We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$580/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kobe Motomachi Tokyu REI Hotel(Kobe)(Great Value!)
US$78
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
US$569
US$333
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$99
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$152
US$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
US$377
US$319
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$388/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
US$413
US$309
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$76
US$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$62/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$84
US$47
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$69/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
136
123
25
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
123
25
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest buildingmassage chairbuffet dinnerjapanese stylearima onsenkobe beefopen areamen and womenonsen hoteltrain stationonsen poolstempurain room dininghot springschecking outcounter staffvisit japan
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Luxury onsen hotel set in beautiful Arima. A premium to pay as it is steep but a pretty good choice as the onsen water is of fantastic quality with many pools. The service is impeccable and good food too. Came here in June 2016.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Chee KongDaniel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
兵衛向陽閣, マネージャー at Hyoe Koyokaku, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Dear Danielyong,
Thank you for taking the time to share on TripAvisor impressions following your stay at our ryokan.
We are very glad to read that you find our service to be impeccable and the food to be good.
Also, the pictures you uploaded are beautiful.
We hope that you enjoyed your stay and that you will visit us again in the near future.
Best regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We stayed at Hyoe Koyokaku in May 2017. Our rooms were spacious with a massage chair inside. It was really relaxing to sit on a massage chair after having a hot onsen bath.

Our dinner was served inside the room. It included a small hot pot and pan-fried beef. The quality was very good. Breakfast was served in buffet style. Though some western-style food items (e.g. small sausages) were available, most food items were Japanese in nature.

The staff of the hotel had all been very helpful and polite. The hotel was located a few minutes away from the souvenir street area and so it was very convenient if guests would like to do some souvenir shopping. In fact, there was a shop inside the hotel. Since the hotel provided a discount offer to guests, we bought quite a lot souvenirs from the hotel shop before going to the souvenir street.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuLuCNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
兵衛向陽閣, マネージャー at Hyoe Koyokaku, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear LuLuCNL,
Thank you for taking the time to share on TripAdvisor impressions following your recent stay at our ryokan, Hyoe Koyokaku.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed the massage chair from your guest room, the Japanese style dinner and we appreciate your kind words about our staff.
We hope you enjoyed the time spent at our ryokan and in Arima Onsen and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

The hotel is located within only a few minutes walking distance from the train station, but I understand that there is also free shuttle service if you call the hotel. It is a classy and large hotel. Service was efficient. We were led to our room by a staff who gave us a detailed explanation of the hotel facilities and the onsen arrangements. The room was spacious and the bedding clean and tidy. We had dinner in our room and the food was delicious. We enjoyed the onsen very much, which was very relaxing.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank chanalice18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
兵衛向陽閣, 支配人 at Hyoe Koyokaku, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear Chanalice18,
Thank you taking the time to write such a nice comment following your stay at our ryokan-Hyoe Koyokaku.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the onsen and that you find our service to be efficient.
I hope that you spent a wonderful time, made nice memories in Arima Onsen and that you will visit us again in the near future.
Best regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

I was with my mother, who really appreciated the hotel shuttle from the train station. It is not far, but it is up a fairly steep hill. Not having to haul our luggage up the hill was nice. And free shuttle back to the station too.

There are several baths here, and I visited the baths at night, and then woke up early so I could enjoy all of them. I would recommend staying two nights to try them all.

Since we were travelling with three kids, we opted for the in room dining. Very well presented, and a chance to try kobe beef! Beautiful. (see pictures)

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gellyrole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
兵衛向陽閣, マネージャー at Hyoe Koyokaku, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Dear Gellyrole,
Thank you for the nice comment and for the pictures you used to accompany it.
It is such a great pleasure to read that you find the dinner to be very well presented and that you tried the large public at night time as well as early in the morning.
I hope that you and your family had a wonderful time in Arima Onsen and that you will visit us again in the near future.
Best regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Location: Great location. Walking distance to the town and train station

Hot Springs: Public and Private ~ highly recommend the private one (Asagiri - 9 time slots JPY4,100 for 50 minutes with max. 5-6 people and Yugiri - 8 time slots JPY3,100 for 50 minutes with max. 3-4 people), very reasonable price but limited time slot, MUST reserve it in advance

Services: Only Japanese. Be prepare that most of the people cannot understand English at all, there might be 2 that can understand a tiny bit but seriously very limited English

Interior: The reception looks a bit old, the room is alright (I was staying at the newest building (north building)). I like the Japanese style rooms - didn't check out the western style rooms but I guess if you visit Japan, might as well try the Japanese style rooms

Food: I had my dinner in the room and it was great but a bit too much. I wouldn't say it was amazing but it was acceptable, can be better. The breakfast at Ajisai Restaurant (West Building 10/F) was so good, a lot of variety of food from very traditional Japanese to western. You can choose to sit in a private room or more open area.

Activities: Plenty of choices for the kids - game room, table tennis. There was massage, a couple of restaurants. The key must be HOT SPRING!

Stayed: January 2017
Thank DIVERSY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
兵衛向陽閣, 支配人 at Hyoe Koyokaku, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear DIVERSY1,
Thank you choosing our ryokan for your stay in Arima Onsen and for taking the time to share on TripAdvisor such a detailed review following your stay with us.
I am pleased to read that you find the location of our ryokan to be great, enjoyed the breakfast and find that we have areas that kids can enjoy: game room, table tennis.
On the other hand, please accept my apology for any inconvenience caused because of language barrier (Unfortunately not all staff members speak English. )
Regarding the private hot spring-bath, as you mentioned, if our guests would like to use it, then it should be booked in advance, as there are days when at the check-in time
all the time slots are booked for that day.
I hope that you had a lovely holiday, enjoyed your stay with us and that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Best regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews