We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Ranked #46 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice and clean”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Small rooms, but clean and quiet. We don't take breakfast in the hotel. there are some nice and good cafe shopps and restaurants in the area. For sightseeing we use the bus in front of the hotel. Take no. 36 to nijo castel and golden temple. Also 101 and other busses are available. Bus plan, city plan and other info material are for free in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chickenwayuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment.
We appreciate that you feel comfortable with your staying.
There are a lot of bus ways in Kyoto and
it is so easy to take and hang around in fornt of the hotel.
You can also buy one day free bus ticket which is ¥500 at the reception.
If you take it over three times a day, this would be great for you.
so one day you come bsck here please try it.

Thank you very much for staying again.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Yuzuru Kuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    599
    180
    47
    21
See reviews for
303
492
141
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Typical immaculate Japanese business hotel in a convenient location at a very good price. The room was small but spotless: You're not going to hang out and relax in the room, but that's not what you go to Kyoto for. Free wired internet. It's on the bus routes to most of the attractions and within a block of the rest. They could do with a 1-page handout explaining the nearest bus stops and food options. They have bus maps (which you need) if you didn't get one at the train station. Many restaurants within a few blocks: mostly noodle houses in the immediate vicinity, more upscale a bit farther, but walkable. The 7-11 a block West has a ATM that takes US cards. The web description of how to get there on the subway could be improved by explaining which exit to use and which way to turn, but I didn't figure it out (once there, you take buses around not the subway). The breakfast is the same price whether you book it ahead or not (but cash-only if not). 5% discount in the attached sushi-bar restaurant for guests.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arecibosci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are grateful that you are mostly satisfed with us.
We are center-located in Kyoto city which is really easy to hang out.
As you mentioned, there are a lot of bused to take and convinient transportaiton.
We are sorry for web description about getting to subway.
How was your trip in Kyoto.
We hope that you will come back one day.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely

Yuzuru Kuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City of Angels, CA
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This is my second stay at this hotel. The hotel is very Japanese. There were only few non-Asians staying. We had a nonsmoking room in the 14th floor with a huge queen? bed. That was fine. The bathroom was OK and there was that nice TOTO toilet with bidet etc. (I would like to get one of those for my house.) Shower water pressure was really good. For amenities in the bathroom there were 3 big bottles, for shampoo, conditioner and body soap. They provided disposable tooth brushes. They also provided sleep coat/ robe. That was kind of awkward, since it was too small for my husband and too heavy for me to wear for sleeping. I would not wear it outside my room either. I don't really know what it is meant to be used for.
One negative point is that there are no English speaking channels on TV. No CNN or BBC.
There apparently were some English language pay movies, but we didn't check this feature out.
Downstairs at the lobby there was a computer for customers to use for free internet. Also there was a coffee dispenser for free coffee, and also a vending machine to buy water and other drinks.
The agents at the counter were friendly, helpful and were able to speak English.
The best part was the location. We were able to walk to Gion and Pontocho straight on Shijo-Dori, the shopping street, as well as to Nishiki Market. Nijo Castle was not far away. Tens of buses ran just by our hotel, like #12 that was the SHRINE bus, as well as #32 another shrine bus. #50 went directly to Kyoto Station. The subway station was just two blocks away.
We bought JPY500 one day bus passes and zipped through the town very easily.
There is Fresco, a small food store, in the same block, several Family Markets, CityBank ATM and some restaurants close by.
I would stay there again if I ever travel to Kyoto again. :)

Room Tip: We had a non-smoking room in the 14th floor. I did not smell any smoke smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tramp08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your staying.
We are glad that you are satisfied with us.
We are central-located in Kyoto city so
It is good location to hang out many famous places.
And we sell one day bus ticket at the reception.
This is good for tourists using bus.

We are sorry for night wear which is too small for your husband and too heavy for you.
but next time if you have a chance to come back here,
we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Hotel is on Shijo Dori, three short blocks away from Subway station and convenient to buses. Many banks, restaurants, and convenience stores along Shijo Dori. Room was comfortable and the usual (small) size for Japan. Very good experience, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maduarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We appreciate your comment.
How was your trip?
As you recommend, there are a lot of restaurants along the Shijo Street.
and almost all restaurants have English menus so you do not feel difficult to order.
I hope that you enjoyed the trip based on our hotel.

We are looking forward to staying with us again.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Minnesota, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Great location! BUT… we had 2 rooms, and one of them was permeated with cigarette smoke (in a non-smoking room). When we arrived we immediately noticed the smell and complained. The staff used an air cleaning machine and assured us that after 2 hours the air would be cleaned. Unfortunately, the smoke was in the bedding, draperies, everywhere! Consequently, the room was not habitable for the pregnant woman in our traveling party as planned. In addition, the air conditioning and fan unit did not work in either room. This all made for very uncomfortable sleeping. Because of these reasons, we don’t think we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe4940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are very sorry that you felt uncomfortable with your room which has got the smelling of cigarette.
We tried to clean your room with air cleaning machine but it did not go, I am sorry for that.
Did we suggest to chage your room?
Normally if we have extra room for change, we change to the Non-smoking room.

Anyway We are really sorry for your staying.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#37 of 373 in Kyoto
525 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
#25 of 373 in Kyoto
322 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijokarasuma
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo

Property: Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Address: 52 Kasaboko-cho, Shijo-dori Aburanokoji Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8494, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price range (per night): $59 - $403
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our hotel's modern Japanese design as you explore the historic capital. We are located in the heart of Kyoto, with easy access to all major tourist destinations. Step outside and it's only a short walk to Nijo Castle or Yasaka Shrine. Step inside and take in an undeniably Japanese, yet modern, decor. Perhaps that's why we've received TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence annually since 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Rakuten, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing