineup of cable channels. The TV rack attached to the wall with decorative "awnings" which makes it height lower and I hit my head as I was getting a glass on the table beneath it.

The place is adjacent to school grounds. St. Theresa's of Cebu. You can get to hear playground sounds like swings and children playing on early weekday mornings.

The bathroom door shows paint chipping off near and around the hinges. The tiles have seen better days as some of the sides of the tiles are dark. The water is sourced from the ground or hard water. Soap and shampoo does not lather to expectations. The toilet itself has to be flushed several times for the business left behind to go down. The mirror has these strange round black spots. The hot water is only felt about 5 minutes are the hot water knob is turned.

The bed is averagely comfortable and lamps and lighting inside the room is conveniently adequate. There are enough sockets to plug in your mobile phone charger and laptop. The appearance of the closet does not look appealing. Chipped off paint is seen once more but not dirty. 4 ordinary plastic clothes hangers are inside. No drawers in it but has decks to store your belongings.

The room door uses no key card. It still uses the door knob and key to open it. Inside the room, there is a latch and a second lock you turn for more security. Smoking is not allowed inside the rooms as it can activate the fire alarm via the smoke detector in the rooms. However, since the room we stayed in is not far from the fire exit, another guest from some other room smoked at the fire exit and we can smell it inside the room.

Wi-Fi is available but not free. P50 per hour or P150 per day or P750 per week. I did not bother. I have my own Internet USB stick.

Parking is available at the front and at the basement. The place is conveniently located near restaurants, commercial establishments and entertainment centers. You don't even need to hail a cab to get there.

The staff is courteous. The free breakfast is available from 6-10 am and has very, very limited choices of three set menus. The coffee is brewed and free-flowing. Brown sugar is available and the creamer is non-dairy.

Pricing of the hotel is affordable.

Since the stay I had here was for business, I did not stay the the room much of the day. However, if you are vacationing or on some alone time, there are better choices elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hitman531ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel oringunally it was going to be for 7 weeks, but I only atayed 2 weeks .
As I was treated at times like a criminal by staff from the restrurant and also by a receptionist.

They were bad mannered ignorent and aloof .
After 3 occasions ,and the last occasion i had all on not to explode in anger , i cheacked out.

I payed for all my stay up front and they would not give me a refund for the time i did not stay there even though it was not my fault
. In 20 visits to Cebu this is by far the worst hotel i have ever stayed in and i definately would not recomend it to anyone

Room Tip: Nothing good to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tunest16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The room was very small. Most of the walls were painted white but they really needed a new coating; looked like dirty hand prints everywhere. The bed had a 6 inch foam mattress that was very actually comfortable. The handles on the shower to control the hot and cold water were worn out. You had to hold them sideways to control the water temp. Breakfast was rice, slice of lunch meat and an egg. They had a big percolator full of coffee you could drink all you wanted. Parking is tight but they made room for us. The window A/C was noisy but it helped drown out the traffic outside. Close to Cebu Doctors and Chung Hua Hospitals.

Room Tip: Our room was next to the road, very noisy. Try to get a back room if you want it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.7 km away
Pacific Pensionne
Pacific Pensionne
#75 of 92 in Cebu City
96 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#82 of 92 in Cebu City
154 reviews
0.6 km away
Dynasty Tourist Inn
Dynasty Tourist Inn
#40 of 92 in Cebu City
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#33 of 92 in Cebu City
61 reviews
0.4 km away
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
#24 of 92 in Cebu City
250 reviews
2.1 km away
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NS Royal Pensione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NS Royal Pensione

Address: Juana Osmena Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range: $30 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — NS Royal Pensione 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your NS Royal Pensione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ns Royal Pensione Hotel Cebu City
NS Royal Pensione Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing