We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Dinastiya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dinastiya Hotel
Ranked #41 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

I was on a 72-hour visa-free trip and this hotel was recommended by Scandi Classics tour company. I really enjoyed my stay here, a lovely small, clean, comfortable unpretentious hotel. I was a bit worried about having to use public transport (I speak no Russian), but the Ulitsa Rubinsteina leads right onto Nevsky Prospekt and you can easily walk all the way to the Hermitage if you want. The street itself is full of cool and trendy pubs and restaurants. The breakfasts served every morning were excellent. The small hotel restaurant also does evening meals, which were good but the portions were rather small. The young reception staff speak English, some better than others!, and went out of their way to be helpful.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank neilmcrae01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2016

Location is super: in a street full of upmarket but reasonably priced bars & restaurants (& a convenience store or two) - which is nevertheless not noisy in the evening, and beautifully clean - just off St Petersburg's equivalent to Oxford Street, Nevsky Prospect, and round the corner from a metro station (Dostoyevskaya / Vladimirskaya). The Hermitage & many other places worth visiting are walkable - but these central areas are often really busy with groups of tourists, as well as Russians, who don't have the Brits' idea of personal space (I was surprised to be walked into quite so often). The traffic is noisy and can be pretty wild, too, with less than scrupulous regard to speed limits or even red lights. All this makes the walking more tiring than you may imagine; but taxis are relatively cheap & the metro do-able.

The hotel is over several floors of three interconnecting buildings. If you have any quantity of luggage, the lack of lift & the extra little steps connecting the various corridors are quite a pain, though the excellent & very friendly desk staff would no doubt help if you were stuck. Everywhere is very clean and well-maintained.

Drinking water coolers on each floor were a nice surprise, as was the little fridge in our 'standard' (?) room - ideal for chilling the cheap but excellent champagne that you could buy everywhere. The room & bathroom were small but provided all we needed: excellent shower, small basic toiletries, and even bathrobes - though I'd happily have forgone those for a hook on the back of the bathroom door & a little more space to put things in the bathroom. We didn't find any non-Russian channels on the little TV but weren't there to watch TV anyway. The mattress was superb & that and the quietness of the room, which overlooked a small courtyard and the back of the kitchen, enabled a really good night's sleep. The air conditioning was useful & the double glazed window was openable, too.

Breakfast was included. Juice was OK, coffee, bread (toaster provided), cheese & cold meats were all good, porridge and pancakes ('blinis') were very good, the latter probably buckwheat. Other items were variable, some verging on the weird: the only fruit was tinned pineapple chunks; the white stuff in small glasses was probably cottage cheese, texture unusual. The 'omlet' was like no other omelette I've ever seen in any country (cut into rectangles, strange texture) & the dumplings were not great (unidentifiable meat inside). There were various bowls of whiteish & and also pinkish stuff, some of which was no doubt sour cream. Jam appeared occasionally & was very sweet.

The same small area acted as a cafe all day long & we ate there a few times. Prices were very good (though we never really worked out what the 'business lunch' was, & what the specials, if any, were). The food was, again, sometimes not quite what we expected: 'salmon in cream sauce' was simply salmon + white sauce, neither with much seasoning or particular flavour. My companions enjoyed the meat dishes they ordered; the best things I had were red caviar, mushroom soup, Greek salad & the cheese platter. Beer and wines were good. Service was fine but, in contrast to the desk staff, the serving staff were not at all friendly - & did not even reply when greeted in Russian. If you ordered something that wasn't on the menu, they'd simply say 'niet' - the brusqueness takes a bit of getting used to.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay & were delighted with this choice of hotel, which offers pretty much all one might need for a visit to St P, and at very good prices.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank eeaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Right on Rubinstein restaurant street -short walk to Nevsky Prospect. Loved the front desk staff, they stored our luggage and helped with all questions. Filtered water on each floor and greAt breakfast.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank tlfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We booked this hotel for our visa-free visit. We arrived to SPB on the St Peter Line ship and a shuttle van dropped us off at St Isaac's Square. Rubinshteina St is quite a long walk from there, but worth it! Dinastiya was a nice place to stay. The rooms were basic but very comfortable, there were two fluffy robes to relax in at the end of the day. Water coolers were available on every floor. The staff was very helpful and kind, they are why I rated it Excellent instead of Very Good. Nice breakfast, lots to choose from. Rubinshteina St is a cool place, lots of good restaurants. Walking anywhere in SPB takes forever, but the location of the hotel is pretty central to all the must-see places.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you have a hard time going up stairs, request a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Koivunen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

we chose this Hotel due to its excellent location near the Nev. it was an added bonus we found out as it was in Rubinshteina which is a known local foody and bar area, next door is Pedro and Gomez a great bar plus many otheres nearby. The room we had was on the forth floor and as there is no lift its not for those unfit or unable to climb up stairs. It was fairly well appointed but probably basic for most European standards, but we thought it ok. It was kept nice and clean and rooms serviced daily, we had our breakfast included which was ok and enough to keep you going till lunch, it was a local fare of blinis, saurkraut, meat stew and sausages plus hard boiled eggs, bread etc. coffee was also ok. well worth it for value. All the staff were excellent and helpful.

Room Tip: lower rooms if unfit as no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cityseer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Cronwell Inn Stremyannaya
#58 of 359 in St. Petersburg
326 reviews
Vladimir
5th Corner Hotel
5th Corner Hotel
#60 of 359 in St. Petersburg
468 reviews
Nevskiy
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
#61 of 359 in St. Petersburg
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vladimir
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
#64 of 359 in St. Petersburg
444 reviews
Nevskiy
Hotel Grifon
Hotel Grifon
#109 of 359 in St. Petersburg
145 reviews
Vladimir
Allegro Hotel On Ligovskiy Ave
Allegro Hotel On Ligovskiy Ave
#36 of 359 in St. Petersburg
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dinastiya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinastiya Hotel

Address: Rubinshteina St., 29/28, St. Petersburg 191002, Russia (Formerly Eurasia Hotel Dynasty)
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $54 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dinastiya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is situated in a restored 19th Century mansion, 7 minutes' walk from Nevsky Prospect and 2 minutes from Dostoevskaya and Vladimirskaya metro stations. Hotel opened its doors in 2007, quickly earning its reputation as a comfortable and hospitable hotel. The hotel's name speaks for itself. The styling of the hotel's interior features the use of the heraldic symbols of the noble houses of the Russian Empire and Europe.. Taking a stroll along Rubinshteyna Street, you can stop in for a rest and a bite at one of the many cafes and restaurants found in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dinastiya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing