We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, very helpful staff, terrific buffet breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Ranked #12 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I had read that it was a bit difficult to find this place on Trip Advisor so I was prepared to go searchng for it when we arrived via the bullet train from Tokyo. The hotel is huge but all the folks that work here really make you feel at home. The staff upon checkin was great. Our room was not ready as it was too early in the day. But once the room was ready they brought our bags to our room and it was a lovely room. King size bed, very spacious, very quite. We had a great view of Kyoto Tower and the city behind it. We were pretty far from the elevator but I think that helped to keep it quiet. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we ever had. Everything from breakfast to lunch food and beyond. We paid the extra money to go use the pool area and it was worth it. Very clean and only a few folks using it when we were there. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Kyoto. We used the concierge to advise us of what to see when we had limited time and she was spot on, she recommended the tower and a shrine with a ton of these red gates. She also advised us how to get to get to the shrine using the subway system and it was a breeze.

Room Tip: Ask for a king sized bed, I think this gives you a much larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,358 - 1,362 of 3,170 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

I came to Grandvia, Kyoto immediately after Hilton, Osaka and the two are very similar. Both have nice comfy rooms (Hilton has a more comfy comforter) and enough room to move around (even though I was in Japan). The programs on TV were adequate although more English channels would have been appreciated. Most importantly, the location of both were impeccable. Grandvia is located right in Kyoto Train Station. There are supermarkets, a shopping center, food courts, a bus terminal, subway lines right in the same building. From this location, you can get to anywhere in Kyoto fairly easily.

Grandvia did do better in a few areas. First, Grandvia has free internet (thus this review). This is a big plus. Second, Grandvia provides free newspaper delivered to your door. Grandvia also provides slightly more amenities (make-up remover, brush, etc). So if I had to choose, I would choose Grandvia over Hilton.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulchanws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This hotel is unbelievably big. Located in a very convenient place, this hotel has to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in so far.

The staff was very friendly and polite. The rooms were big and clean. The hotel has a couple of nice restaurants and a massive cafe within the hotel but if you fancy eating out you will find hundreds of nice restaurants within the walking distance. The hotel restaurants could be a bit expensive too so eating out would definitely save some money.

This hotel is a very popular spot for both local and foreign tourists so the cafe and reception are always busy and the lobby area is always full of people.

Both my husband and I loved the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is a huge hotel that forms part of a very busy railway station, its well located and close to everything. Rooms are modern and of good size. We arrived on a long weekend and the Gion festival was taking place on the Tuesday and was it busy inside and out the hotel! if you don't like crowds then pick another hotel. Breakfast was of high standard but choice was better in Tokyo and be careful it can get busy, the waiting in inline for breakfast can delay your quick morning departure for sightseeing. We also tried the coffee shop on the ground floor which was a mistake, its expensive and when we arrived at 8.00pm they had run out of just about everything! We got a menu but eventually we figured asking for what was actually available was quicker, service was rushed and you got the feeling we were in New York and not Japan.

I must point out though the to service at the concierge desk, they went the extra mile for us, got tickets, booked events they were really great.

Would i stay here again yes, just not on long weekends and over the festival.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwant999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Located above the futuristic Kyoto train station this modern hotel has friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Its location provides easy access to the subways, JR trains and buses to take you to the shrines, gardens, historical sites and restaurant/retail areas that are scattered around this old imperial capital city, There is excellent strong free WiFi in the rooms. Breakfast was very good with fruit, carrot juice and quality coffee and other western fare alongside the Japanese dishes. The pool is indoor, highly controlled (swim caps only), warm, and you have to pay 1050 yen for the pleasure of a swim, and forget it if you have a tattoo, you wont be allowed in (apparently this keeps the Yakuza away -sure!). If you want a room with a view ask for one on the Kyoto Tower side and you will see across the City to the mountain ring that surrounds three sides of Kyoto. We strongly recommend that you take a city cycle tour with Tomo, and the concierge can arrange this for you. Tomo is a lady cycle tour guide and will take you to the backstreets and less visited areas and we got some amazing photos of Geisha in the streets. My only serious criticism is that this is a busy hotel without an open peaceful space for guests, the lobby is a bit frenetic, particularly at check out time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have views across the city to the mountains, rooms on the south look over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingerCheetah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#31 of 407 in Kyoto
944 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#16 of 407 in Kyoto
943 reviews
City Centre
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 407 in Kyoto
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
City Centre
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 407 in Kyoto
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $187 - $638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing