We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rhino Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
karaksa hotel Kyoto I(Kyoto)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
42
94
30
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
94
30
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe hotel staffthe busgreat hotelroom was largeday passthe main shopping areanon smoking roomcorner roomshijo stationpublic transportjapanese foodthe ground floorkeyrandenstopsgymhankyu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Mixed feelings about this hotel, it is located very close to a subway station however not really close to any of the main attractions so there wasn't much to see on the street from here. It was clean, but very basic. On the first of our 5 night stay we were placed on a smoking floor, which was not the hotels fault and they obliged by changing us the next day however overall I found the staff not as friendly as other hotels and there was more of a language barrier. Breakfast had limited western options and there is no coin laundry within hotel or located near hotel, they do offer a laundry service but it is quite pricey when you have a few bags of laundry as we did. Overall this hotel was ok, however I think we would have been happier being more centrally located such as hotel granvia or somewhere in Gion where there is a lot of nice restaurants

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This is the second hotel on our Japan trip.
Basic hotel with decent size room (we had the largest room on the executive floor). But hotel does not provide any "extra" options. No room-service, no coffee or black tea or milk - we asked for some but was told to go down the street to buy at mini-mart. Cafe in hotel closes at 8pm and does not serve actual meals, so you will need to wander the streets to find a meal. Very very limited English spoken by staff.
Might be OK for a quick overnight stay, but not a great option for an extended stay.
Comparded to first hotel (and our 12 years of international travel), this hotel is VERY basic and costly for the service and facilities provided.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We were in a room on the 9th floor which meant we could see quite far across Kyoto. The bathroom felt like an insert room (had a step up) and the bath felt a bit compact, although still decent), there was also a separate lounge area. The only snag with the room was that it was tricky to get it warm (big glass windows pretty much all the way around) as the air conditioning/heating system didn't seem to do what we thought it would. It had two single beds rather then a double bed, although they provided yukata robes which was a nice japanese touch. Again complimentary highspeed internet access, the lobby is actually on the 2nd floor (the entrance is also the entrance to some shops and offices). The staff were friendly, helpful and the two days we were there you can buy transport passes from the hotel desk, which was very useful and great for the transport in the area. They also looked after our bags on the last day until we came to get them before heading to Osaka. It's a quieter street but close to one which seems quite busy, I think it depends on what you want to see and where you'd like to be based, it was a good hotel for the money and located relatively centrally for most things but if your planning on spending more time on the east side of Kyoto then maybe not the best location (even though Kyoto isn't that big).
Short walk from convenience stores if you want some late night snacks, close to a bakery called 'Breads +' (good for breakfast). Close to transport, on one of the bus routes and on the right side of the city for a few of the temples (including Kinkaku-ji, Ryoan-ji & Tenryu-ji.) Finding out how to get here from Kyoto station was a bit tricky though as we couldn't find someone who could speak english (we were out of hours for the information centre) and they use a different subway payment system (even though it looks very similar). On our arrival we took the subway and changed once, then walked from there, although the buses run right past the hotel, so once you've gotten your bearings its better to use the buses. They also run up to the temples and across the city to the eastern side of temples and Gion.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Minxonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

I stayed here whilst travelling round Japan with my son. A middle of the road reasonably priced city centre hotel but very close to all the buses and tubes for getting around Kyoto.
Very helpful staff (make sure you get a bus map) and a good breakfast. We were on the top floor and got a very light decent sized room.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

In cherry blosson season all the hotels near the station was already busy.
Rhino Hotel was a little far and a little more expensive than I like when I made reservations via internet.
But I was surprised with the size of the room, the beds were comfortable and the best quilts from all over Japan (wish I could bring one home).
The room was very clean, as the bathroom, the water pressure was good and bathroom accessories were nice.
We have green tea, yukatans (robes) and sleepers during the stay that make us feel like home.
The japonese style breakfast were splendid! Didn't find any better in your trip.
And the location became privileged. Many buses pass along the avenues over there (the bus is the best way to get around in Kyoto, use the 500 yen day pass sold at reception desk), the subway is just around the corner, there are many restaurants, bakeries, convenience stores and pharmacies around.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quindim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews