We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto
Nearby Hotels
US$103
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$170
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$102
US$78
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$145
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$225
US$168
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$122
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Ryokufuso(Kyoto)
US$268
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$345
US$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kanra Kyoto(Kyoto)
US$386
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$345/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Arashiyama Benkei(Kyoto)
US$750
US$431
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
302
52
36
17
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
52
36
17
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea housesushi restaurantbeautiful hotelgarden viewonsen eggbeautiful poolthe general managerjapanese gardenluxury hotelexceptional hotelmain restaurantconcierge teambreakfast buffetdinner reservationshighly recommend this hotelspent nightsthe ritz
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2018

I'll start with the only negative. More often than not the front desk staff did not speak fluent English and would just stare at you with a smile. If this happens to you, ask to speak with someone who does speak English. Now, on to the everything else which was PERFECT. Beautiful new hotel. Amazing rooms - I think we got a junior suite. Immaculate common areas, gym is outstanding - fresh squeezed fruit juice, home made granola bars, everything you could ever ask for in the mens locker rooms, beautiful pool, Michelin star restaurant on site, I could just keep going and going. If it's in your budget, book it! The only odd thing is that every week day morning the main entrance is closed between 8 and 9 AM...so one day we had to postpone our private driver by one hour. Everything else was redefining of what the Four Seasons is all about. Great location too and weekly genuine geisha shows. Oh, and free outstanding breakfast if you book through Amex Platinum.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSKyoto, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Rob B,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor and for your recent stay with us. I am happy to learn that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us from our spacious junior suite, the gym, pool and to our Michelin stared Sushi Wakon restaurant. However, we are sorry that our explanation was not clear enough about the regulation hour at the main entrance and we should have explained to you more that you could depart from our hotel residence entrance in between these restricted hours and rest assured that we will inform our team about this. The reason for the restriction between 8-9am is to allow safe passage to Kyoto Women's University school where nearly 8,000 students go to school daily in over six schools. The students are aged between 4-22 and we are delighted that we can assist them in a safe environment.


We look forward to having the pleasure to welcome you back to Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Alex Porteous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

We stayed as a family of 4 here. This is probably the best hotel in Kyoto for a family and for quality dining too. It's hard to fault it. Service is outstanding, beds are some of best I have ever experienced. The room is big with good bathroom. Pool in B1 is outstanding and breakfast garden restaurant is excellent. Finally staff are excellent. The only pitfall is the price is expensive ~ yet we felt it was still worthwhile. We paid USD 1200 a night which was actually a discount deal here! Occupancy in Kyoto is over 95% everywhere so book well in advance

Room Tip: Just eat in, use the pool after a day sightseeing and eat in. Dine outside by Koi pond
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussietoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSKyoto, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear aussietoday,

Thank you so much for your pleasant feedback of your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto.

I am happy to learn that the service provided by our team met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Alex Porteous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

We had a great experience with a 3 years old and 6 month old baby. The hotel staff were very welcoming of children. Rooms are beautiful. Swimming pool is excellent. Food was great. On par with best of what Four season has to offer elsewhere

Room Tip: Garden view is very nice.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mr2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSKyoto, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear mr2222,

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us at Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto.

I am delighted to hear you had a comfortable stay with your children and enjoyed the pool and dining experience.

We look forward to welcoming you & your family back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Alex Porteous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Great place to stay. Staff and rooms are wonderful. Highly recommend this hotel for special occasions and romantic get away. Staff are exceptionally courteous and helpful. Great location. Beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
Thank debrak234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSKyoto, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear debrak234,

Thank you so much for your glowing comment and the recommendation about our hotel!

I am happy to know our service met your expectations!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto and to the ancient capital of Japan!

Yours sincerely,

Alex Porteous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

The place is just stunning. The rooms are beautiful and fully loaded with every perk a hotel should have in 2018. We got a Garden View room which is highly recommended as the hotel's Garden is even better than what you see in the pictures. Generally, the place is built with highest quality and detail with several traditional local finishes. The only thing I would change is probably a better access to the spa from the west wing of the hotel. The spa is located on the east wing which means if you are staying at the west wing, you will either have to walk through the main lobby, or alternatively by the restaurant on the -1. There is some lack of privacy but the hotel anyway is not very crowded so its not the end of the world. Other than that, the staff was great and very helpful! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone planing to visit Kyoto.

Room Tip: Room with garden view
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Manos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSKyoto, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Manos T,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback of your stay at Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto.

I am very happy to learn that you liked the room overlooking our historical Shakusui-en pond garden. We also appreciate your feedback about the Spa on the north wing and the privacy about the access from the south wing which we will share with our team. For your reference, you can walk the 4th floor corridor which are guest rooms only for maximum privacy to the Spa elevator.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Alex Porteous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews