We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$261
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$366
US$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Goldberry Suites & Hotel(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
US$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eloisa Royal Suites(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$42
US$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dulcinea Hotel and Suites(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$40
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$319
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,971)
Filter reviews
1,971 results
Traveller rating
997
641
171
86
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
997
641
171
86
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno tipping policysalt waterwall climbingfiji restaurantlagoon sidesavannah grillmogambo springskilimanjaro cafefiring rangewater poolsman made lagoonlagoon view roomswim up barpaddle boardingpoolside roomgames roomday trippers
Filter
Updating list...
570 - 575 of 1,971 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2015

My husband and I attended this resort where our son held his wedding. It was a great place to have the wedding which accommodated many of our family and friends. The atmosphere was calm and soothing with many activities in this wide expansive area which included pitch and put, rock climbing, canoeing, archery, bike riding and lots more and of course swimming which catered for children with slides etc in the pool area. The food was great with a wide variety to choose from. I would thoroughly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: All rooms have something good to offer
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bernadette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2015

Dear Bernadette M,

We are happy that you appreciated Plantation Bay's ambience and found it an ideal venue for weddings and family gatherings. Moreover, that you loved our food and the variety of activities we have at the resort.

Thank you for the kind review. We wish the new couple a long and happy married life together!


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015

If you like swimming pools, you will definitely love Plantation Bay. I particularly enjoyed the saltwater pools as I could just float on the water, clear my mind, and relax. But if you're a beach bum - you'll be disappointed. The beach front is small. No, tiny. I love the service and food though. Just a little warning for light eaters - the servings are good enough for two.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet don't get a room near the main pools.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kethry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

Dear Kethry,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities, especially our 2.3-hectare saltwater lagoons. Conscious that we are beach-challenged, we built these extensive internal lagoons plus four freshwater swimming pools of varying designs for our guests to enjoy.

Thank you for the review, especially for sharing that you loved our service and found the serving in our restaurants generous.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015

This is one of our favourite places to relax. The facilities are top quality and a lot of thought and care has gone into the design of the resort. We love the humour on the various place names.
The spa is fabulous - excellent treatments in a really relaxing environment.
The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful.
There is a good choice of restaurants on site, everything from a coffee and danish pastry at a small bar to a themed buffet with entertainment in the evening.
There are also plenty of activities available such as jet skiing, island hopping and snorkling.
I have been there four times now, which says it all really.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sg1scribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

Dear sg1scribe,

Thank you for the rave review.

We're delighted to learn that, as a returning guest who came all the way from the UK, you consider Plantation Bay a well-designed resort with excellent spa and staff. And it’s nice that you appreciated our facilities and activities, including the variety of restaurants available in the resort.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience. Reviews like yours are highly appreciated and inspire us to do even better at upholding our standards.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2015

That sounds harsh but honestly for the price it's awful. I photograph hotels and resorts for a living so I understand service and quality. We paid around $250usd pr/night after taxes and fees and it feels like a place that should cost $100usd tops. The staff is friendly but the service is so slow, they are extremely understaffed. Half the time we call the front desk no one answers. No menus in the room, nothing in the mini bar, you even have to return a ticket for your towels as if you are going to steal it. Again, this place would be fine for $100 pr/night and I can see why families would like it but not for this price. This is the first time I've ever tried to check out mid-stay and the manager on duty again was pleasant but it was extremely fake "hotel nice" and he wasn't apologetic at all about our dissatisfaction. I wish I stuck with my original plan to stay at the Movenpick. The pool was huge but it wasn't clean at all, see picture below. I wanted to be happy, this was a rare vacation for me but day 1 and i wish i could check out.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jmott78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2015

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Our records show that this reviewer booked two different room categories. He stayed on the higher room category on the first night and when due for room transfer, demanded an upgrade to our most sought-after room, which was not the room category he reserved. The Duty Manager of course declined, which prompted him to threaten us about moving to another hotel.

We understand that not every guest will be happy in our hotel, and we have sufficient business from guests who are happy, that we can afford to be liberal with those who don’t. Thus, the Duty Manager agreed on a hotel transfer, making it clear to him that we would be canceling his reservation without charge. To our surprise, he stuck with his original reservation. It came as no surprise though that he posted this review to try to punish us for refusing to be intimidated by his threats.

For the reference of everyone, as an environment-conscious hotel, our room service menu is available via an online directory, and because most guests prefer to use the in-room mini-fridge to store drinks, chocolates, and snacks acquired elsewhere, we provide a mini-fridge (empty) rather than a minibar (stocked with items that most guests don't want). Still, for guests who prefer a minibar setup, we are happy to oblige with their preferred drinks.

Lastly, on our website, we go out of our way to advise prospective guests in advance that Plantation Bay is a man-made environment - just as most 5-star resorts around the world are man-made environments. The lagoons have a cement floor and occasionally need to be drained for cleaning. Much “rockwork” is cement or plastic. Most guests quickly forget these details, but some people just can’t get over them. (On the other hand, our lagoons are a lot cleaner and safer than a real seawater lagoon would be.)


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

There is so much to do and everything is in a scenic setting. There are pools all over the place and different places to have fun or relax from the sand beach to the pool with a diving area to the pool with long slides and waterfall. We rented rooms right next to the pool where our patio door exited right to the sandy beach pool. The rooms were very big and clean with good air conditioning. The TV had a lot of cable channels if you wanted to watch a movie. The bathrooms were huge with a separate shower, bath tub. The service was very good. The lifeguards were very attentive so you felt safe for the kids to swim. The food was really good in the restaurants. We got a discount because one of my cousins friends gave us a discount with an extra upgrade. The wifi was also really good so you can stay connected. It's only about 1hr from the Cebu airport. Definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank depazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

Dear depazed,

We're glad that you and your family enjoyed the variety of activities and facilities we offer, especially the pools and lagoons with slides and waterfall. Thank you too for the kind words about the rooms and bathrooms, and that you found our service and food very good. We recently upgraded our Wi-Fi connectivity and we're happy that you appreciated our efforts.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews