We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$419
US$364
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
US$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Goldberry Suites & Hotel(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dee Guesthouse(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$17
US$13
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eloisa Royal Suites(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$62
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dulcinea Hotel and Suites(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haruhay Dream Resort(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$32
US$25
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$1,702
Movenpick.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
12
7
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
7
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared balconywedding partysmall hotelgood sizeprivate beachprivacypropertywifivillafacilities
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here when visiting Cebu and what a fantastic place to spend our time in. It's a really lovely hotel, absolutely gorgeous. Our room was massive, very comfortable and clean. It's only a small hotel (8 rooms I think) so it feels like your own private fancy villa. The facilities are top class. The pool is excellent and really big with lovely views of the sea. There is also a private beach with lots of space and lovely garden area. It was so relaxing and quiet. The staff are fantastic and so friendly. WiFi was very quick. Breakfast wasn't substantial but did the job- some fruit, coffee, juice, toast and a few choices of hot food. The food off the menu was good- we had dinner and lunch a few days. Service was quick, food is reasonably priced and was lovely. Overall we loved this hotel, it's a real gem and much better than the larger fancy hotels nearby as you get a quieter place with better facilities. I highly recommend it!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Hello all.
This small quaint "Hideaway" (so to speak) has to be the most relaxing quality "hotel" in all of Cebu/Mactan.
This small property has only 8 rooms, a beautiful pool, and a wonderful view of the waters surrounding the island.

We stayed on the 2nd floor (#7), smack in the middle with an outside large deck sitting/viewing area.
As it is a small "beach house" type property, anything on the 1st floor may be subject to a bit of noise.

One almost misses it when travelling down the main road, as the entrance drive looks more like the beginning of a driveway to a home.
The sign is there, but you'd better be actively looking for it.

The help was most gracious, and attentive.

There is a small check in desk on the right, with the rest of the room opening out to the rear.
Inside here, and out to the back, are tables & chairs where one can eat breakfast, or...just relax.

AS it was such a small property, we thought that it would be just buffet for breakfast.
Yes, they did have the obligatory buffet bins there, as expected, but...we were pleasantly surprised to find
that we could also order special requests, as they did have a "live kitchen" also.

We did order omelettes, etc, and there was no problem.
A real plus for a small property like this.

The air conditioning was one of the inside wall mounted units, and you could have made icicles
if you wanted to.

As part of the property, separate from the "hotel" part, was a big function hall bldg. where one could hold
a good size graduation party or wedding, etc.

Yes...the small short driveway opens into a larger front part of the property with room for a good # of cars.

Additionally, you are just a very short distance from the airport there on Mactan.

I do not envy the people who stay in Cebu itself who get caught up in that horrendous traffic, and "have to get to the airport ASAP".

You will never regret staying at this gem hide-away.

Jerry

In conclusion, all 4 of us in my family rated this property as one of the nicest/no noise/no crowds/private getaways
that we used during our trip here in Cebu & Thailand.

Room Tip: Be sure to request 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mangolover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

If you are a wedding party or organizing a reunion, this is an outstanding hotel - and easy 5 star experience. The view is fabulous, nice pool, very pleasant outside sitting area. That said, the entire property is only around 8-10 rooms and it is arranged family style with absolutely zero privacy. If your parents are in the room on your rights and your Aunt is in the room on your left, you can all head out to the shared balcony, chit chat and enjoy the view. The downstairs rooms open directly onto the dinning room patio area ... great if you family is sitting out their chatting. If you are NOT with the group, the only way to get any privacy is to pull the curtains and sit in a dark room ... despite having a beautiful view beyond the curtains.

If you are travelling individually, the only way you will be able to enjoy the Chateau by the Sea is if you get lucky and there is no large party going on - the problem is that Chateau by the Sea caters specifically to those events and has several very large venues adjacent to this small but very nice hotel.

Planning a party or family get together - 5 stars, you will love it
Travelling individually or on business - 1 star, avoid at all cost

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor (top floor). The ground floor rooms have floor to ceiling windows that open out on the dining area.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lafbizguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Chateau by the Sea only has 8 bedrooms, and we spent 5 very pleasant days at this beautiful and quiet boutique hotel feeling like we had the place all to ourselves. There were other guests, but most of the time it was just our family swimming in the pool or looking for shells at the beach. Although the beach wasn't huge, the water was calm and clear. We loved swimming in the large pool, which did not smell of chlorine like at other big resorts. Our ocean view room was spacious, bright, clean, and had a contemporary look, which we liked. The shared balcony was large, and we hardly ever encountered other guests there. We found the staff to be friendly, attentive, and personable. We had breakfast there every morning - if there are only a few guests around, you're able to create your own breakfast by ticking whatever you wanted from the breakfast selection, otherwise they'd have the breakfast buffet consisting of different local meats, rice, soup, breads, eggs on request, coffee (from a coffee machine), tea, and orange juice. The lunch and dinner menu is limited, but good. We would definitely come here again and highly recommend this boutique hotel to anyone not wanting to stay at a large resort.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean-view room
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle01ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia D, Owner at Chateau by The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words. At The Residence of Chateau by The Sea, we take much effort in making our guests feel the comforts and warmth of being in their own home. I will share your review with our team as I am sure they will be as ecstatic to read it as I was. We look forward to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Location: 4/5
Rooms: 3/5
Service: 3/5

This area is only good for Wedding reception. If you want to stay here, I don't recommend. You will have a hard time looking for the staff, especially if you are checked-in their villas.

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iOpenerMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia D, Owner at Chateau by The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Thank you for your review. We take your comments to heart and will make sure we improve on our service. We hope you give us another chance to serve you again and hopefully, give you a much better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews